In Memory…

02Apr08

Tam and I are on our headed to Portland tomorrow AM. I wish it were for better reasons.

This last Sunday PM the step son of one of our sound tech’s was killed in a car accident. We are headed to be with the family and to celebrate Ben’s life at his memorial.

Ben had recently graduated from George Fox and was also recently married. He was 26 and had a heart of gold. He was one of those people you wanted to be around. I had a chance to hang out with him a bit when he lived here in Southern Oregon and he was a blast. Sense of humor and always had a smile on his face. He also was a great musician and artist.

Ben died a hero. I need to explain some of the accident so you’ll understand. Ben and his wife were caught in a hail storm while driving on Sunday PM. There car slipped of the road down an embankment. They were OK and climbed up to the road to get help. It was there, another car, driven by a friend lost control and headed towards them. Ben pushed his wife out of the way saving her and was struck by the car and died at the scnen because of his injuries.

I can’t begin to imagine the emotions his wife and family are feeling. I can’t begin to imagine what his friend who drove the other car is going through. I pray that even in his last moments, Ben’s life will always be a positive impact on them and something they can celebrate! Keep everyone in your prayers.

I’ve attached a song that Ben and his little brother Andrew had just written and recorded together a couple of weeks ago. They played all the instruments and Ben recorded it. Maybe in honor, you can listen through.

EDIT: Hey gang, I pulled the song down for now, to make sure that all the copyright is in place. Ben’s younger brother wanted to make sure Ben’s work is protected and I agree. if everything works out, I’ll get it back up soon…


17 Responses to “In Memory…”

  1. Brent,
    I am so sorry to hear this. I’m praying right now for everyone involved.
    The song is tremendous. I’ll continue to pray.

  2. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (((hugs)))

    I’m going to link his sister to this.

  3. That was a very moving song. Words are not adequate for such a tragedy.

  4. Thanks for the thought, prayers and comments! It is awesome to pay tribute to someone!

  5. This sucks.

    I pray it is well with the survivors’ souls.

  6. 6 TheNorEaster

    inW:

    If there isn’t a grief support group already at their church, please check “griefshare.org” to find one nearby and pass along the information to the survivors as politely and as respectfully as possible at some point in the days ahead.

    Been there a million times myself. And I cannot stress enough the importance of a group like GriefShare. It presents a realistic portrayal of the process of grieving from a Christian point of view. No lectures, no nonsense. But it does give one “PERMISSION to let grief happen”.

  7. The loss is our tragedy along w/his family. The Miracle is he was able to keep his wife safe! Mama and I have been praying!

  8. 8 TcH

    Brandy told me you had one of Ben’s songs on here. Im glad I came in to listen. That was really awesome. Very moving. He was a very talented guy. :- (

  9. Thanks again guys.

    Teresa I am glad you came by. ben was a great young man!

    Noreaster, thanks for the info on griefshare.org When I talk to me friend tomorrow I will follow up and see what is happening with this. I would be happy to share that resource with them. Thank you!

  10. Prayers for your strength and love in this difficult time for your family B – that you can pass some on to Ben’s when you visit.

    Sad loss!

    I read Matt 7 (verse three and the rest) this AM and felt it had an appropriate message.

    No-one ever knows what God has in store for us, our friends or family. We just need to trust that His Will is superior to our own and His Plan is working the way He wants it to.

    And pray that we accept them over time and maybe one day we see the reasons for the things that occur throughout our life here.

    love <B

  11. Praying for all today…this is heavy on my heart.

  12. Love, I pray the same thing.

    Thanks Darla, I know they can use your prayers!

  13. My heart is heavy, although I am rejoicing that Ben is now where we all long to be. Close to the Father.
    Please give “B” my cell number if you feel led, let him know that he can call me anytime, day or night. I will for the next couple of months leave it on 24/7.

    I am praying for you all.

  14. Thanks Theressa! I let Karen, Barry’s wife know about your willingness to be an ear. She will let us know what Barry is needing. He will be back in town next week and he and I are going to catch up, so we’ll see.

    The service was wonderful!

  15. hey brent – chelan here! ‘member me? ricky & i were wondering if this particular soundman @ trf u mention, is Barry. ricky acted like ‘of course, who else?’ but it’s been a while since we’ve been there – like there’s no soundman turnover there in many yrs …so we were jus wondering. if so, our hearts go out to him. ps – once in a while i read u & tam’s blog, but you write too much – who has the time?!?! :o) i may read an entry if it doesnt go past the page, but good luck w/that! no like scrollbar.

  16. Hey Chelan, how are you guys?

    Yes, it was Barry’s son. Thanks for the prayers, I will let him know you’ve responded.

    Thanks for reading…even if we make you use the scroll bar sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Tell Ricky to change your screen resolution, that will help ๐Ÿ˜‰


  1. 1 Portland…Sushi…Friends and Memories « inWorship

