NMFAPIMWLC: no more fat ARSE people in ministry Weight Loss challenge

06May08

Your probably reading this saying…WHAT THE!

It’s true, I need to lose weight. I am a good 20 lbs overweight right now and it stinks! There is something unbiblical, dare I say sinful about allowing ourselves to be physically unhealthy.

I personally love sweets and breads. I love them both. I’ve always said, “man cannot live on bread alone, but bread and a coke will do just fine”.

So, my buddy Joel over at CECWorship sent out the call and I’m jumping in. Starting this Friday, I will begin a new journey of eating well and exercising. Over the next couple of days, I will be working with my wife to figure out an eating plan and a daily routine to whip me into shape.

I will post updates every Monday, to let you know of my progress. I think I can reach my goals in 2-3 months. And, no, I will not be uploading pictures. Unless I get really ripped and then I might πŸ™‚

For me it’s all about moderation. I tend to pig out when something is in front of me. I tend to eat it if it’s available and if there is something sweet to be offered, it will be had.

So, if you want some “motivation”, look at yourself in a mirror, or that banner up above and join with me.

Who’s in?!?!

64 Responses to “NMFAPIMWLC: no more fat ARSE people in ministry Weight Loss challenge”

  1. 1 Kristen

    I’m IN!! I actually whipped myself out of my carb induced stupor last Monday, and have done pretty well since. Last Friday I finally worked up the motivation to work out as well. I’ve got a lot of videos I could recommend πŸ™‚

  2. I am wiht you.

    I have lost 80lbs over the last 2.5 years. I have another 10 to go.

  3. 3 ronpai

    the two professions with ironically overweight people: Medical and Ministry.

    One teaches us that our Body is a Temple and the other is supposed to show us how to keep it that way.

    Let’s start the revolution!

  4. For the record, I have fasted fast food for the last two weeks. The worst I have had was chicken salad wrap from Chick-fil-a.

    I have two weeks to go.

    And you know what? I don’t think I am going back to fast food. I don’t miss it at all.

    Now let me see if I can cut sodas down to one per week if not just wiping them out all together. (Don’t recommend diet, I am allergic to diet drinks.)

  5. 5 Tyler

    if i lost more i think i’d scare people.

  6. 6 BuddyO

    I’m with you on this Brent. I wrote about this same topic earlier this year (“Why is Church Full of Fat Slobs?”).

    I lost 60 lb about 2 years ago. I put some of that back on tying to build back up some of the muscle I lost, but I’m constantly working on it (obsessed?).

  7. 7 mandy

    i just hit my goal about two months ago. now i’m trying to hold it. HOLD it there.
    yikes!

  8. I’ve lost 19 in the last few months and still have another 15 or so to go… So I’m in too!

    I’ve got a blog post coming in the next few days on my take on this as well.

  9. You guys are awesome! For those of you who are already losing it or lost it, let us know what to do, keep us accountable and let us know how to help you the rest of the way!

    Definitely post up on your blogs. Let us know your progress, how your doing it and how we can hold each other accountable.

    This should be fun!

    Tyler…your killing me Hahaha!!!

  10. 10 ronpai

    Tyler…wait until your metabolism slows down.

  11. Brent, I love bread and pasta, two things loaded with carbs. I had to change my diet when I was diagnosed as a diabetic. My doctor provided all the motivation I needed, change my diet or die. Pasta or death, a tough choice. πŸ™‚

    I lost 25 ilbs in two years, 175 to 150, and have keep it off.

    Suggestions:

    1- Do not try to loss the weight too quickly. One lb a week would be fine. The first 5lb or so will easy because it’s just water in the body you are losing.

    2- What ever meal plan you choice you must enjoy what you eat. If you don’t you are very unlikely to stay on your meal plan.

    3 – As you are losing weight give your self a reward day where you just eat what you want. Exercise some portion control but eat whatever food you enjoy the most.

    4- So many Americans are fat because we simply eat too much. What we eat is probably not the problem. Diets are all about portion control. If you eat everything they serve you when you eat out you are consuming way too many calories.

    5- When faced with a triple chocolate fudge cake (or your favorite desert in the world) I am not sure even prayer will work. πŸ™‚

  12. The Lord recently convicted me regarding the coating of hamburger grease on the walls of my temple and I’ve embarked on a renovation project to remove the expansion I’ve added! I have more to lose than just 20 pounds but ALOT more to lose if I don’t do something now! I’m a diabetic with high blood pressure so you may want to stand back in case I blow! LOL Love the graphic….took me a minute to realize what it was and thought for a moment that some of my private photos had been leaked to Flickr!

  13. 13 Deborah

    As I said at CEC, I started about a month ago..and no longer wish to be a member of this club. I’m in! I refuse to talk about hairless booty….refuse. πŸ˜†

  14. 14 TheNorEaster

    In my entire life, I have been on a diet once.

    I had to quit when I turned sideways and disappaered.

    Oh. And I can eat like a horse and lose weight.

    Sorry, Brent. I’m not in on this one.

    As for greasy food, that’s what grape seed extract is for. If you have a heart attack, your doctor will probably tell you to start taking Vitamin E. But grape seed extract is twice as powerful and it does the same thing. Only better. Much better. Eat a hamburger and eight hours later your blood vessels will constrict and all that bad stuff. Grape seed extract prevents all that. So I can eat what I want and not worry about heart attacks. And you know those chest pains you get every once in a while? Maybe after you’ve had a greasy meal? I don’t get them anymore. Nope. Not me. Not at all. In fact, I forgot what they feel like. Grape seed extract is just that good. πŸ˜‰

    Life is good.

  15. 15 Deborah

    Ya know, after reading a few of the other comments…I think it is just as wrong to think that the only reason people are overweight is because they are slobs and eat too much, as it is being that way. I do believe that anyone can lost weight if they stick to it and work hard, but catagorizing is wrong. Fat people are still children of God, and like any other thing that is “wrong” could have deeper implications……I’m glad your doing this B, accountability is good!

  16. It’s fun to see everybody jumping in on this.

    Ed, great ideas…thank you!

    givemejesus, Hahahaha!!! Your cracking me up!

    NorEaster, I think Tyler has the same issue. He’ll just disappear πŸ™‚ I have heard great things about grape seed extract.

    Deb, I am not sure anyone is calling anybody names here. I think everyone is speaking honestly about themselves. Everyone can live healthy as you’ve said. Some will have an easier time at weight loss than others, but all can do it. I agree.

    I think a key here for everyone is moderation works both ways. Eat moderately and exercise moderately. We don’t have to kill ourselves to be healthy and sometimes we can do things in the name of a “diet” that would actually hurt in the long run. Figure out what’s best for you and let’s hold each other accountable to the process!

  17. 17 Deborah

    Thanks B, there was a comment earlier that seems to be gone now about the church being full of fat slobs…or something to that effect…..I thought that might offend someone who is struggling. I don’t see it now, so thanks. πŸ™‚

  18. 18 brandy

    Good Luck! I’ve tried to stay away from bad fast food and soda now for about 2 weeks. I hate it. HATE IT. But I feel a bit better for it. πŸ˜‰

  19. 19 tam

    so do you hate it Bran?

  20. Deb , gotcha. I think there is an epidemic everywhere, not just in the church, but I do believe that those of us who claim our bodies are His temple, need to prove it. I need to get my butt in gear!

    Bran, good girl…stay away!!!

    tam, your hot πŸ™‚

  21. 21 tam

    πŸ˜•

  22. 22 brandy

    Yes Tam, I thought I made that clear? πŸ˜‰ I HATE IT. I’m craving a diet pepsi right now!

  23. Hey let me be your personal fitness and diet coach…this could be a fun thing to blog about!!

    http://kitchentablemedicine.com/the-best-alternative-medicine-solutions-for-long-term-weight-loss/

    That is my basic program and if you are looking for psychological support I could get my friend Dr. KC at http://docinthebiz.com involved possibly. We were just talking about how we would make the worlds best make over team!

    Because you are such a positive influence on so many people I would be happy to donate my time and resources. Just let me know whatever you need help with. If you want to get a group involved I will walk your group through the process and do weight loss tips and answer their questions on my site.

    Happy to help!

  24. 24 tam

    “Yes Tam, I thought I made that clear?”

    Are you gettin’ sassy with me lil one?

  25. 25 brandy

    *just checking something. Ignore me.*

  26. 26 brandy

    *crap*

  27. I dropped some pounds last spring and I am now a life-time member of weight watchers. I will encourage y’all/yaw/youse from the sidelines.

  28. wow dude…I def. spurred something…lol at least on your site I did…my poor non comment ridden site. πŸ™‚

  29. 29 T

    Well, I’m not in ministry – but I’m a fat arse. So, I’ll just sit on the side and cheer you on…….while eating cheetos, a HUGE dr. pepper, and maybe some pizza.

    Now, get your fat arse back on the treadmill……..someone get me a twinkie!

    Later,
    T

  30. Dr. Nicole, we’ll have to talk. I am honored that you’d offer what you have. I will get a hold of you.

    Brandy, nope your avatar still isn’t working πŸ™‚

    Ric, from the few pics I’ve seen, you definitely don’t have to lose weight, but we can challenge each other to healthy living as well.

    Klampert, I like you…I’ll comment πŸ™‚

    T, Hahahaha!!!! When you have your first heart attack, let me know πŸ™‚

  31. I actually eat pretty well…I have decided my metabolism is non-existent! It has been for years so it’s a struggle for me. If I eat a “meal” twice a day, I’ll gain a pound, truth! Hmmm….I wonder if there is something else going on there? Ahh…I digress.
    I do however, very much need to exercise. These few pounds are killing me, I know I’m never going to be svelt and I’m not aiming for that. I just don’t want to be out of breath and uncomfortable. Being in double digit clothing is not a bad thing and I refuse to be taunted (mainstream) into thinking it is. Each of us have different bone structure, muscle mass, height…what is good for someone else may not be good for me and vis-versa. All that to say, accountability and partners is a good thing!
    Sorry for the book. πŸ˜‰

  32. Dude, I’m getting fat myself. I’m almost 210. When you met me Brent, I was 140. AHHHHHH. Of course I was only 20.

  33. Theressa, eating is huge for me. I have a good metabolism, so I’ve been able not to take on too much weight because of it.

    But, I’ve got to eat well, not just for weight, but for my health. My family deserves that.

    Chuck, that’s 60 lbs dude! Your tall though and you’ve got a pretty decent frame, I could see you still being 180-190.

  34. I need to lose weight.

    Bad.

    So I am in.

  35. Steven…Sweet!

  36. Brent, stop knowing me so well. GEEZE! πŸ™„

    πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  37. Oh WHY do i feel one of those ‘I wish I’d kept my big mout shut’ kind of moments coming on???

    I am very favourably impressed ‘Big Man’ πŸ™‚

    Now it is put up or shut up time (for me) so… (grudgingly) Count me in alongside you, dude?

    I’m currently 190 and could do with getting to 170 for my height and body size. ( Alll ripling muscle of course πŸ˜‰

    Keep us informed.

    And ‘Good on yer, Mate!’

    (= Well done there, sir) πŸ™‚

    <B

  38. Love, I am honored you’d join us. I am sure in this process you will be able to recommend some great food dishes. You always seem to have some tasty as well as healthy things going on.

  39. Happy to make suggestions, of course πŸ™‚

    I don’t do diets very well – i love my food a little too much but i am able to exercise some self-restraint (even, or especially, on Chocolate!)

    I believe it is ok to reward yourself when you have been doing well, eating-wise, but moderation is Critical – no binges!

    And our bodies do not only need to have good foods put in them but they need to be used (exercised if we don’t work physically) in moderation. Also, less food/more exercise is a winning combination to lose that excess weight (remembering that Muscle weighs more than the same ‘volume’ of fat!)

    Losing fat while gaining muscle CAN mean gaining weight!

    Someone above mentioned it was easy to lose 5 lbs as this was probably going to be just water.

    As much as 3/4 of all Americans may be to some degree dehydrated most of the time. Water is one of the best things you can put in your body and not having enough is likely to increase your hunger and decrease your performance in just about everything.

    Having a large glass of water about half an hour or more before every meal can reduce your desire to stuff yourself – if that is ever a feeling you get.

    Don’t lose wight by losing water – unless you are one of the few who suffer excess water storage due to poor lymbic system maintenance/illness.

    Best health tip – snack on Apples! – wash and eat the skins!

    πŸ™‚

    <B

  40. 40 tawny

    OK FINE!!!!!! I don’t know if I am spiritually mature enough to be hungry or skinny but I will try. We starting tomorrow?

  41. 41 Kelly

    I’m on board! Thanks for starting this. I’ve lost 28 pounds since December, and have kind of been parked for the past month or so. My brain is full of nurtritional knowledge, my house if full of exercise equipment, and I’m full of every good reason to do this. What stops me? What do SO many people just leave out of the equation?? The REASON we overeat or don’t exercise!! If we don’t get to the WHY, we’ll just die on a diet someday! I’ve spent lots of time working through the “why”, and just this morning put my finger on another one. Time to blog! Yup, I’ll be here running and eating carrots with y’all, and on my page getting real about the “why”.
    And yes, I am SO tired of gluttony being the acceptable addiction in the church!! as a minister, who is overweight, I can say that even if I’m just talking about me:) Let’s go!!

  42. Love, drinking water is huge. hydration helps your metabolism. people need to be drinking water. The fact is, once people who have not been drinking much water start up, they will lose water weight as their bodies get rid of the crap that’s in it. Water will clean you out. But at that point, the water is even more crucial.

    Drink your water guys!

    Tawny, You know I see you everyday, so we will definitely be holding each other accountable πŸ™‚

    Kelly, that’;s awesome. Sounds like you’ve come a long way. Sometimes we just need some fresh “motivation” to keep going.

    If you guys haven’t yet, check out Dr. Nicole’s site. She is a Naturopathic Dr and will have some great plans ans suggestions to proper eating.

    http://kitchentablemedicine.com/the-best-alternative-medicine-solutions-for-long-term-weight-loss/

  43. 43 kim

    Neil and I have set some similar goals, and are doing pretty well. We began our new plan the week before Easter, which was, you know, a REALLY GREAT TIME to break the habit of mindless-eating-while-stressed. πŸ™‚ Good luck to you. It will be worth it.

    How does the Wii fit in, exactly?

  44. Wii??…that is on my wish list! I could do away with my “stepper” because you know I’s spend much more time upright and moving with that in the house…I have a whole family room just waiting πŸ˜€

  45. Kim, keep it up! Got any tips to share…besides timing πŸ™‚

    Theressa, seriously the Wii is killer exercise. Tennis, Boxing and baseball, they are all great. You have to totally do the entire movements and it exhausts you. Love it!

  46. 46 Kelly

    We got a Wii in March, and I played so much tennis on Wii Sports over a two week period I had to go to the chiropractor to get my shoulder and back adjusted! One AWESOME workout! The only problem is, for most of them your lower body is not required to do anything. But, jump around, that’ll fix that!

  47. 47 tawny

    It would be safer if we don’t keep each other accountable face to face. For you, that is. πŸ™‚ I will check in here on Fridays. Sorry, I have issues. In case you couldn’t tell, already.

  48. Kelly, it’s crazy isn’t it. I wore myself out playing at a friends house.

    Tawny, you know I won’t be able to hold back. I’m nosey like that πŸ™‚

  49. 49 tawny

    Ok, don’t say I didn’t warn you. πŸ™‚

  50. OK, now I’m scared…I’ll be good πŸ™‚

  51. I’ve decided i’m going on TWO diets….

    There is just not enough food on the first one! πŸ™‚

    Who’s with me??

    <B

  52. 52 tam

    Love – πŸ˜†

  53. 53 Jen

    Weight has been a LIFE-LONG issue for me..since I was in second grade. I wish it was as easy as snappin’ my fingers for it to come off! My husband and I are apart of a church team that will launch in October. We lead worship with a band of cool, young adults and I want to lose before OCT! I know…it’s not possible to be at a goal weight by then but how about a mini goal? I see most of you have not as much to lose. I’d still love the challenge if I’m aloud to play! πŸ™‚ Accountability is huge for me. I could use some!!! I want to do this for God..it’s sin. I want to do this for my kids…to be there. I want to do this for my husband…to look “hot” for him. I want to do this for me…to feel better and to be ALL God wants me to be.

    godzgaljen@gmail.com if anyone wants to be a buddy in this….

    Can we Weigh in?

    Thanks for the challenge.

  54. Jen, welcome! And of course you can join in! I love it!

    I know we all have our dream goals and that is good, but you are exactly right to even set Mini Goals. We get there quicker, we see progress faster and it all helps towards our ultimate goal.

    Accountability? You got it. Check in here every Monday and let us know how your doing. If I don’t see you, I’ll be checking up. Also, if you want to place something on your blog about it…go for it. Let all your readers hold you accountable as well.

    Also, I love this…

    “I want to do this for God..it’s sin. I want to do this for my kids…to be there. I want to do this for my husband…to look β€œhot” for him. I want to do this for me…to feel better and to be ALL God wants me to be.”

    I think that’s more than enough incentive right there. Go for it…have fun…and we will all hold each other accountable.

  55. #7 was NOT a volunteering for this little group-therapy-lose-weight experience.

  56. i’m just sayin.

  57. 57 Jen

    Thanks!! I appreciate the welcome and I’ll be back! I’m going to weigh in today and see were I am. I will check in on Monday or before then to other posts I’m sure!

  58. Mandy, are you feeling guilty πŸ™‚

    Jen, sound great!


  1. 1 Diet Challenge Thingie Something
  2. 2 Danny Poyner | NMFAPIMWLC
  3. 3 NMFAPIMWLC: Week 1 « inWorship
  4. 4 NMFAPIMWLC: Week 2 « inWorship
  5. 5 Weight Loss and Whatever Wednesday « inProgress
  6. 6 NMFAPIMWLC: Week #3 « inWorship

