Talent Show 08′

22May08

This morning, we headed out as a family to my sons elementary school for the annual talent show.

Things you can expect…
-The school comedian making everyone laugh.
-The sweet little girl that can’t be heard, cause you can’t turn the music low enough to hear he.
-The broadway star, who’s mom does the entire routine with her to the side of th stage.
-The young kid that took up piano last week.

Now in the midst of all of this, there are lots of smiles and sweet moments.

Then there is my son. Yes, I am proud of him. He has worked hard at what he does. He practices everyday. He has a natural talent that he understands and wants to make better. He is good and he stood out. He was chosen to close the show today.

It is my pleasure to give you my 11 year old son, Dakota, playing drums to Reliant K’s “More Than Useless”.

42 Responses to “Talent Show 08′”

  1. Dude, he’s so going to have the girls hanging off him now (probably already does).

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooo…….. Good!

  2. 2 Mandy

    He should be playing in the church band!

  3. 3 Cheryl

    SWEET!!! He made that look easy, which I know it isn’t! The drumsticks were a blurr! Well done!

  4. 4 tam

    he SO takes after me.

  5. Wow. WOW. WOOOOOOW. I SO wish I had stuck with the drums as a kid. Although, I DO play air drums like NOBODY’s business!!! If the worship band at my church ever needs an air-drummer I am SO in!

  6. So…I just realized that you are married to TAM! Ha! I have been following both of your blogs for a while and never caught that. You have a pretty awesome wife and a very talented son!

  7. Tis so sweet huh dad?! Big day – Big Day!

  8. FANTASTIC!!!! He is incredible. I would be gushing as a dad! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Hey guys, thanks for the great comments!

    I am very proud of him. He is working hard and shows no signs of slowing down.

    By the way, he also plays drums for our kids ministry team at church for worship. He loves it!

  10. 11 seven

    Wow, he’s awesome!

  11. Nice work Dakota. Keep it up. You’ll replace all of us one day.

  12. Awesome! Is he playing with the youth band???

  13. My face hurts from grinning ear to ear through that whole entire performance!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    All I kept thinking was “when he is a famous drummer I can say HE WAS MY RING BEARER AND I CHANGED HIS DIAPERS!!!!” heehee

    Seriously, blew me away. I loved it. πŸ˜€

  14. Thanks again!

    Jenni, he plays with the lids worship team.

    Brandy, I am sure his girly fans will love that πŸ™‚

  15. 16 kotaincahoots

    thank you and dad does lids stand for little innocent devious savages

  16. I love it! He’s awesome.

  17. Sure thing Kota…glad you caught my typo πŸ™‚

    Thanks Pete!

  18. 19 kim

    The boy’s got game. That’s awesome. So so good.

  19. WOW!

    You don’t get to be that good without a LOT of practice (and a fair amount of natural talent) – I bet that performance just about made up for all the practice You had to ‘endure’, Huh B?

    We’re you feeling as proud of him as i think you were? (as i would have been?)

    I have tears in my eyes.

    <B

  20. Tam – oh Sure NOW he’s YOUR boy! πŸ˜‰

    (I can remeber as far back as yesterday, Young Lady! πŸ™‚ )

    <B

  21. 22 tam

    πŸ˜€

  22. kota is kool

  23. DUDE!!!! That was a-freekin-mazing! You should be more than proud of him! Again I say.. wow!

  24. 25 rlh27

    you should buy his .com now cause he’s going to be big with someone someday

  25. I am not sure how I am going to bring him down from all these great comments πŸ™‚

    The boy loves to play!

  26. Randy, he and his sister have a blog, but last night he asked me if he could have his own. We may just buy that .com

  27. Awesome talent! How proud you must be.

  28. Mark, definitely proud!

  29. Wow, What an amazing kiddo. I heard him a Kass a while ago when I went to check on my girl and couldn’t believe the talent! You all should be very proud! Have a good weekend.

  30. Had to come here and watch it again. Didn’t miss a beat.

    And too 😎 when he walked off stage.

  31. Elaine, I love hearing them play at church!

    Scott, he is totally shy, which cracks me up πŸ™‚

  32. Um, don’t count on that sticking around for too long πŸ˜†

  33. No kidding!

  34. 35 TheNorEaster

    Tam & Brent:

    That is one SERIOUSLY TALENTED KID you got there!!!

  35. Thanks Noreaster! He’s a great kid!

  36. 37 alece

    i loved all the rolls toward the end.

    and i was hoping to see him bow before he walked off stage.

    give him a high-five for me. he’s got a talent!

  37. High five given πŸ™‚

  38. 39 alece

    thank you, sir.

  39. 40 kotaincahoots

    thank you to you all

  40. on behalf of ‘all’ – Thank You for showing us what is possible with hard work, love for what you do, dedication and Talent – and maybe just a little help from Him? (and Mom and Dad, of course) πŸ˜‰

    And you are still only eleven?? Ahh, to be young again! πŸ™‚

    Still, Life ain’t over till you give up, i guess. πŸ˜‰

    <B

  41. 42 kotaincahoots

    thanks love



