Greatest Invention Ever

11Apr08

I love Sushi. I am having lunch with my wife right now at this little Sushi place in town. She is talking to a friend from the East Coast (little miss Mandy) so I am blogging.

This pic right here is I a roll called “Dai”. I am a true Sushi fan so I like the fishy stuff. But if you are a fan of California rolls you haveto try “Dai”. It is a california roll done tempura style with an amazing spicy sauce.

Beautful!

posted from iPhoneSlide.com

60 Responses to “Greatest Invention Ever”

  1. your wife nearly gave me a heart attack…. that was 20 minutes ago and i’m still shaking.
    notfunnyatall…..

    NOT FUNNY at all.

    but, SO fun to talk to her. πŸ™‚

  2. Sorry but…*BLECH*….do you know where that fish has been???? πŸ˜†

  3. 3 tam

    Mandy…just be careful – you never know who you’re talking to…

    Deb – Yes we know. In our Bellayz!

  4. ICK!! Double ICK! I thought the greatest invention was fire..used to cook raw fish! :ugh:

  5. Mandy, she told me what she said and I was dying!!!! Sorry, but that was funny!!!

    Deb…Yup, the ocean πŸ™‚ I saved some for you by the way…

    Cheryl, your so old fashioned…fire…

  6. 6 Brad

    I am cracking up at you posting on your blog while you’re having lunch with your wife! I’d get in big trouble if I brought my computer and tried to post on our blog while having lunch out with Alisha…but maybe that’s because East Africa has the slowest internet connectivity in the world so it takes me 2 1/2 hours to post! And the concept of sushi is becoming more and more foreign to me, since it seems we can’t eat anything here without first cooking, boiling or soaking it in bleach! πŸ™‚

  7. 7 tam

    Actually Brad, He was blogging on his iPhone as i was talking to a blogger on my phone. But notice how he justifies blogging on our date….

    “She is talking to a friend from the East Coast (little miss Mandy) so I am blogging.”

    “SO” I am blogging”

    Wuss!

    This is our quality time together!

  8. Ok, we’re all curious about the Tam/Mandy interaction….

  9. HAHAHA dude the “so I’m blogging comment” was awesome! hahaha I can just imagine the thought process behind it.

    Sitting with your wife eating sushi, talking about the weather and…the sushi (clearly I don’t know what married couple talk about…) Enter friend. Your wife turns to talk to her. “eureka!” your mind says. hand slides into pocket. ahh the iPhone is here! “hmmm one blog won’t hurt, but like a little kid sneaking into christmas presents you turn away from your wife’s conversation to secretly blog. you finish before she notices. Success! couple hours later she finds your blog… busted…

    by the way, sushi doesn’t look too good… however i would eat the spicy sauce though πŸ™‚

  10. Ummm, I am with Deb, I want to know what almost gave Mandy a heart attack. πŸ˜€ heehee

    And sushi….is gross….and wrong…..and yucky…. I think I’m going to be sick. πŸ˜‰ hahaha!!

    Do they include the poop or is that taken out at an extra charge??? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

  11. Amen Brandy! Actually, they probably fried the poop in that Tempura batter!

  12. I bet you can get some amazing rolls in your neck of the woods. You’re making my mouth water just thinking about it!!

  13. Poop? What the heck are you guys talking about???

    tam will have to fill you guys in on the Mandy conversation.

    Hey evan, you’ve caught on to me πŸ™‚

    Mudpuppy, you are correct. The Salmon and Tuna here are amazing!

  14. Hey Brad…dude I am so sorry your kids have been so sick. And I am completely understanding your need to “bleach” everything πŸ™‚

    Of course, I wouldn’t have been blogging had Tammy not been on the phone πŸ˜‰

  15. yes brent, poop, don’t shrimp have poop in them?? So I just figure sushi would be as yucky πŸ˜‰ haha πŸ˜†

    I think I’m safe from sushi here. πŸ˜‰ hehe

  16. Wha?!?!?

    I wasn’t eating shrimp and NO…sushi does not have poop in it…

    When we get to heaven and you find out that sushi is the food of choice…you’ll see πŸ™‚

    Of course actual sushi is raw seafood and the “Dai” rolls don’t have anything raw in it except cucumber.

  17. Food of choice…therefore, I’m not choosing it.

    So how do you pronounce “Dai”.. like die…from in this case fake sushi (since there is nothing raw in it) πŸ˜‰

    Isn’t sashimi the real raw deal btw? πŸ™‚

  18. It is like..die. I am sure your happy about that.

    California rolls have cooked crab or imitation crab (if you get it at Albertsons)

    And yes, Sashimi is the actual raw fish. Sushi pertains to the rice. So any of the rolls with rice are given the general term of Sushi.

  19. “Food of choice…therefore, I’m not choosing it”

    So your not choosing heaven? Bummer, I heard it’s gonna be pretty cool πŸ™‚

  20. HAHAHA!!! DIE ROLLS!!! HAHAHAA!

    Oh I’ll be in Heaven…saving poor Nemo from you! I don’t recall there being sushi in the Garden of Eden…I recall fruit but sushi…I don’t think so! πŸ˜†

    You know, the only time I like sushi is when I’m pregnant…or at least it when I don’t know that I’m pregnant but then find out that I am. Any other time..no thanks!

  21. 21 TheNorEaster

    My grandfather once said of sushi, “I’ve never tried it, and I never will again.”

    Ah ha ha ha!!!

  22. Cheryl, Actually I think it says in Genesis that Adam and Eve were welcome to partake of all animals on land and in sea. And since the caveman hadn’t evolved yet, they didn’t have fire SO….

    πŸ™‚

  23. NorEaster, Hahahaha!!!!

  24. Hmm… I don’t recall the word “partake”…rule/oversee:

    Then God said, “I’ve given you
    every sort of seed-bearing plant on Earth
    And every kind of fruit-bearing tree,
    given them to you for food.
    To all animals and all birds,
    everything that moves and breathes,
    I give whatever grows out of the ground for food.”
    And there it was

    Well, at least I’ve tried it…and I hope not to try it again, if you get my drift. πŸ˜€

  25. Oh no…heaven is vegetarian!! πŸ˜†

  26. Hahaha!!!!

  27. My nice, completely cooked dinner is about to come back up. Thanks a lot Brent!

  28. Anytime I can help Jim πŸ™‚

  29. So that thing in the picture has no fish or seafood of anykind in it?? If not, then I’ll eat it. Fo sho! πŸ˜‰ haha! The spicy sauce sounds good though. πŸ˜‰

    All this sushi/sashimi talk is making my tummy roll. πŸ˜†

  30. You’ve had a long trip haven’t you πŸ™‚

    I said it had cooked crab, so if you don’t consider that seafood…then your good to go πŸ™‚

  31. Okay yes I am totally off and have had a long trip! hahaha!

    And yes, crab is seafood so no I would not be good to go. EW. Crab. EW.

  32. I have to laugh at the American Idea of ‘food’. Sorry but i just have to…

    hahahahahahahahahahahahaha (helps to hide the tears!)

    Why am i SO NOT SURPRISED that Brent went for ‘Tempura style’ after seeing his last meal photographed for his blog???

    Most here are so concerned about the healthy component of sushi/sashimi – fish – being one of the healthiest meats one can eat, low in fat but rich in protein/Omega oils (and hopefully little to no mercury!!! πŸ˜‰ – and completely disregard the mass of useless (for anything other than stimulating your totally perverted tastebuds) FAT surrounding the otherwise pefectly acceptable (to all those but vegetarians, for whom i have respect) staple food of millions of our brothers and sisters in Asia.

    Calories People – Calories – if you put ’em in you gotta burn em OFF or you know what happens! And deep frying ANYTHING adds more calories than you want to know about.

    Clearly if there was no fire, there was no deep fryer in the garden – right??

    Teach your tastebuds (and your children) how to get you into Heaven – before the heart-attack cuts your effort short.

    Unclog those arteries folks! πŸ™‚

    1 Cor 6 19,20 ( sorry for repeating myself Brent! πŸ˜‰ )

    ’19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?
    20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.’

    Yeah – good ol’ love strikes again! – lissen to yer ‘mother’!

    <B

  33. 33 tam

    Yo-Yo

    WORD to the Homeys!

  34. You know I love you Love…

    But, it is about moderation. Actually I think that is a pretty good Biblical principle. So, with that being said, tempura is great…but in moderation. The last time I had tempura was a good 5-6 months ago. And, I worked for a couple hours in the yard and took a walk with my fam tonight. So does that mean I can have more tomorrow πŸ™‚

    I love Sushi, but the real thing is my favorite. I love tuna and salmon! Rice i s wonderful and seaweed is quite good for you.

    Anyway, love the verse and love the reminder πŸ™‚

  35. YOU EAT SEAWEED?! 😯

  36. Brandy…Sushi!!!

    That’s what it wrapped with…

  37. Thanks Brent – and of course you are right – moderation in all things – biblical principal ( and Buddhist as well!)

    We should ALL eat seaweed – loaded with yummy essential nutrients our erroneous farming principles have deleted from our daily diet over the centuries. πŸ™‚

    Word Up, Sis! πŸ˜‰

    <B

  38. no sushi for me thanks! but you go ahead and enjoy, you can even have mine! πŸ˜‰

  39. Sweet I’ll take it!

  40. Haven’t ever had sushi…but I have had seaweed! I have a bottle of it in my cabinet for detoxing – UGH!

  41. OK, that sounds terrible. Although my curiosity would cause me to try it πŸ™‚

  42. From The American Dictionary of Food and Cooking:

    Sushi, noun, Japanese in origin, deriv. su (to make) shi (gag)

    Made up primarily of those parts of the fish and shellfish cast off from the primary body of the entree. Combined with the seeweed that is used to pack oysters and clams it is then wrapped about old rice and served with ginger and wasabi to mask its pungency. Tradition has it that this is the result of a practical joke the Japanese played upon America to get back at them for Hiroshima and Nagasaki. It was never intended to catch on as an edible food item.
    Related: see brussel sprouts

  43. Hahaha!!!!

    Of course that does sound a lot like the sushi you get at Albertsons or (place any grocery store chain name here)!

  44. Dude! That’s what fire was invented for.

  45. I love California roll. I used to eat it once a week. I’ve never heard of it in a tempura batter though…sounds yummy! If you like tuna and salmon then you should also try eel, if you haven’t already.

  46. following on from Chris – See Also: Vegemite. Aussie shoe polish we sold to America as a ‘spread’ for toast/bread/crackers as practical joke. πŸ™‚

    Tuna sushi is best (in mho) then salmon (smoked), chicken and vege – if you are so inclined πŸ™‚

    Deep Fried is just WRONG Dude! Poison in moderation is still poison and sadly it ACCUMULATES (kinda like mercury/heavy metals in the body!)

    Little (if you absolutely HAVE to is good – none at all is better πŸ˜‰ )

    (Tam is paying me btw! πŸ˜‰ )

    ‘Mom’

    <B

  47. 47 kotaincahoots

    I STRONGLY DISLIKE SUSHI!

  48. I just KNOW i’m going to regret asking this but…

    Kota! – What is your FAVOURITE thing to eat, Young Sir? πŸ™‚ (and what’s your fave meal if different to the yummy thing to eat?)

    <B

  49. Ric, I do like a good BBQ πŸ™‚

    Cherie, thanks for stopping by! I actually love Eel(Unagi) and I love Octopus(Tako) and Squid(Ika) as well!

    Love, when i eat Sushi it is almost always Tuna and Salmon. I alos love Octopus and Eel as I told Cherie. the only time I ever have the Tempuras California Rolls are when we go to this place once every month or two. So…

    “Little (if you absolutely HAVE to is good – none at all is better πŸ˜‰ )”

    Agreed!

    Kota…that’s my boy 😦

  50. 50 kotaincahoots

    eggs with syrup on top

  51. Now that’s my boy πŸ™‚

    Love, be nice…he is joking a bit πŸ™‚

  52. EELS!!! You had me at octopus and squid (as long as it is cooked), but EELS!! Brent, EELS??

    WHat are you going to do when the price of salmon goes up?

  53. “WHat are you going to do when the price of salmon goes up?”

    Eat Eel πŸ™‚

  54. 54 kotaincahoots

    i am not joking

  55. Eggs and Syrup? Hmmmm… interesting…

    I can HONESTLY say: I have NEVER tried that!

    I have never even thought about combining the two?

    Unless you add flour and milk to the egg, beat it and fry it on a griddle or fry pan to make…. PANCAKES!

    Now them’s good eatin – had em Saturday for lunch! (but with lemon juice and sugar) – Mmmmmmm πŸ˜›

    But i’m gusessing your eggs are not done quite like mine, huh ‘Kota?

    I am SO glad you did not say those cheesy twisty chemical things your Dad had with his hot dog’s the other day! πŸ˜‰

    How ever did you come up with that combo anyway??

    <B

  56. 56 Heidi

    Dai’s are the bomb.

    I absolutely love Sushi. The fishier it is the better is. Octopus is the bomb.

    I’m so hungry now…

  57. Heidi!!!! I am so happy to hear from at least one person around here that has some flavor in their food πŸ™‚

  58. Brent – did you not see comments # 50 and 55?

    i feel left out! 😦

    <B

  59. Love you are absolutely correct! You and Heidi both are my sole sushi supporter πŸ™‚

  60. No pun intended πŸ™‚



