Ingenuity & Pandemonium #001

14Apr08

I have the opportunity to be the Creative Arts Pastor at our church. Basically I am in charge of all things music and media. Which includes managing and maintaining audio and video equipment around the campus. Equipment costs can become very expensive if not downright ridiculous. Because of this, many of those in my position are often required to think outside the box and to do things for very cheap or free…most often free.

Yesterday a fellow Creative Pastor and friend of mine, Neil Greathouse challenged all of us in our positions, to think of the inexpensive, last minute and sometimes life saving ideas we’ve come up with to allow things to continue working. Ok, maybe not life saving…yet πŸ™‚

So as I am faced with these dilemma’s I will offer them up to all of you to both share the ideas as well as learn from the mistakes. If you have ideas on how I could improve…please let me know.

The first entry into this exhibition would be our projector mounts. We have 3 different projectors which display video and media for the church to see. It allows them to follow along with lyrics, see upcoming events as we share announcements and at times also allow us to show video created here at TRF for the message series we are in.

When we remodeled our worship center a couple years back, we did not have the slickest working relationship with the architect. When the plans for the stage and equipment were finalized, we then set these ideas before the architect to draw up the plans to make it happen. BUT, he had other ideas. When all was said and done, the areas we had planned for mounting points for our projectors no longer existed and all the angles for the screens had been changed. We now had extension arms for the projectors, built for our plans but they were not long enough to fit his plans and could not be rebuilt.

Enter…Plywood!

We took scrap plywood (cost-$0) attached them to the extension arms and then mounted the projector mounts and projectors to the plywood. There you have it. Although there was cost incrued getting to the final product…the fix cost us…NADA!

A picture of said mounts for your enjoyment!

35 Responses to “Ingenuity & Pandemonium #001”

  1. wow…. bootleg but props to you for coming up with that one. i would’ve settled for slapping the architect with the plywood….

  2. Trust me…that was my first choice πŸ™‚

  3. Cool! I should post the mounting job we just did Thursday night–had to get a plywood piece, too. Not as intense as this, so kudos.

  4. Post it up Rich. I know I could use all the creative ideas I can get πŸ™‚

  5. Genius my friend. We did something similar last year. We added three screens to the back of our stage (kind of a cheap version of Granger) – The projectors are mounted using scrap plywood from our Christmas production (spray painted black to match our ceiling) Up close it looks scary, but from the seats it looks brilliant!

    BTW – Thought you might be interested in this site since you’re an Oregon Duck fan – http://www.dennisdixon10.com/index.html

  6. Hey Jim, that’s cool that you guys are going simple as well. We are going to be moving the projectors soon and we thought about using something that looks good like Light bar or something, but then we realized that we can spend maybe $100 using basic pipe to do the same thing. We will be going the pipe route.

    Dude, that Dixon site is now my son’s favorite page(the biggest Dixon fan in the world)…thanks!

  7. 7 tam

    Yes Jim. Thank you very, very much for that Dixon site. My son has called me to the room to look at umpteen million different shots of Dixon. It is my joy to drop everything I’m doing, numerous times, to see the same guy in 182 different poses. Thanks Jim. I mean, really, thank you.

    😐

  8. Ya, we are kind of a Duck Football family. Of course my son is an absolute Ducks Football freak!

  9. Is this the right time to say “Go HUSKIES”???

  10. Haha!!!

    I should SO delete that πŸ™‚

  11. 11 tam

    HENRY!!!!!!!!!

    😯

  12. Okay, okay…I take it back.

    GO BEAVERS!!!

  13. AHHHHH!!!!

    You know that’s worse πŸ™‚

    Especially after this season!

  14. Hey Vin…

    1. How much does that projector weigh?

    2. How far away is the CoG (Center of Gravity) of that projector from the point of attachment of that plywood to the bracket?

    I don’t like the looks of that ‘moment arm’

    I’m just sayin’!!!

    R.

    *calculating the ‘moment arm’

  15. Robert, Haha! I new safety would come up. The arm is aluminum so it is very light but very strong. The arms attachment point on the wall is quite hefty and sturdy. We had one of the guys hanging from it to prove a point. Our best estimates is that we could load a decent 100lbs on that thing in it current configuration and be safe. the projector/mount and wood are about 35lbs. ALso the attachment of the plywood to the mount is 3 bolt/washer/nuts with a thin plate of steel on the underside to increase the mounting attachment coverage.

    πŸ™‚

  16. I’m more concerned about the plywood failing!

    The distance of the CoG of the projector for the point of attachment of the wood to the arm constitutes a ‘moment arm’. There’ll be a value torque on the wood at the point where those bolts go through it that’s a function of that distance I mentioned AND the weight of the projector…

    Probably nothing to worry about….

    I would have probably put a couple of sections of 2×4 between the plywood AND the bracket you bolted to…..THEN i would have dry-wall screwed the plywood to the 2×4’s. True you would have needed longer bolts, but the 2×4’s are beefier.

    Just the engineer in me looking for problems!

    R.

  17. Hmmm.. note to self: Sit far away from hanging projectors! Thanks Robert πŸ˜‰

    Actually, I tend to look around a lot and I had wondereed about the set up. Very ingenious indeed. Remember when churches had old school overhead projectors with the actetates. They were great when the acetates would stick together and the words would come off…ahh, the good ole days…

  18. I agree with you Robert. Safety first and hopefully we have done that, but you’ve brought up some good suggestions.

    The plan at this point is to actually run pipe across that will not be mounted on the wall. They will be supported by the cross beams which you can kind of see in the picture. the projectors will then be mounted from them. All good and solid. That should be happening within the next month or so.

    Cheryl, I’ll protect you πŸ™‚

    Also, to add, these projectors are not mounted above any person or seating in the worship center πŸ˜‰

  19. 19 Heidi

    I always thought that Sushi was great brain food. Hey the mounting is great. Unfortunately we can’t steal that idea. Here in So. Cal we have things called earthquakes. It has to be steel baby!! πŸ™‚
    (from tooltime)

    I would have done some slapping too. πŸ™‚

  20. Heidi, I would be in complete agreement with that. I lived in Glendora for 12 years and enjoyed the Whittier earthquake. I actually miss them πŸ™‚

  21. OK – since you brought the safety aspect up it’s probably worth pointing out to everyone out there that ‘melamine’ or particle board or any similar manufactured wood would NOT be a suitable substitute for a good five or seven ‘ply’ in such instances.

    So: Ply wood wood be good – if you can steel some steel that’d be ‘safer’ πŸ˜‰ (yeah, i know the spellin’s bad but i’ll let you figure out which is what. πŸ™‚ )

    And since we are all ‘good’ Christians, when i said ‘steel’ i, of course, meant ask the local hardware store/scrap iron dealer for donations! πŸ™‚

    <B

  22. 22 Heidi

    The Whittier earthquake!!!

    I was there in Whittier. I was driving school buses then. I fell during that headache and had a huge bruise. I’ll never forget it!!!

  23. 23 Heidi

    I’m so out of it. I meant earthquake not headache!! I was filling a form out. oops!!:)

  24. This is true ingenuity at work. However…add termites and this turns into pandemonium.

    Nice work using what you’ve got.

  25. 25 tam

    yah. well. it was MY idea

  26. Heidi, I totally understood you. Ya, I loved that quake. we had to replace two walls in our house on that one πŸ™‚

    Neil, it was NOT tam’s idea πŸ™‚

    I am going to have to get pics up when we finish the new mounts so everyone can rest assured…

  27. What, no duct tape?

  28. Haha!

    I may have to leave the current setup till you guys get here so you can see it live πŸ™‚

  29. we’ve got more monkey-rigged crap in our church than the traveling circus! I’ll have to share the embarrassing pics soon my brother! I love it!

  30. Alex, you’ll have to post it up and join us with the “Ingenuity & Pandemonium” posts. I’d love to see some of the stuff you guys are doing to make it work.

  31. Wow. That is incredible…can’t say it looks SAFE…haha…

    Kudos to you, my friend.

    I as well have jumped on board with this Ingenuity & Pandemonium madness…mine is more on the end of Pandemonium…

    Check it out: http://matthuber.wordpress.com/2008/04/21/ingenuity-pandemonium/

  32. I would say this is definitely not on the safe side of things…but we”ll fix that soon.

    thanks for stopping by Matt!

  33. Wow…way to get the job done.

    Saw your link on Neil’s blog. I’ve on board with you all adding my own Ingenuity & Pandemonium experiences.

    We had a project, attached to a pipe, suspended from the ceiling, attached by a few heavy duty bolts. The only problem the heavy duty bolts were not secured to any studs or framing in the ceiling. We were doing some remodeling, bumped the pole and it feel straight to ground, projector and all…with the pipe still attached to the projector. So the projector hit the ground the pipe was right on top of it.

    Not cool!!

    Amazingly, the project, although grossly tore apart, still functions like normal.

    Needless to say, we’ve secured the pipe and have substituted the projector.

    Whew!

  34. Andy, that’s awful. I always worry about stuff like that. the rigging we are using for our speaker clusters is ridiculously overkill, but I could not imagine something like you’ve described happening with a speaker cluster…yikes!


  1. 1   From my reader — Chris From Canada

