August Rush

04Jun08

I don’t know how many of you have seen this movie. It is a feel good movie. From critics standards, it is not a great film. There are lots of holes in the plot and far fetched possibilities, but, in my opinion, none of that matters.

All my life, I have felt something special in regards to music. I have always known there is more to it than chords and scales. Even more than instruments. There is something inherently spiritual about music. People experience music from all different perspectives. They use music or appreciate music for all different reasons. Some can create it. Others listen intently. All of us can appreciate it deeply.

When I watched this film, it put into words many of the things I have always felt.

I believe very strongly that music is a gift from God. I believe that God has blessed us with something that can’t be explained, but only lived out or experienced. This film showed brilliantly how music is a part of everything around us. And most importantly it is always speaking to us.

Music is not worship, but I believe that music is a direct pathway to worship. I think God’s creation is wrapped up in an amazing symphony. It all works in chord and rhyme. It has all beat and timing. 

It’s hard to express all this in words, I can only try and paint pictures.

The character Wizard in the film said this,

“You know what music is? God’s little reminder that there’s something else besides us in this universe; harmonic connection between all living beings, every where, even the stars.”

Young August and Wizard were talking at one point and this conversation took place,

August Rush: “It’s like someone’s calling out to me, only some of us can hear it.” 
Wizard: “Only some of us are listening.”

This interaction happens in the movie as well,

Juliard Teacher: “How do you do it, how does the music come to you?”
August: “It’s like someone’s calling out to me, writing it all down is like I’m calling back to them”
Juliard Teacher: “Who?”
August: “The ones who gave me the music” 

This is the only place where this movie leaves my train of thought. In the movie, August creates his music,  because he believes his parents will hear it and find him. This makes for beautiful cinema, but does not line up with God’s intent.

But August does make this statement,

Wizard: “What do you want to be in the world? I mean the whole world. What do you want to be? Close your eyes and think about that.” 
August Rush: “Found.”

We all are looking for something and I believe that we are all void and in need of being found. I believe, God is calling out to us. I believe that music was created by God to draw us to Him. Some choose to worship themselves through it. Some choose to worship the music itself. Some use the music to seek something else.

But He is there, He is calling, we just need to listen.

 

 

26 Responses to “August Rush”

  1. 1 Darla

    I agree with music being somthing that touches us spiritually, it has the power to affect us both positively and negatively. I have been on both ends of that. In Zephaniah, it says God sings over me, the other that comes to my mind is that God said David was a man after HIS own heart, and although there are many sides to that, David was a song writer. God honored him after his undignified dance! Got to love that!

    As created beings in the image of God, there is something to the hardwire that we have to respond to music. I believe HE is always speaking, sometimes I am just not listening.

  2. 2 Kelly

    Brent, I haven’t seen that movie yet, but your thoughts about music and those statements could have easily been word for word what I would have written about it. If I could ever put my thoughts and passion for music into words, if that’s possible without writing a song and singing and having a symphony orchestra or a band accompany it (LOL!), your words would be the words!

  3. 3 TheNorEaster

    I would change “The ones who gave me the music”

    to

    “The One Who gave me the music.”

    I have always believed that each of us has a calling to use the gifts we are given. For some, it is music. For others, it is painting. For me, it is writing. That’s my “music.”

  4. 4 brandy

    Oh my gosh,I love that you posted on this. We watched this movie a couple months ago and I was totally smiling and giddy through the whole thing. Not in a wierd way (HA!) but I could just totally identify with how he felt about music. I was near tears at some points of the movie. Jake thought I was nuts. HA!!

    I loved this part:
    August Rush: “It’s like someone’s calling out to me, only some of us can hear it.”
    Wizard: “Only some of us are listening.”
    I had goosebumps reading it again!

    I remember asking Jake while we were watching it if music made him feel that way, the way it made August feel in the movie. Again, he looked at me like I was nuts. 😆 I think I just always thought everyone had a connection to music like that. I mean, how can you not?? It’s a total bummer to me that I am not musically talented and I can’t sing to save my life, because I am totally in love with music and how God speaks to me through it. I believe he really does.

    GREAT POST! 😀

  5. 5 Sammi

    I love the way you expressed the way music is a pathway to worship. That is so true and i believe that so many people end up worshiping the music instead of the Creator of music. I loved this movie and yep, there were some times that I was crying during it! Good post – thanks for reminding us where to focus our worship and desires!

  6. 6 alece

    i haven’t seen the movie yet, but i’ve been wanting to.

    i hear God in music a lot. i’ve been hearing him in a counting crows song all day today.

  7. great post B~

    “I believe, God is calling out to us. I believe that music was created by God to draw us to Him. Some choose to worship themselves through it. Some choose to worship the music itself. Some use the music to seek something else.”

    Thanks for sharing.

  8. 8 tawny

    Anything that stirs up longing in me brings me to worship Him more, whether it be music, a story, a movie, a flower. I think He loves those things too and that is why He shares them with us. Part of being “created in His image”. Does that make sense? I just think about how much the angels sing. A big part of their job description. He must like music a lot!

  9. I loved the movie, too, if for no other reason than the ones you stated. Music has always been something I felt rather than just heard and one of the primary ways I connect to God. I loved how August just lost himself in the music and the way he experienced it. I am that way much of the time – allowing the music to just get inside me and let it caress my soul. Sounds kinda weird when I say it out loud like that but music is very experiential for me.

  10. I think it’s cool that we all sense the same thing with music as well as with the movie.

    There is truly something special about music. It’s as if everything beyond music is musical in nature.

    I love it!

  11. I agree with the great comments here; God uses music to speak to me, to calm me, to fire me up, to teach me.

    As a video producer, I choose music before I start to edit… I need to the music to convey the spirit of the piece as much as any of the visuals and sound do. In my line of work, music is the glue that holds it all together.

    For me, that’s what hell would be… no music.

  12. 12 A.

    I so enjoyed reading this. I haven’t seen this movie (or honestly even heard of it!) but because God used music primarily in softening my heart to bring me to Him — all the years of musical training to discovering what life is TRULY about (HIM!), & now continually taking that journey day by day, & wanting to become more deeply & richly in relationship to Him. & music just makes it all the more “real” for me.

  13. “For me, that’s what hell would be… no music.”

    Steve, I love that! I feel the same way.

    Hey Be Thous My Vision, I completely understand how music could have played a part in bringing you to him. Definitely see this movie!

  14. 14 TheNorEaster

    “For me, that’s what hell would be… no music.”

    You’d be surprised, gentlemen.

  15. Noreaster, no kidding.

    Of course the way I feel about music, I can imagine.

  16. Just wanted to introduce myself as one for your fellow fraternity blog-brother. I haven seen August Rush as of yet.. but i keep wanting to get it on DVD. It looked like a great film.

  17. This is so true. I know God is calling, speaking, whispering into my life. I just need to slow down and listen. No doubt, God often uses music as the transportation for his message into my life.

  18. 18 Deborah

    Jer and I loved this movie! I believe the music around the throne will be way beyond anything we’ve experienced here…. can’t wait! 🙂

  19. My husband and I loved the movie Brent 🙂 I was bawling towards the end although I wanted to see a little more in terms of their interaction but the impact was definitely strong.

    For me, praise and worship music is a huge medium to fellowshipping with God. When I’m down and out, that is what I listen to. While I’m praying, that is what I listen to. While I’m worshipping God, I praise dance to music. When the enemy is attacking me and I need to block entry ways, I have praise music on all around me. I praise God for music!

  20. 20 TheNorEaster

    Just to clarify…

    …I loved listening to music when I was a teenager. I couldn’t get enough of it. And then I got a little older and started loving music all the more. All kinds. Jazz, blues, soul (o sweet soul), classical, (some) country, bluegrass, folk, NO DISCO WHATSOEVER, and of course I loved that old time rock ‘n’ roll.

    Then…it just happened. My hearing started to fade. Slowly. Casually. Not because of the music, though. Because of Exodus 4:11. 😉

    Today, I really don’t think much of it. And I really don’t listen to music that much at all anymore. Sometimes. Maybe one song a few times a week. Heck, when I listen to my podcasts of my posts, I have to have the volume all the way up on my computer AND on my hearing aids just to hear myself read my own Essays!

    Some people say my disability is another storm, but, to me, it has become a sunrise. Don’t get me wrong; I once thought that life without music would be hell, too. But sooner or later, you just come to terms with it. You have to. Or you’ll spend the rest of your life defining yourself by the one thing God does NOT want you to be.

    And what a monumental waste of time that would be!

    And I need to go to bed now. :zzz:

  21. Thanks Adam O, I’ll be getting everybody up on the blogroll soon!

    Pete, I wish everybody would just take a second to honestly listen.

    Les, right on! I love when people passionately praise.

    Deb, I agree!

    Noreaster,

    “Or you’ll spend the rest of your life defining yourself by the one thing God does NOT want you to be.”

    This is something that people spend there whole lives ignoring. You have done well to place your attention to where God would have it. So many people could enjoy God’s true peace and joy if they understood this.

  22. Hi-
    I hopped over here from Tam’s blog. Looking for a place with no ‘pink socks’:)

    I am a big fan of music, too. It is absolutely my most favorite way to Worship God…and I LOVED the movie August Rush for exactly the reason’s you quoted above. I was able to ignore the ‘real’ story line of the movie and turn those quotes towards God. It is amazing.

    I was invited to be a Worship Leader for our Youth Worship Team and I am so very excited! Right up my alley! Serving God through music and working with the teens. HELLO! Does life get any better??? OK. I mean on earth! 😉

  23. Heather, welcome! Make yourself at home.

    That’s very cool that you get a chance to lead worship with the youth. that was my first position on a church staff, Youth worship leader. Have fun!

  24. I can’t even begin to imagine life without music.

    Never saw the movie but I will have to go rent it because it sounds like a good one.

    I actually was blessed to be able to call myself a “full time” musician for a couple of years ( Darla had a great real job 😆 ) but it wasn’t until I came back to God that music actually began to have real meaning and really became a joy to play. To be able to help bring others into a place of worship or as an outreach tool I’m finally using this talent for the right reasons.

  25. Scott, I think you nailed something for me. I think we live in God’s creation. It’s in us and around us. But not till we come to God does it truly have the depth and meaning He intended.



