The Wonderful World Of Garage Sales

16May08

So its that time of year again. The air gets warmer, the clouds get fewer, the BBQ’s are smoking and garage sales are on every corner. I think the garage sale is a way of saying, “I need to get rid of my crap…but for you I am sure it will be a treasure”.

We go all winter letting the garage stack up with items and projects we aren’t willing to deal with till the weather is good. Then when the weather is good, we go out to clean and organize it all. But halfway through this process, we realize that we could just stick it on the driveway, throw a sign at the street corner and watch it all disappear.

Now I have to admit, we have held our occasional garage sale, but even more, we have visited quite a few.

“Hi my name is Brent and I love garage sales!”…”Hi Brent…”

Friday’s are my days off and Tam and I head out every one in a while and make the garages sale circuit. I like finding that hidden treasure. I like running through a garage and seeing something very expensive available for little to no money. Most of all, it’s another opportunity for Tam and I just to hang together…Love it!

So today we headed out this AM and ran across town to see what we could find. I gave myself a $10 budget and I am happy to say I didn’t even spend it all. Here’s what I go today.

Sprayer…50 cents…

Fishing Pole…$1

And the grand prize today! Weight Bench, bar and 230 lbs of weights…$5

The things we find are sometimes interesting, most the time weird and always surprising. Here’s a couple of items that we have seen, but not purchased

This is probably the most expensive item I have ever seen for a garage sale…$2500

Sometimes, there’s a theme…

And the worst, is when you show up to this…

Or this…

Recently, I’ve found a trend…

And, No I did not purchase any items in the last 2 pics πŸ™‚

24 Responses to “The Wonderful World Of Garage Sales”

  1. I’m glad you graduated from poise… πŸ™‚ Jer and I love to yard sale…He usually finds treasure that he uses “someday”…I usually get the 5 cent items that last a week.

    Wow, those female urinals work great on trips….so I’ve heard….I’m just sayin’… πŸ™„

  2. 2 James

    Dude, way to go on the weight bench. That’s an absolute steal! And an excellent asset to have for NMFAPIMWLC purposes, no doubt…

    Speaking of which, I can’t wait until Monday. I’m deliberately not ‘weighing in’ during the week…Mondays and Mondays only. Can’t wait. I feel like it’s been a good week so far.

  3. Deb, I bet Jer loves him a good garage sale πŸ™‚

    And I am not responding to your other comment…

    James, it is a steal…I am excited to get to using it…I love to lift and haven’t had access, so this will be perfect! I’ve been weighing myself each day just for fun, I think this week is turning out great for me! I am anxious to hear from everyone else.

  4. 4 Elaine

    I think this needs to be a summer season every “Friday Finds” post. I LOVE IT, very entertaining! I’m happy for your finds.

  5. Elaine, I have definitely thought about making this on going. Be watching for it πŸ™‚

  6. 6 TheNorEaster

    My garage is filled with bins filled with dirt. What would that go for at a garage sale…?

  7. 7 brandy

    FEMALE URINAL?!?!?!?!?! 😯

    SWEEEEEEEET deal on that weight set!!! Perfect timing with your NMFAPIMWLP! πŸ˜€

    Those books though, I would LOVE to come acrossed that. I love books. I just like the look and smell of them. πŸ˜€

    And those cows, I am embarrassed to say 😳 I probably would have contemplated and then would have ended up putting them back. I know. I have issues.

  8. 8 brandy

    Okay I just read Jame’s comment…and I put a P for program at the end of that whole thingy and it’s C. So I a correcting myself. No one here will care but if Michelle pops on over she will smile b/c I corrected myself. So there.

  9. 9 brandy

    C for challenge. DANG IT!

  10. I’m really irritated.

    James’

    not

    Jame’s

    right???

    :angry:

  11. 😑

  12. Five bucks for all that? hasn’t the dude heard of E-Bay???

    If it was ok to be jealous i’d be being SO jealous of you right about now! (ok, so maybe just a little bit) πŸ˜‰

    Unless you WANT to look like Big Arnie – i’d go for lots of reps with smaller weights, over intense heavy workouts, to burn energy/lose weight and not bulk up TOO much on your upper half.

    As for the so-called opened ‘hygeine’ products – best i not go there either. πŸ™‚

    Nice pick-ups!

    <B

  13. i’ll be up in 5 hours setting crap out on the front of MY drive way. Oh how i hate rummage sales. I feel like the time and energy… not worth it. But.. i’m out voted here. i think i’m 49 percent of the voting power on this.

    Have a great sale

  14. Noreaster, not sure, but I bet someone would claim there’s gold in it and buy it from you. You should try.

    Brandy, the books are fine. Having to sort through 100’s of them, cause they didn’t stack them is not fine. and why am I not surprised that you liked the cow stuff…your killing me πŸ™‚

    Love, I can be honest with you…I don’t mind bulking up πŸ™‚ Actually I’ve lifted for years and without lots of proper eating, the best I can hope for is trim and lean…I’m good with that πŸ™‚

    Travis, thanks for stopping by! Hope your sale goes well for you!

  15. 15 Darla

    we only had one yard sale..and it was accumulated for 10 years…we made 450.00 it was a lot of work..but alas all our good stuff to sell is gone, so next we get a dumpster to throw the crap away! πŸ˜†

    the wieghts..mmmmm I am thinking some man was not a good and while gone his stuff was sold.. 😯 one persons loss another persons treasure for sure!

  16. I still think you should have gone for the $2500 job, that is hilarious for a garage sale. I just did a post about thrift stores, we often go thrift store hopping as well, but garage sales, sometimes you just never know what you will find.

  17. 17 rlh27

    Something about the Ducktape weights, who thought it was a good idea to put concrete in plastic. If thats even whats in there.

  18. What a grand prize! If you hadn’t told us you had a $10 limit, I would have hollered “typo” s/b $50 anyway. Have fun with those πŸ˜‰

  19. Darla, we’ve had a few and once we made around $500. Usually we made enough to get lunch at McDonlads. Of course we did get rid of stuff.

    Scott, that would have been interesting. And, I love thrift stores as well.

    Randy, welcome! The ducktape is hilarious. I think it is concrete or like solid sand or something. i think when they start cracking, they leak like sand. I’ve got some cool colored duck tape, I should make these look pretty.

    Theressa, I will!

  20. 20 alece

    female urinal?!?!? what the?!?!??!

  21. 21 alece

    (oh yeah – whatcha gonna do with the sprayer?)

  22. I so totally missed the duct tape! Maybe you shouldn’t oughta use those two without backup. πŸ˜€

  23. Alece…Hahaha! I am going to use the sprayer for ant killer and stuff like that.

    Theressa, I’ll just have to roll on extra duct tape πŸ™‚

  24. 24 alece

    well all right!



