A Christian’s Response…Part 2

07Apr08

I like the thoughts that came up as we discussed the last post.

The jist…as Christians we need to know what we believe.

A couple things that stand out to me.

#1 Too many Christians are still feeding on milk. Let me clarify this. I believe evidence of a Godly life is one that displays the fruits of God. I will never attempt to classify someone’s faith or where they are in the journey, but I will always stand on challenging each other to deeper relationships with Jesus. We need to shine brightly. This only happens when Jesus shines through us. It is more about who He is in us than who we are for Him.

#2 You cannot love the person you are hating. God commands us to love…even our enemies. We as humans are naturally defensive. we seek to protect ourselves. The problem is that as Christians, we continue this trait, yet we use “our beliefs” as a shield. The Word of God is our sword not our shield. If God’s truth is shining in our lives, it can pierce through anything. Nothing can stand up against it. But if we try to use it as a shield, it has no power and only seeks to protect our well being. It’s used as defense instead of offense. We are to go into the world with the gospel. We are not to sit in a corner and slap at people when our beliefs are attacked.

So, how should we respond to an attack on the Christian faith? I go back to the example of finding counterfeit money. Men and women are trained to find counterfeit money by studying real money. In doing this, they are immediately made aware of the counterfeit when they see it.

So, we first need to know what our faith is and how that looks in our lives. This is the Christian responsibility that is so often forgotten. Live your Faith! Study the Word! Being a Christian is not about finding the next worship music trend or listening to the greatest teachers or the attending the biggest churches. It is all about relationship. All the rest is style and personality…not truth. When someone like Oprah or Eckhart Toller come along and preach a new religion, and you are firm in your faith and God’s Word, you will immediately see the counterfeit and turn away from it. So often we find oursleves responding or reacting to something we know nothing about. and instead of truning to God’s word for the answers, we just forward the email. It’s almost as if that makes us feel smart. It oftens just makes Christians and worse Chrsitianity  look bad.

I love the interaction jesus and Satan have in Matthew 4:1-11. Satan did everything in His power to deceive and lie to Jesus. Jesus response was never one of anger, never one of defense. Even when Satan distorted scripture for his own purposes, He purely and confidently stated the truth. I love that!

Satan – “”If you are the Son of God, command these stones to become loaves of bread.”
Jesus – “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.”

Satan – “If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down, for it is written, ‘He will command his angels concerning you, ‘On their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone.’
Jesus – “You shall not put the Lord your God to the test.'”

Satan – “All these I will give you, if you will fall down and worship me.”
Jesus – “Be gone Satan, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God and him only shall you serve.'”

I love this interaction. It was about truth. It was always about the Word of God. And it was always about patience and confidence in knowing who He was. For us, it is about the confidence we have in knowing who’s we are.

I so desperately want to see the Christian community put down all their causes and truly be the image of Christ. These attempts to “destroy” or “attack” things end up being no more than fuel on the fire. So how can we as Christians shine brighter? How can we care honestly? How do we truly embrace our enemy?



89 Responses to “A Christian’s Response…Part 2”

  1. 1 Tyler

    Totally agree Brent. Tony Jones said to me in an email that he wonders whether his grandchildren will see the emergent thing as an amazing thing for God’s glory or infighting. Too often we are simply against church, unwilling to change or support it despite its faults. Is the high road really that hard to take? I don’t think so.

    Good thoughts.

  2. As to point #1, let me point out a Scripture that I wrestled with for nearly a year:

    “We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn. In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.Therefore let us leave the elementary teachings about Christ and go on to maturity, not laying again the foundation of repentance from acts that lead to death,[a] and of faith in God, instruction about baptisms, the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment. And God permitting, we will do so.” – (Hebrews 5:11-6:3)

    When I read this I thought to myself, “crikey! if that’s considered elementary teachings – what are we [the church] doing? We’ve been arguing these very things for millenia…”

    It took me awhile to find the answer to the question, “if that’s baby food, what is solid food?”
    Jesus said, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.” (John 4:34)

    This says to me that there is a time to learn; a time to become equipped; but then we “feed” on actually doing God’s work. This starts and ends with loving – God, neighbors, other believers.

    As to point #2: “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (Ephesians 6:12)

    Simply put – the enemy is not Oprah.

  3. Tyler, that is something I fear for my kids as well. More inline with being in the ministry and not knowing what the church is going to be when they have a chance to lead it.

    Bad…awesome words. I love how you brought John 4:34 into this. I completely agree with you. My take on those who sit and feed are that they are the ones that are not actually growing…the consumers. One of the best ways for people to grow in a relationship with God is to serve.

    Ephesians 6:12 is right on as well.

  4. 4 TheNorEaster

    inW:

    I got the following quotation sent to me in an e-mail quite some time ago, but I thought I’d share it here.

    “You are fed with words. I don’t blame you. I am nauseated by them sometimes. I am also, to you the tell truth, fed up with ideals and with causes. This sounds like heresy, but I think you will understand what I mean.

    “It is so easy to get engrossed with ideas and slogans and myths that in the end one is left holding the bag, empty, with no trace of meaning left in it. And then the temptation is to yell louder than ever in order to make the meaning be there again by magic….Your system is complaining of too much verbalizing, and it is right…”

    Sounds pretty relevant, doesn’t it?

    Now then…I have a question. It is a simple question. And it’s for everyone who is reading these words who lays claim to believing The Word.

    So what’s the question? “When was the last time you an authentic effort to share God’s love with your enemy?”

    If you want my answer–which would take far, far too long to type here–see “When Lightning Strikes” on my web log. Meanwhile, I’m anxious to see read yours.

  5. NorEaster, perfectly relevant! Great quotes.

    As to what I have done to authentically share God’s love with an enemy? My answer would be two fold.

    First, I believe very strongly that my actions are as loud if not louder than my words. I do my best to be an example of Christ’s love for all. I fail often. usually i think about what I just did and know it could have been different. I often have a chance to respond or say a short word with someone. I pray that every chance I will get, will give me an opportunity to be pleasing to God

    Second, I can honestly say that I do not know the last time I have purposefully planned out an event to show an enemy God’s love. Every week, I am faced with people who hate God and hate me for being a Pastor. I often have chances to respond to them, but I am not sure I can even say that I can sit here and name an enemy. I am not one to hold onto grudges or list people that way, so that would be a tough one for me.

    Good Question!

  6. I’m glad this post is being discussed and commented upon.

    I was going to add mine but on researching about our ‘enemy’ (he is US!)

    i came across this: http://www.twoinstitutions.org/?p=176

    I don’t believe he says it BETTER than i can 😉 but he is probably coming from a place closer to where you folks are at than i am so it might just make more sense to y’all 😉

    I would just add…the REAL enemy may not be ‘flesh and blood’, but neither is it anywhere ‘out there’ (outside of ourself).

    And it certainly ain’t Oprah – although she may or may not be operating under the control of the enemy. 😉

    As for what do we do when the Christian Faith is attacked?

    Exactly as we do when it is not! – Live as Christ did!

    If the ‘attack’ is directed against you as a person do not just react in a knee-jerk fashion – stop, consider and act from Love (His Love) – engage with the person (show them the other cheek also), if they are willing, and walk away if they are not.

    If, like Oprah, the attack is to a wider ‘audience’ and possibly more perceived than real give your support to those who can deal with the issue on an equal footing (Church Heirarchy? Authorities on Christ on Earth?) – and perhaps write to the person you see as the ‘instigator/power’ making the attack expressing your personal views and that you will no longer support (by watching/listening to) anyone who shows such antipathy to your faith.

    Avoid that which causes you strife and anguish if you are not in a position to confront it directly.

    And bear not false witness against your neighbour.

    Make certain you have ALL the relevant facts and do not take someone else’s word for all that is being said by someone else (a third party).

    NE’er – To the best of my knowledge i do not have an enemy on earth – ‘outside’ of my self. I have made many attempts on my blog ‘brain drain’ to share God’s Love with ‘him’. 😉

    love <B

  7. Great words Love.

    “Make certain you have ALL the relevant facts and do not take someone else’s word for all that is being said by someone else (a third party).”

    This is a huge one for me. If you can’t talk to something 100% don’t talk at all. Forwarding an email means that you DO NOT know 100%. Study, check, recheck and even then, just leave it alone.

  8. I agree B, i have received more emil ‘forwards’ than i care to count and once i have looked into the topic being ‘railed’ against i have never yet found one that spoke ONLY the Truth – or ALL of it.

    I cannot recall one i have passed on to my email friends list (other than those that made me smile rather than think! 😉 )

    Most times i have written to the person who sent me the email asking them to look a little more closely into the issue and to pass the same back down the ‘line’ (many times these forwards are just evil ‘hoax’ mails initiated by mischievous intent that sucker people in very badly, spreading fear and intolerance and are spread through ignorance of this fact, or the actual facts, which are quickly determined many times via the ‘net).

    But i digress 🙂

    love <B

  9. 9 odgie

    Brent wrote: “I so desperately want to see the Christian community put down all their causes and truly be the image of Christ.”

    You have no idea how often I ponder this vision myself. And having been raised in (and still attending) churches of Christ, I see these disputes all of the time. Thank you for articulating my vision so well.

  10. Hey Brent, I like the posts, JVo’s included and the comment here. I remember receiving an email (the first I think as a Christian) on the first Harry Potter movie. Since then I’ve received many many Christian emails that I do nothing at all with… except delete. Some are meant to be inspirational, some funny, and some warnings (such as this example).

    I do not have the time to start attacking everything (and everyone) who may not be on the narrow road. I think you and others have said this very well already. We need to be about doing the Father’s work (which means we’re not about stomping on everything else).

    Someone (I think it was Tony Campolo) relayed a speaking event where he railed for several minutes on the evils in the world and intentionally got the Christian crowd worked up. Once he had them responding in unison (this is how riots and lynchings start btw) he made is penultimate point: “God must just hate this world!” To which the crowd responded “Yes!” Then he recited John 3:16.

  11. Wow…so the email I just used as a post is spouting hate? Some are worth the read and the warnings need to be heeded – Bonhoeffer tried to warn the church of the Nazi philosophy and eventually had to go underground. He was found, imprisoned and murdered for telling the truth, although it was percieved as hate.

    We need to speak the truth in love and not, by default, become appeasers. Amen?

  12. 12 TheNorEaster

    Regarding Comment #4.

    The quote should have read, “You are fed UP** with words…”

    Typo that. My bad.

  13. Odgie, you are definitely a kindred heart.

    Ric, I could believe that story about Campolo(if it was him). People allow themsleves to be swayed by popular opinion or fear of rejection. But Christianity is about rejection and unpopular opinion. We aren’t placed here to please the world…

    Hey Michelle. I would not classify a lot of the email I get regarding some of these causes as hate. A lot of the recent videos I have seen regarding Oprah I would classify as hate and anger towards her. not even what she is standing for. I was telling Darla(Overcomer) the other day that I really appreciated her tone in approaching these kind of issues. She got the email and video, took time to look it over, researched it and felt that she could share her concerns with her friends. Well done. I have not been over to your site to see your post, but I will stop by. My approach to this is my opinion, but it is one that I think needs to be heard by all of us and talked through. My post really has nothing to do with Oprah. It has everything to do with the Christian response to false teaching and to our own reactions.

    NorEaster, no worries, I think I read it that way. I have gotten used to all my own typos, that I often look over them now 🙂

  14. Ah, Michelle, your post is certainly not ‘typical’ of most of these mass e-mailings. In the first place, your writing requires a certain amount of thought and stimulates self reflection; no catchy phrases or animated angels. I probably would even read it if someone sent it to me. But I get so many of the type that the guys are talking about that chances are it would be deleted if it started with the phrase “pass this on to everyone you know (or love)”. Jeesh.

    Think of all the notable people who have given the “Christian” response (as illustrated by Jesus). More than a few weren’t even “Christians”. I think the mindset that you are opposing here, Brent, is not as trivial as some would think. Rather than setting an example for the ‘world’, this ‘righteous anger’ that is at the heart so much of the defensive rhetoric of the Church is the sinful yeast that ends up infecting the world. As John Lennon said, “Imagine no religion”. Imagine no Crusades, no pogroms, no Inquisition, no witch trials, no Northern Ireland, no Wounded Knee, no Holocaust…. I’m not saying that Christians should feel responsible for all these atrocities….wait a minute, yes I am.

  15. I would echo Christian, I just went over and read Michelle’s post and it is right on. Truly speaks to peace and our responsibility in it. Take a moment to read it.

    The Silent Majority

    Well done Michelle!

    “I’m not saying that Christians should feel responsible for all these atrocities….wait a minute, yes I am.”

    Christian I am in agreement here. Because I see a line that needs to be drawn in our rage against another person. I believe that many of these emails and such are no different than attacks anyone would get upon themselves. The ones that are to be peaceful and loving often become the ones that are angry and hateful.

  16. Hey, Brent, I wasn’t offended just wanted to clarify that there is a time to speak the truth boldly, in love. We need to have done our homework, as Darla did, as I have done, and speak when we know the Lord is leading. Thanks for the kudos – I can be a bit sensitive in regards to “righteous anger.” There is a time for everything…reference to Ecclesiastes. 😉

  17. I commented on Michelle’s post over at her site. But, yes – I think what she posted is hateful in that it presents a biased and one-sided view of the world. Ultimately it speaks of “protecting our own” – which is not even remotely “Christian” in my opinion.

    I agree wholeheartedly with Michelle’s assertion that we need to speak the truth in love. We also need to make sure what we are speaking IS truth – which I think is one thing Brent is trying to say here as well.

  18. Hey Bad, I have to go with intent here. I don’t believe Michelle’s intent was to classify a specific group of people, but instead to label a action in regards to a persons belief.

    Michelle can correct me if I am wrong.

    I wrote this on Michelle’s site,

    “I personally did not see the last statement as a reference to a specific group but more to a group of people in general that exist.

    Fanatical is an interesting word in that it can be taken as a bad thing. To be a fanatic does not mean you are wrong, it is all about intent and purpose. If the purpose is to do good then it is, if the purpose is to do bad then it is.

    Maybe the word fanatical can be perceived as hateful, but in this case I saw it used as a label not a classification.”

  19. There is nothing I can add here. Just bravos to this thread.

    b4dguy said it best:
    Hebrews 5:11-6:3 so that Ephesians 4:11-16

  20. To be clear, I don’t think Michelle’s intent is in question, but the intent of the originator of the post. I don’t know if we have the source (Michelle???) like we do with the Oprah video, so I don’t think we can really speak to the original intent. All we have left is how “it sounds” or comes across – which is highly subjective.

  21. BTW – what’s up with Oprah? What happened?

    Sincerely,
    Chris

    Somewhere on the Dark Side of the Moon

  22. I copied the post from my friend’s site:

    elyakatz.wordpress.com

    He is Jewish and writes to counter-balance the anti-semitism he sees in the blogosphere. He received the e-mail, I just passed it along. I am in agreement with the content, the point being, a silent majority can eventually be considered enemies as well, if they are hijacked by those they will not speak against. As is illustrated in ALL the church being condemned for the Crusades and the Holocaust…”the Church” is seen as the enemy when the true church – the body of Christ – weeps at what was done in His name.

  23. “a silent majority can eventually be considered enemies as well, if they are hijacked by those they will not speak against”

    I think this is powerful Michelle and speaks to what I red into this.

  24. Hey Big C, the original forwarded video/email in question was regarding Oprah and her “spiritual” journey with Eckart Toller.

    How’s the view up there 🙂

  25. Nothing like multi-threading. Let me revise my position on the email that Michelle posted. Turns out it is written by a Jewish holocaust survivor (at least it is attributed to him). The original context of his post is a reflection or a warning based on his life’s experience. I think that is valid. I suspect that the last two statements might be an editorial epilogue. If not, then I’m taking what he is saying completely out of context – my bad. (the penultimate statement is the only one I find objectionable, btw).

    It’s just that “looking out for your own” can be interpreted in several ways. The way that seems to be implied is for any particular religious/social group to police itself so that fanatical fringes can’t rise to power. Sounds good – but is that Christian?

  26. Bad, I’ve been following along with the discussion over there and am enjoying the dialogue.

    How did you find out what the writing was attributed too? Just curious. I have found many times that there is much editorial freedom in things that have been passed from one source to another. Often I may be thousands of people down the list from where the source is. Another caution in how we gain our information.

    Regarding “looking out for your own”. I think there is validity in standing on truth. If Jesus is the way, truth and life. we ned to stand on who He was and is and will be. We can’t allow that to be distorted. But as to “policing” it. I am not sure that is even possible.

    I go back to my contention in this. If we know the truth and display the truth, those preaching or living falsely will be clearly seen. If Jesus shines brightly…the opposite would be true.

  27. I simply googled the first paragraph and started finding other citings (mostly blogs). I finally picked up on a title, “A German’s Point of View on Islam” and from there began to find references to the author.

    I’m very skeptical of “official” writings on the Internet, so I remain doubtful that this is Dr. Tanay’s complete and unabridged work; more likely it is an excerpt from another work (maybe his book?) with or without some editorial ‘tweaking’ to turn it into an email.

    The person exists. Whether this is really his writing I have not been able to prove one way or the other. I think I’m going to get a copy of his book though, because it sounds like there is wisdom – if not just history – contained in its pages.

    I’m torn on the whole “looking out for your own” inasmuch as we “Christians” seem to spend an inordinate amount of time pointing fingers at one another rather than attending to the matters at hand. I agree that the bottom line should be focusing on fulfilling the “Big Three” commands, following the great commission, and little else. I believe these to be truth, so in that I agree with you. But still, I contend that we have often “killed” the REAL prophets when we thought we were eliminating the false ones…(this really disturbs me, quite frankly)

  28. Dark, real dark. And quiet. Sonic Firewall. Tell me more, Obiwan.

  29. Powerful thoughts Bad. I hear you.

    Christian if you said you were under a rock…I could probably some come back for you, but I don’t know where to go with this one 🙂

  30. Can we all agree on this? – Christ is The Way (for all who hear the Truth within Him?) – For me and for those of you who have similar ‘Faith’?

    Christ did only the Will of Him who Sent Him (he who sent us also!)

    We should always and only do the same!

    Christ spoke out – he spoke (God’s Truth/Love) to the masses who came to hear what he had to say.

    He spoke truth because he had perfected the man within and no sin was to be found within him – ahhh – slight problem there…

    How can we being sinful, speak truth only – from ‘right’ intent and understanding?? Are we being fed on milk? or on Meat? – and what are we feeding? Perfection or imperfection? – what then will be the likely result.

    Fanatics are NOT perfect in God – they merely try to be and fail horribly – just see their ‘fruits’ for proof!

    Those (majority) who are silent may just be cowed, afraid – or they may realise they are imperfect and should not speak out loudly as they may only increase misunderstanding.

    Some may feel they are ‘perfected’ in God, through Jesus.

    I have not met one yet who lives ONLY up to that standard. I see many who have been ‘redeemed’ from desperate situations through Jesus but i do not know of ONE who manages to be as perfect a man (woman) as Jesus.

    We still carry far too much of ‘us’ inside and not enough of Him!

    My aim (always) is to make us aware of that and the ways we can Overcome ‘ourself’ in order that we speak only His Truth – in Living Testimony not merely repeating ‘dead’ Scripture.

    In Worship has the Key – focus on discovering more of the perfect (man)and adopting that within us and ‘passing that on’ while also looking out for the ‘counterfeit’ that LOOKS like the real thing but is flawed – and burning it so it cannot currupt (us) anymore.

    The trick is…. 90% of the counterfeits are easy to spot – it is the other 10% – the very realistic looking/sounding ‘man’ that is where we might need to do the most work on removing from us…. the bits that do the most ‘damage’ to God’s Will.

    May you all continue to help others to focus on Him and remove the ‘self’ (old man) from within us.

    We have one perfect example -now see where we are ‘counterfeit’.

    Do you Truly Love? Him – or self? (‘our’ ‘way of life’???)

    Love <B

  31. “We have one perfect example -now see where we are ‘counterfeit’.”

    I like this Love!

  32. i took the inspiration from you there B 😉

    Great idea!

    love <B

  33. i’ve got to thank you, Brent. thanks to this thread – and the pointer over to Michelle’s thread – I’m now “met” 3 or 4 new people! (all HRC’s btw). The circle of blog is ever expanding…

  34. Human Resource Consultants?

  35. Bad, no problem. I love the fact that the community keeps growing. OK, but help me out…what is HRC?

    Christian…is this your guess?

  36. No, just attempting to blow out the fuse Badguy stuck on that particular fire cracker. 😉

  37. You know, I wondered if I picked up something I shouldn’t have 🙂

  38. OK b4dguy! You know we’re lurking out here and can read what you write!!

    Well, two of us (Michelle and Comic Fat 😯 I mean, Phat!)

    What exactly is HRC?? Hot red-headed cartoon!? “Hip real Christians” or did you mean RHC, “real hip Christians”? Oh snap, I blew it with that one!! 😆

  39. What with what Deb has written on my post and now this.. i am beginning to have suspicions there is something some folks are not telling me!??

    Nice try Chris, but i think that fuse is still smouldering? 🙂

    Holistic Roamin’ Crusaders? 😉

    Was i ‘close’?

    love <B

  40. 41 TheNorEaster

    inW:

    There is another quote by Gandhi. “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

  41. OK, I’m with Love here…I’m confused. but I shouldn’t be surprised.

    Sometimes, my sarcasm meter doesn’t work so well and I need the plain english…

    Nice pic there Christian 🙂

  42. NorEaster, I have heard that quote and think it is right on!

  43. HRC = Hard Rock Cafe

    That’s all I’m saying.

  44. You’re no bad guy at all. Wussie!

  45. b4d: lol – Tease! 🙂

    <B

  46. Bad, I’ll accept that one 🙂

  47. Brent- don’t. He’s lying. It stands for Hyp…..aaaaaaggggghhhhh!

  48. I think that’s why I was good with accepting Hard Rock Cafe 🙂

  49. Maybe it’s better if i don’t know???????? 😯

    you ok, Chris?

    <B

  50. There are two kinds of people in this world; those who get Monty Python and those who don’t.

  51. Christian I am emberassed to say…I missed it.

  52. I forgive you – if you tell me what I was referencing with my “aaaaaaaaggggghhhhhhh!”

    It still doesn’t help you with the HRC mystery. But….there is a clue on Michelle’s blog.

  53. Holy Grail!

    And “hyp” leads me down some pretty clear roads…

  54. Maybe not so clear. Depends upon what vowel follows. Or a consonant might fit, no that I think about it. But, perhaps it is best to leave it to rest. Especially since Badguy has run away from the mess he has laid on your doorstep. Wussie.

  55. I feel I may have stepped on a flaming bag…but I still love the guy 🙂

  56. Easy for you to say. You’ve never had to sit there all evening while he continues to force beer after beer on you. Really, it was quite discomfiting.

  57. Hahaha!!!!

  58. I am SO not used to Americans who know of , much less get, British Humour – First Hitch Hikers – now Monty Python – what next? The Goon Show?? (yeah – i thought that one would stop you!) 😉

    I’m still as in the dark as i was before btw.

    Or maybe, i know what you know but i don’t know that you know that what you know is what i know…

    and it seems like its gonna stay that way a while – unless B4dguy comes back and fess’s up??

    Oh, And Chris… My Heart bleeds for ya Guy! 🙂

    <B

  59. Let’s not forget Cooke and Moore. I will never forget Peter Cooke’s take on an Englishman auditioning for a Cole Porter musical and having to sing “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off” , never having heard it before. “You say potato and I say potato….”

    The Goon Show?

  60. ’50’s British radio show with Peter Sellers, Spike Milligan, Harry Secombe and Michael Bentine – oft repeated on radio there and Here in Aus – fore-runner to Monty Python – utter hysterical madness with many ‘catchphrases’. Much of the humour came from the many different character voices played by the four stars – was mostly written by Spike Milligan. If you ever find his book ‘Adolf Hitler – My Part in His Downfall’ you may get an idea of the comic genius he was, and of the tortured soul within – sadly passed away in Feb 2002.

  61. P.S. Cook and Moore: Fav scene – the one legged man auditioning for the role of Tarzan… “Your right leg is excellant, i have nothing against your right leg. Sadly, however, neither do you!” 🙂 )

    <B

  62. I’ll be looking that one up. Sounds great.

  63. If you mean the Goon Show – i was raised on it (repeats in 60’s 70’s)- that might explain a LOT! 😉

    <B

  64. Ah…the early George Carlin talks about Milligan’s influence on him. He even mimics some of his sound effects. Now I know who this guy is. Thanks.

  65. Okay. Who’s calling who a wussie and at the same time complaining about having beer “forced” on them? What’s the matter, C? Did you have a headache the next day? Given that I probably have 100lbs on you, maybe you shouldn’t have tried so hard to keep up with me!

    (for the record 1 beer/hr is not excessive for my height/weight).

    Cinco de Mayo is coming soon. How do you feel about margaritas? Or, what’s that green stuff Tam drinks? Doesn’t that have lime in it?

    HRC – Hardcore Radical Christian. How’s that?

  66. Never frozen, on the rocks, plenty of salt.

  67. C is now my best friend!

  68. Are you a grand marnier or triple sec type? (that’s for anyone…)

    Shoot, C – you’re in the food business. I’ll buy the materials, and you can make the margaritas! (and the burritos and nachos for that matter…)

  69. “Are you a grand marnier or triple sec type? (that’s for anyone…)”

    Depends what’s available…

  70. I can appreciate the upscale cordials but I am basically too cheap to indulge. Triple sec is cool with me as is most rail vodkas. But….I like to use Rose’s lime juice instead of sweet & sour.

  71. AS ARE! AS ARRRrrrrggghh!

  72. 73 tam

    ““Are you a grand marnier or triple sec type? (that’s for anyone…)”

    Boonesfarm!

    Oh yah!!! From back in the day when I lived in Misery, I mean Missouri. That’s right! Cheap “wine”. Cheap friends. Big Mac and Fries. A “smoke”. And a comfy couch on the porch!

  73. OK, b4dguy!

    Caught ‘ya!! Just read this…

    Someone said “reformed” – that’s the “R” in HRC, btw. Once everyone figures out what it means, I will need to apologize and ask for forgiveness for doing what we are saying we shouldn’t do – namely categorizing/labeling/putting people in a box.

    And now you say…Hardcore Radical Christian…

    But Christian said…”hyp” alluding to a vowel following…hyper?…hypo?…

    I’m calling you out!! ‘Fess up!! What box am I in?? What label have you bestowed upon me?? What firecracker needs to be blown out before it blows up??

    Don’t be a wuss…get it out…so we can commence to the apologies!!! 😆

    I am a Hyper-sensitive, Red-hot-red-headed, Cowgirl!! Now don’t mess with me!!

    Tam, how do you make the little devil smiley? 😉

  74. Haha!!! Bad’s getting called out!

  75. 76 tam

    Michelle

    to make the devil…

    colon evil colon

    👿

  76. Sounds like someone needs a doctor’s visit 🙂

  77. 👿 👿 👿

    It’s even biblical!! Three times means…”you better listen!”

  78. Thanks, Tam 🙂

  79. B4D – Come Out, Come Out – wherever you are….. 😉

    i never knew HRC had so MANY ‘wonderful’ correalations btw.

    Live and learn – Live and learn 🙂

    Hillary Rodham Clinton??? – Now THAT’s Evil! :colon:

    Oh! – Grand marnier! – (sweet tooth!)

    <B

  80. Maybe I should do a post on HRC and see how many different configurations of that acronym we can come up with 🙂

  81. Could be fun! – Confusing – but fun? 🙂

    I think b4d came close to fessing up over on Chris’s post?

    <B

  82. good morning all…

    Brent – maybe Tam should do the fill-in Friday thing by coming up with as many HRC meanings of which people can think.

    H = Hyper
    R = Reformed
    C = Calvinist

    Not necessarily ‘present company’, but they are out there…

    There, I fessed up. If I have offended anyone, I apologize.

  83. Oh…is that all? I can live with it – no apologies necessary. We’re good. 🙂

    Comic Phat and I were raised in a Holiness denomination where the scripture was rarely studied, we read it, we just didn’t study it. When we began studying in our mid-twenties (we’re 45) we allowed the pendulum to swing the other way. We found we were more in agreement with Calvin than Wesley – although we don’t agree with all 5 points, actually haven’t even studied them. Phat says if Calvin’s 5 points = TULIP then Wesley’s theology = DAISY (He loves me, He loves me not, He loves me, He loves me not…) 😉

    So, back to the original point of the discussion, I guess, labels never do justice to the whole.

  84. Flowers can be beautiful. But they are only one very minuscule part of nature. Springtime is so much like the promise of God – after the deadness of winter there is resurrection and life, and no words can do it justice. God just loves us – ALL of us – ALWAYS.

  85. Amen, Christian, amen. 😉

  86. Dangit!!! I had Hippos Running Crazy…

    Oh well, I am glad we didn’t host a pool.

    Michelle, you have heard my heart, thank you!

    Christian, you always know how to finish off a nice evening…group hug!

  87. Hyper Reformed Calvinist??? I must be SO under-informed! 😦

    Thanks B4D!

    <B


  1. 1 “Your Third Place May Be My Second Place” and other things that entertain me right now… « Faith, Love, and Rock and Roll as Told by The Brown Kid