Update…Fish Camp 08′

03Jun08

Thought I’d give you all an update on our camping/fishing trip this last weekend.

Dakota and I had a great time. We spent more time on the water than on land. It was refreshing and a blast.

Last night we had a feast. My brother and his family as well as my folks came over and we enjoyed some fresh Rainbow Trout.

How was your weekend?

35 Responses to “Update…Fish Camp 08′”

  1. Nice fish. Hope to get out for salmon when we get there.

  2. We have to get Deb to set you up. I have never been on the river for Salmon, we’ll have to do this together!

  3. 3 TheNorEaster

    “How was your weekend?”

    Weekend? What’s that? šŸ˜†

    But seriously, I had a great time at church on Sunday morning. That happens a lot. šŸ˜‰

    Glad youse guys had a lot of fun.

  4. I can always count on a “youse” šŸ™‚

    I love it!

  5. B~ What a great memory! I grew up fishing with my dad and brothers, and now my girls out fish the boys at fish camp! (SHHHH…they were the only girls at a fish camp a couple of years ago with daddy)…rumor has it that not only were they outfishing the boys, but teaching them how to clean the fish too!

  6. Storie I love it!

    maybe next time they can come over and clean mine šŸ™‚

  7. Very funny! Only if they think they are showing you up!

  8. When it comes to fish cleaning anyone is welcome to show me up šŸ™‚

  9. Sean went to a great hole last August with Pastor Jim. Mike (jim’s brother) brought in a 50 pounder! When Jim and Sean went, Jim caught a 25 pounder! I guess it took the 2 of them to get it in…one was hopping and skipping down the bolders ahead of the other. How much fun! Sean took me a couple of times late in August… I sat on the bank in my boot cast and tied the thinga-ma-jiggys that they use to catch them!

  10. 10 alece

    nice catch.

  11. ohh…somehow I bet if we were having a contest, you might feel different.

  12. Thanks Alece! You’ve been too nice to me lately…what do you want šŸ™‚

    Storie, 50lbs! Nice!

    and I’ll say it again…they can clean the fish for me…they win šŸ™‚

  13. 13 alece

    well, since you saw through my subtle subtlety… here’s my request:

    i want to hang out with tam.

  14. OUCH! I love it šŸ™‚

  15. Great looking trout. You guys have got to head down here to Nashville so I can take you fly fishing on the Caney Fork River!

  16. Pete, I did some fly fishing for the first time a couple of Summers ago. Let’s just say that I ended up fishing mostly in the trees and bushes around the river šŸ™‚

  17. Brent! The goat is gone!! šŸ˜Æ

    (((*whispering* is that grey I see???)))

    ♥ šŸ˜‰

  18. Yup, and where have you been, there’s been gray in that thing fr a couple years now. It was worse with the goat.

  19. fly fishing for trees and bushes?
    Why am I not surprised? HA!

  20. Fly fishing is an art! One time in the middle of nowhere hardly made me an expert. I got lots to learn šŸ™‚

  21. Nice catch Brent and Kota. Fresh caught fish will make any feast taste better. It is also great to see a father and son enjoy a weekend together.

    I did go freshwater fishing a few times in Maine with my grandfather at a lake near his house. I did catch some bass but none over two lbs. My grandfather did go fly fishing with his own handmade flys but that is way beyond my level of patience.

  22. Ed, bass fishing is my favorite. I love the challenge. We had a tough time catching bass this weekend. The water was still too cold. We caught a few Sunday AM before we came home, but none worth keeping.

  23. I truly didn’t notice it much with the goat. HA!! or, I mean… baaaa.

  24. That is awesome. We don’t have many Fish Camps here in Chicago! I am a little jealous.

  25. Glad you and Kota got to spend some quality father/son time together (hopefully this trip erased some of the horrible memories of last year’s Sex Trip!).

    My dad used to take me fishing all the time but I never developed the patience for it. Eventually, he just stopped asking me to go. Apparently, passing the time by throwing rocks into the lake is not conducive to successful fishing. Whatever. šŸ™‚

  26. Nice fish! Real fisherman don’t hold their catch with rubber gloves!! :o) Sounds like you had a great time!

  27. I love rainbow trout. I am so jealous.

    Speaking of the missing goat, you’ve come a long way from the hair of your youth. One of our pastor’s showed a senior high picture of himself sportin’ the mullet and joked: “Yeah, that me… all business up front – party in the back!” I laugh and thought of you.

  28. Nice Brandy…

    Skylar, your welcome to come out anytime and enjoy our fish!

    givemejesus, Kota got a little bored on Saturday, his take was a little slow and once we anchored, he got a bit bored. But her still enjoyed the trip.

    Papa, tell that to Tam, she has to sleep next to those hands. There were no gloves at camp…but they are definitely on once a get home šŸ™‚

    Riuc, the mullet is truly dead for me…not that I don’t think of it sometimes šŸ™‚

  29. Nice catch! I’m with you on the cleaning though. You should head out to Brookings and get in on one of those charters (It was $50 about 7 years ago, it’s probably more now). You go out at 5 am, they bait the hook for ya (PTL!) and they also take the fish to be gutted, cleaned and filetted while you roam around Brookings. Very nice and you don’t come in until you catch your quota.:)

  30. Cheryl, good to hear from you!

    I have been on a morning fishing trip out of Bandon. we had a blast. I didn’t keep any of the fish on that trip though, cause it was mostly for recreation. I thought it was cool though, cause they took fish that people didn’t want to keep and prepped it and gave it to some local shelters. All I know, is that I had a blast.

  31. Killer,

    I can’t wait until Josh is old enough to take on fish trips.

  32. Brian, he will love it!

  33. no gotee!!!
    šŸ™‚

  34. Just for you Mandy šŸ™‚


  1. 1 FredMcKinnon.Com » Blog Archive » Redneck Worship Leader - Gone Fishin’

