What Is A Gravatar?

28May08

So, many of you have those little pictures that pop up next to your comments on blogs. They are called Avatars. Each blog has it’s own little way of dealing with them. Some have them big, some small, but most are using them in some way.

Here’s the issue though. Let’s say you are a WordPress blogger and you want to comment on a blog that is not hosted on WordPress. Unfortunately, your avatar will not show up. So here’s the solution.

Gravatar.com

Gravatar.com has set up a service for you that universally links your email address to your avatar. Everytime you comment on a blog that accepts Gravatar (which is most of the bigger blogging services) your avatar appears there. Pretty slick.

So for all of you that hate not seeing your avatar all over the web, head over to Gravatar.com and click the sign up link. It will ask for your email address and then allow you to upload your favorite avatar. You can change it at anytime. The beauty is wherever you go, it will follow.

21 Responses to “What Is A Gravatar?”

  1. WooHoo! So timely. I was just bemoaning (to myself of course) the fact that I’m “not there” on other sites. That’s a nice evening project.

  2. 2 seven

    Great post. I forgot that I had a Gravatar account but never put a picture on it. It’s there now. 🙂

  3. Yes, definitely take advantage!

  4. 4 rjgalphin

    yay! that has always bugged me! thank you. let’s see if it works…

    …meet my new gravitar over there >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  5. except i’m not rjgalphin… hmmmm.
    ok, here we go. this is me. (i hope)

  6. Carolyn, Haha!!

    I love it. Glad to see it’s all working!

  7. coolness! thanks B

  8. I see all your readers who commented above have taken your advice. I love using the gravatar system, works great. There is also a cool gravatar plugin for wordpress that allows those who have one or the other to show up.

  9. No problem Jon.

    Scott, I have been very happy to see my face all over the place now 🙂

  10. 10 kim

    brilliant tip. thank you!

  11. Well this is lame….it says my email address is already in use?????? I have NEVER been there or signed up before. Weird. Bummer. 😦

  12. 😳

    Nevermind. I got it. 😉

  13. You got it Kim.

    Brandy, Your awesome 🙂

  14. Okay now B, it doesn’t work on mine. On mine when I’m logged out (like now) I’m still a monster. 😕 I must not be that awesome. 😆 haha!

  15. I just went over there and it is working. It may have needed a little more time 🙂

  16. 16 alece

    thanks for the oh-so-helpful tidbit.

    you’re one handy guy.

  17. No problem Alece 🙂

  18. 18 nate

    Thanks…I am sick of being a snowflake on wordpress blogs.

  19. 19 mandyconforth

    Let’s see if mine works. Drum roll please…………………………………………….

  20. 20 mandyconforth

    It works on your site, but not on Tam’s (as well as a few other wordpress sites I frequent). Did I do something wrong?

  21. Mandy, looks good!

    Also, on any sites that you frequent, make sure you refresh the page. I just went over to tam’s site and saw yours there too, so it is working.



