Him vs. Her…Dinner

26Mar08

How she does Dinner…

img_0181.jpg

How he does Dinner…

img_0180.jpg

56 Responses to “Him vs. Her…Dinner”

  1. For crying out loud, WHERE’S THE MUSTARD!!!?!?!?!?

  2. I think both meal offerings have wonderful appeal. But Brent, there are two problems with your fare that I must point out:

    1.) An orange <i<plastic cup? For heaven’s sake, why?

    2.) The dye they use in Cheetohs (and many other ‘orange’ foods) can produce the most persistent of stains. Surely, as a parent, you must know this. (No ‘orange’ foods are allowed to be consumed in our automobiles). Can you imagine what the inside of your digestive tract looks like?

    With your proclivity for ‘orange’ with your meals I am surprised to see ketchup and not mustard on your frankfurters. (At school we count ketchup as a vegetable, btw)

  3. 3 kim

    I’m shocked. SHOCKED. And also I think I have the same glassware as you (if this is in fact your home…).

  4. Alright, I am a HUGE ketchup fan…but I also love good mustard. I am not a plain mustard dude though. I like something thick and spicy. We don’t have anything like that in the house right now…so ketchup it is!

    Christian, I love Cheetos and Cheese Puffs. Maybe it is an Orange thing. But, I also have those cups in Green, Purple and Red. Ketchup is a vegetable??? Sugar is a vegetable??? Yikes!

    Kim…are you shocked that I am using Ketchup πŸ™‚

  5. Ummmm Brent, seriously, a hot dog w/o mustard and relish is no hot dog at all πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

    At first I thought you were at a restaraunt and my first thought was “I wonder how many weird looks they get from people when they take pics of their food all the time?” heehee πŸ˜†

    Tammy, no oreos for dinner? Or KFC? πŸ˜‰

  6. UUUUUHHHHHHHH??? Whats wrong with that? I think ours looked similar recently…and that salad looks mighty tasty…and hotdogs make my boy smile!

    Scotts grandpa would have sat down to that and said wonder what the rich people are eating? and then answered ..”this”. hahaha rich in grace

  7. And grapes. In the vinegar.

  8. Brent, that’s just wrong…

    Crunchy Cheetos, man! Crunchy!

  9. 9 kim

    No, I’m shocked that the hot dog buns are not wheat.

  10. Brent, your plate looks like mine use to. Tam’s plate looks like mine does now. Diabetic, must count carbs. 😦

    I could eat the hot dogs but not the rolls and cheeto’s. For me hot dogs and burgers are outdoor food, with lots of chili on both. After eating all the chili I do have to stay outside for a while. πŸ™‚

  11. Man, since watching the annual hotdog eating contest last Summer, while at a RESTAURANT … I can’t ever look at them the same, watching that little dude gag, spewing koolaid and hotdog buns … I’ll take the salad! (the cheetos look promising, though)

  12. Bran, your just off sometimes πŸ™‚

    Darla…I love what your grandpa would say!

    Christian…what? Are we talking about what is considered a vegetable…

    Cool Dad, I am a crunchy dude, but my son is a puff dude. I usually lose out…

    Kim, do they make wheat buns πŸ™‚

    Ed, Chili is most definitely the best way…Love it!

    Fred, I would have the same issue if I were on your shoes…but I’m grateful I was not there πŸ™‚

  13. I’ll buy you the Dijon mustard. Let me do this for you!!

  14. Ric, send it on down …but make it spicy!

  15. Hot dogs or turkey dogs? I’ve switched to turkey dogs. Does that make me less of a man? I do put ketchup AND mustard on it.

  16. Hey Casey! I love…love…love the Hebrew National Hot dogs. they are Kosher Beef and GOOD!!! I don’t mind other kinds, but I love the kosher beef ones. they BBQ really well too.

  17. Wow I learn something new here all the time…Beef and Kosher can be used together..I never knew! I am slightly sheltered 😯

  18. 18 Cheryl

    Hmmm… Vinny, where are the onions, hot dog relish and hot sauce???

    Tam, that was just the prelude right, you snarffed some Oreos later right??? πŸ˜‰

  19. Oh yah, that’s another thing…I don’t do relish…

  20. 20 Heidi

    Those better be Flamin Hot Cheetos!!! Everyone is talkin Mustard, Where’s the relish and the onions.

    Tam’s dinner is the bomb too. A little low on the croutons. πŸ™‚

    Here’s an idea.. just for tonight trade dinners!!

    Guess what? I have those plates!!!

  21. 21 tam

    I only eat Oreos when i’m sick. Which is why I never lose weight when I’m ill like the rest of the planet!!! DANG!!!!

    Im venting! the codeine is kickin in!

  22. Ok – you ‘stung’ me the last time (with the soap bottles) – i ain’t fallin for it again…

    Do you WANT your son to die before you guys do??

    Force the little sucker to eat what his sis does – it’s for his own good! πŸ™‚

    love the ‘vegetable’ discussion πŸ™‚ you do realise there is probably more breadcrumbs in the hot dogs than the buns – right?

    The thing that is REALY wrong with those photo’s, diet-wise, is the total lack of CHOCOLATE!!! 😯

    D – Beef can pass the test but if someone tries to sell you Kosher Pork you may have a problem!

  23. Love, I assure you. that was my plate of food. My son’s only had one dog on it πŸ™‚

  24. I with the others here. Your dogs are stark nekkid (that how we say it in TX). Slap some chili and onions on those things to hide their shame! And some tots, not those orange, legless-caterpillar looking things! If you must have cheese, then tater tots swimming in cheddar!

    Heart attack you say? That’s the risk you take, my friend.

  25. Jeff, Chili is my number one choice for a dog…but we had none at the time. And Tots ROCK! Hey Tam, we gotta get some tots next time we shop πŸ™‚

  26. Heidi you were lost in spam world…I’ve got you out now!

    Tam only eats like that right after she’s been sick and eats a ton of oreos πŸ™‚

  27. Ahh – so clearly then you DO plan on ‘passing over’ before your #1 Son – i’m gussing (if that is anything like a ‘regular’ meal over at the In house) that it will be a close thing though!!!

    Ughh-h-h-h-h-h!

    That actually is the only meal i have seen that makes Macca’s look Healthy by comparison – THINK about that some! (the Roscoe’s pic came close – but at least there were no snouts and entrails posing as ‘meat’, or industrial chemicals posing as carbs/vege’s – Sheesh!)

    Chris – you’re a Chef can’t you do SOMETHING for this lost soul???

    Or is poor taste endemic in the US?

  28. Love, “blessed assurance” was one of my favorite hymns growing up…but I am not sure I can give that to you here πŸ™‚

    I have dogs about once every 2 months…definitely not a regular thing. Actually Tam is quite the chef and trats us all well. We generally have something “better” for us. I think this was one of the left over or whatever we have nights.

    I am not sure Christian could do anything about it. Pretty much anything you do to make dogs better…makes them “worse” for health πŸ™‚

  29. Brent’s right. If the dog’s of a good pedigree then it can’t be beat. Hebrew National, Nathans, Bahama Mama’s even good old fashioned Oscar Meyer wieners on a good bun with good condiments (ketchup is for burgers, Brent) can make a great feast. And then we have brats and kielbasa…. Just stay away from those blasphemies called chicken dogs and turkey franks. Next thing you’ll be eating ‘turkey bacon’. Just ain’t no such thing.

  30. Amen πŸ™‚

  31. I know Tam’s a gotta be a great cook and i trust her ‘taste’ and love for her family – so maybe there is hope for you after all! πŸ™‚

    In case i’m coming across as ‘holier’ than thou – we have Hot Dogs (never with the ‘cheapy’ red deli-chain franks) Perhaps once every 6 weeks or so for a lunch ‘treat’ (of dubious taste, i know, but we all have our weaknesses don’t we? πŸ˜‰ )

    I have to say though, along mudpuppy’s lines – where are the ONIONS???

    Now They ARE a TRUE vegetable – frying them just makes em mouthwatering! πŸ™‚

    Those yellow maggot-looking things though are seriously so not good for you – even in teeny doses!! Even choloclate-covered, deep-fried vege’s have to be better on your plate than those?

    It’s a sad truth that much of supposedly ‘First’ world countries are teaching/letting their children (or worse letting their kids insist upon/training their parents to let them!) eat those things as a major part of their diets – it can only end in tears.

    Can i just point out that when Christ said it was not went into our mouths that defiles us – there were no fast-food joints in His day and all food – even the preservatives and ‘colouring’ – were completely natural.

    He’d certainly have a different perspective on that theme today – i’m convinced of that! πŸ™‚

    love <B

  32. Love I agree…on all accounts.

    I love healthy food and unhealthy food and I need to learn to be better at focusing on the healthier.

    By way of the onions…I really like onion flavor and taste. I don’t mind onions in foods, but i am not a big onion guy on burgers and dogs. I like sweet onions, but not strong ones. I used to hate them on everything, but I enjoy them much more now.

    Can you imagine if the US said no to preservatives! It would dramatically increase our health. Of course it would probably dramatically crash our economy as well.

  33. With beef, only the chuck and brisket cuts are considered kosher. The rest can be made kosher but it is a long and tedious process. (I am not a Kosher Deli expert but I could be wrong. I just know about the chuck and brisket cuts because I use kosher brisket to make corned beef/pastrami.)

    With that said, Hebrew Nationals for the win!

  34. Cool! πŸ™‚

    In my experience ALL onions are sweet! – no, i’m not weird (well don’t have too weird taste buds anyways)

    As i am sure Chris can attest – it is all in the cooking! (yeah – raw is ‘best’ but then onions can taste just ‘wrong’ – unless you know how to pickle them properly – like me!)

    If you bake a brown onion for around the same time you bake a jacket potato (don’t use a microwave – use the oven!) you would be amazed just how sweet they become – like they were sugared almost!

    Frying can also ‘caramelise’ the sliced onion to bring a similar sweetness out in the flavour – use butter or olive oil.

    Imagine if the US said ‘NO’ to preservatives??

    It is a constant dream of mine Bro!

    There are so many other ways the US could make a profit from than sticking those poisons in our food (colourings included) if they just had a conscience instead of a ‘profit at all costs’ motive.

    Want to help me carry the banner in protest?? πŸ™‚

    love <B

  35. Those hot dogs look naked! Even Mama said wheres the relish and onions! THose babies are artery cloggers! Tam – hows your list coming we discussed?

  36. Hot Dogs and Cheez-doodles!?

    Ketchup…on hot dogs!?

    What are you 8?!

    Your doctor must look at you as an investment in the future.

    R.

    PS I’ll have what Tam is having! However, that Caesar salad is missing freshly shaved Parmengina Reggiano!

  37. Okay I am freaking starving now!!!!!!!! It’s earlier than I care to be up and I am STARVING…..and reading all this talk about food….. so not nice. πŸ˜†

    The tots topic had me giggling….”you gonna eat your tots?” said in my best Napoleon Dynamite voice. heehee πŸ˜†

    Also, Love, seriously, you are RELENTLESS!!! HAHAHA! πŸ˜† I couldn’t stop laughing!!! πŸ˜‰

    “what are you, 8?” ah ha ha ha ha ha!!!! Exactly what I was thinking Robert! heehee

  38. was Tam STILL in her PJs???

  39. 39 tam

    Yes Mandy, I WAS still in my PJ’s! “You-ALL” got a problem with that? 😯

    R – I eat the shredded Parmesan right away. It IS the best part of the salad! πŸ˜‰

    Papa – I only have 1 on my list so far… I need to get out more often?

    And about what Vinny’s Doctor might have to say about this…who would know! Vinny doesn’t have physicals. OR life insurance

    😐

  40. Tam said:

    “And about what Vinny’s Doctor might have to say about this…who would know! Vinny doesn’t have physicals. OR life insurance”

    Hey Vinny

    God does watch over you….he does want you to see a doctor now and then too. πŸ˜‰

    R.

  41. HAHA that is an amazing dinner bro. But try this sometime.

    A Digiorno pizza, not the personal size, but the big one. The 1500+ calorie pizza loaded with toppings that can be found in the fridge in addition to those on the pizza. Oh man what a treat!! You won’t have to eat for two days after one of those πŸ™‚

    However, the salad does look good too… gotta hand it to whoever built it (built?). Looks mighty tasty.

    ER

  42. Evan, thanks for the compliments πŸ™‚

    There is a place in town called Wild River Brewing. I LOVE their grilled chicken salads. they have this amazing smoked chicken and incredible ranch and honey mustard dressing. SO…I do eat salads sometimes πŸ™‚

  43. 43 tam

    “I LOVE their grilled chicken salads.”

    yes! but 9 out of 10 visits you get the Pepperoni and Cheese Stuffed Calzone

    😯

  44. 44 tam

    OH

    AND a Brew!

  45. Or the burgers…Mmmmmmmm!

    Hey, I got a salad last time. I’m on a roll πŸ™‚

  46. 46 tam

    a salad ON A ROLL!

  47. Hey Love…I just found you in spam. Considering how healthy you are…that’s kind of funny πŸ™‚

  48. I was wondering about that B – figured i had not hit send before closing the comment window?? – Thanks!

    “SO…I do eat salads sometimes” PICTURES bro – i need PICTURES! – preferably with some on your fork as it enters the mouth.

    “OH

    AND a Brew!” hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! I love it! πŸ˜‰

    Hey Bran – never heard of Napoleon Dynamite over here? Shouldn’t it be Napoleon Blown-aparte???

    Spam is a highly under-rated source of nutrition! πŸ™‚

    love <B

  49. lose the bun, cheese puffs and ketchup…and that’s a perfect “betes” meal.

    I do love me the hot dogs.

  50. Neil, I am such a SUCKER for the dough! Hey, I am honored your over here on a Thursday, aren’t I a Wednesday blog read πŸ™‚

  51. 51 kotaincahoots

    That is so cool πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  52. Like Father – Like Son! (or should that be t’other way ’round??)

    Sigh!

    love <B

  53. My son has impeccable taste πŸ™‚

  54. In Parents – agreed!

    In Food – oh dear :-|X|

    Love <B

  55. Haha!


  1. 1 My Weekend Off… « inWorship

