30 Days To Live

08May08

Hope I didn’t freak you out with the title, but what if you only had 30 days to live? How would you feel? Would you be able to live fully? Would you fall into depression? Would you look back on your life and be pleased or frustrated? Would you feel like you have said or done the things you’ve needed to say or do?

I know, lots of questions. I don’t expect you to answer them, but I would love for you to ask them of yourselves. I think it is really important to look back on our lives and take stock in who we are and where we’ve come from. It’s too easy to get comfortable, or worse, settle and not live

The thing is, even if you were told today that you only had 30 days to live, you would still have a whole month to live the life you’ve always wanted to live. As a Christian, it would mean living a life Christ would be pleased with and doing it with passion for 30 days straight.

Next weekend at Table Rock, we will be digging into this discussion and talking about what we would do if we had 30 days to live. More importantly, what we should do with the rest of our lives. I am excited with this topic, because I think it is going to challenge us to active living. To passionate steps in our faith.

If you aren’t here in town with us, you are welcome to follow along with our podcast via iTunes, or via our website. Both will be available Mondays after the weekend services.

Also, many of you took time to look at a video I produced using the design work our creative director put together. it was our first opportunity to dig into After Effects and start having fun with some custom video. Thanks for all your suggestions and critiques. Here is the final video that will play this weekend to promote our upcoming series.

21 Responses to “30 Days To Live”

  1. Hi Brent – I wish mama and I could be there – I could handle knowing I had 30 days to live – if i was going to lose mama in 30 days I would be a basket case – i have been confronted with that possibility once.

    I wouldn’t plan to go anywhere special. I think I would be more confrontational about those I felt needed to really exam their spiritual life. I would sleep less and pray that God would give me the strength to witness till the day I stepped into eternity. This may sound selfish and full of hooey, but I would want to fly out to Medford, sit on a park bench with Tam and tell her life is good. i just think having that fatherly talk with her would make my day! You know you will be a basket case the day her 30th day comes? Love you guys – live like tomorrow was day 30!

  2. Hey B – That’s pretty cool. Nice work. What did you use to put it together? Final cut pro?

  3. great video — i wish I had more time to refine my after effects skills. i can only do so much though 😉

    30 days? wow… that brings back memories of 30 days before i left to go to war… unfortunately, i think I would probably waste many of those days… if we are being honest that is. I’d like to think that I would go do everything but in reality, i think i would sulk for a couple and lose out on completely taking advantage of my last days

  4. Papa, I know when Tam reads this she will cry. You are ana amzing man and I am honored to have you as a father/grandpa to our family.

    Chuck, thanks dude, it was all done in Adobe After Effects. We just started using it about a month ago and will be using it for all our sermons series and I am sure other stuff as well.

    Evan, I bet you went through these questions before you went to war. Wow, I cannot imagine being in that situation, but that is the reason for the questions and this series. We need to ask these questions. By the way, I finally looked through your pics and they are amazing. The military stuff is very interesting.

  5. 5 Cheryl

    Hmm…I know someone for whom this is true. He has been given less than a year to live now that chemo has been stopped… He and his wife have so many big decisions to make. But it really hit when they went to make the funeral arrangements. They have been spending time trying to brace their kids for what might happen but we are all praying for a miracle.

    I would be doing the same thing…preparing the kids… and just spending time with my family.

  6. Cheryl, I can’t imagine!

  7. 7 tam

    Papa, Brent is right. He can attest. I am crying. And you know…I would love nothing more. Whether we had 30 days or 30 years…that would be my hi-light…to sit on a park bench with you as your little girl…

    I love you Papa

  8. 8 tam

    shouldn’t we be living like each day is our last? If we truly did…we would be more patient with our children. We would hug our spouse/parents more. We would tell everyone we love just how much we truly love them AND why. We would stop acting as if sharing Christ is something to be embarrassed about.

    So maybe that’s the deal we should all agree on….live like that right now.

  9. Right on Tam!

  10. I love it. Sounds like a powerful series and the video is incredible. Very moving.

  11. Hey Pete, I was just commenting on your breath holding competition…Haha!!

    I’ve seen some other churches do this series and I am excited to see what God will do with it at our place!

  12. I’m not sure if it is because i watch it on a Desktop PC and not a ‘Mac’ but i still ‘miss out’ some of those numbers because they are black on a black background – missing numbers is not a thing i like to do as you probably understand by now 🙂

    Still the Video Looks very professional – like the fade in/fade outs you ended up with 🙂

    Tam has rightly pointed out the crux of the idea behind 30 Days. It IS how we live each and every day (second) we are granted in this life.

    But there is more – Jesus IS the Way for each and every human on the planet – His life is an excellent model for us to adopt in ours.

    Jesus lived for longer than 30 days – he had a plan to work towards and was not ‘limited’ to only a Thirty (or even To-) Day life to live.

    Some might behave other than how we are shown how to behave if we live for thirty (or one) day’s at a time.

    It is up to us to do all we can each day that comes and to daily improve our life so that we learn how to only do His Will and not get ‘side-tracked’ by our more ‘selfish’ desires.

    “Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” Matt 6:34

    We are all alive NOW – sometimes we become complacent to that and need such reminders as your video will be a precursor to! 🙂

    Good Works Brent 🙂

    <B

  13. thanks Love, I think you nailed it with this…

    “We are all alive NOW – sometimes we become complacent to that and need such reminders”

    that is exactly what this series is about for us. A challenge…a call to action. Live for today and live boldly with Jesus as our example.

  14. I love it when we agree 🙂

    <B

  15. 15 Brad

    brent – did you get my email from 2-3 weeks ago? i’m wondering if i have your right email. could you email it to me at brad@emiea.org. thanks! (unfortunately i’m not able to view your video because streaming is pretty much impossible here due to limited bandwidth).

  16. 16 Kelly

    That stressed me out! Just because it took me until number 18 to find the number 4!!! LOL!

  17. Whew! I think I just blew my mind fuse thinking about all of this. Cuz, after reading what Tam and Love had to say, it occurred to me that any one of us could be beginning or in the midst of, or near the end of his/her final 30 days and not realize it. It is a very sobering thought and one that will inspire me live like there’s no tomorrow.

  18. Kelly, you are cracking me up!!!

    givemejesus, It is sobering, I am glad its making you evaluate. It is doing the same for me.

  19. 19 Heidi

    Awesome video….

    I wish I could sit there and listen and absorb this message.

    Unfortunately at times I live like I have a lifetime and I forget to slow down and feel and experience Jesus, I mean really experience Him.

    If I had 30 days would I do the same? or would I be in a hurry to get things done or see something. I dunno.

  20. Heidi, I really don’t think we could know for sure until we are in that place. I am with you, not sure how I would respond. But, I can respond right now, knowing what I do, as if I have 30 days to live.


  1. 1 Assorted Ramblings | Living with "God Vision"

