Don’t Waste Your Time

24May08

We’re Christ’s representatives. God uses us to persuade men and women to drop their differences and enter into God’s work of making things right between them. We’re speaking for Christ himself now: Become friends with God; he’s already a friend with you. How? you say. In Christ. God put the wrong on him who never did anything wrong, so we could be put right with God. Staying at Our Post Companions as we are in this work with you, we beg you, please don’t squander one bit of this marvelous life God has given us
2 Corinthians 5:20-6:1 -Message

I’ve been talking a little bit about this sermon series we are going through at church right now called “30 Days To Live”. Tonight we talked about living passionately. If we had 30 days to live, wouldn’t we live differently? I think we would. We would savor every moment. We would pay closer attention. We wouldn’t hold back.

This verse in Corinthians came up tonight. What a call to action. To lay all differences aside and not squander another minute. Quit wasting time! Stop fighting useless fights. Especially those with other believers. Stop living pointless lives. Don’t ever put something off till tomorrow.

I challenge you this week to ask yourself that question. If you had 30 days to live, what would your life be like? Are you wasting the time that you’ve been blessed with?

14 Responses to “Don’t Waste Your Time”

  1. Good stuff. Love that translation. Thanks for the challenge.

  2. Greg, welcome. It’s nice to meet new visitors.

    Glad it was a challenge to you, it is to me as well.

  3. Speaking of Corinthians quotes… I have one on my Blog creed.

    and some might see it as a ‘waste’ of time… but i was wondering for some manly comments on my ‘Love is…’ post.

    Buddy can you spare a ‘time’? 😉

    <B

  4. 4 rlh27

    I’m not sure what I would really do with my last 30 days, or 30 months. I know this for sure, showing gratitude and giving thanks is never a waste. I think that is where I would start.

  5. 5 brandy

    *sigh*

    That’s a good sigh though. 😉

  6. 6 TheNorEaster

    Brent:

    If I knew for sure that I had thirty days to live, I would spend a great of time telling the people in my life how much they mean to me. And to tell them not to mourn my passing for the rest of their days, but to live a life worthy of my memory. Because many of them shall see me again. Upstairs.

    And I would also tell…SOMEONE…SOMETHING…(just don’t tell Tam I said that…”I’m just saying…” 😉 )

    Then again, thirty days isn’t very long. And she–that SOMEONE–might be better off if I just kept my mouth shut.

    Aaahh…What weight these anchors!

  7. 7 Sammi

    what a great thought. i know i’ll be thinking about this all week. I know if i really only had 30 day i would do so many things differently yet i wonder why i don’t live like that every day when God commands it so many times in his Word. good stuff!

  8. 8 Darla

    mmmmm interesting thoughts here. John Piper has a book that we generally give to graduates, but it is a good read for everyone…”Don’t waste your Life”…. its basically along the same line…I am not sure what changes would happen in me if I only had 30 days to life that I knew of. I do try to remind myself that Jesus is always with me, so am I doing something that would be pleasing to him or does he have to step aside and wait for my return. AHHHHHHHHH if we could just live the lives HE has planned for us, and stop being defiant, and trying everything our own way.

    Very good thoughts here! I guess I am going to go listen to TRF later..I do that often! 😉

  9. My heart is so full after the message this morning. We all do pretty good for awhile, for instance when we hear a good message like this weekend, and then over time the passion fades a bit. (Guess I should speak for myself). I posted about it today as well. http://hislifeformine.wordpress.com/2008/05/25/what-if/

  10. Randy, your right, never a waste.

    Brandy, I don’t mind the good sigh’s

    NorEaster, dude you gotta fess up on this, she…who???

    Sammi, thanks for stopping by! We get comfortable in life, we don’t think about dying. I think it leads us to believing we have a lot of time. Maybe we do, but we generally waste it away if their is nothing pressing.

    Darla, start with last weeks sermon if you listen. It will set you up for this weeks.

    Theresa, I think we all hear your frustration with allowing the passion fade. Trust me I’ve been there and I am sure I will get there again. We have to continually evaluate and prioritize. It’s good though.

  11. Yes Nor, I am dying to know as well…..and really…just tell her. Ooooh this is exciting! 😆

  12. If you had 30 days to live, what would your life be like?… Its hard to say exactly what I would do differently. Maybe I’d write down every thought I’ve had. I see, hear, and experience things that spark ideas and then I mull over them internally … usually for years.

  13. Ric, it definitely makes us look at things from a new perspective.


  1. 1 30 day or 30 months??? | Visual Coma

