To That Special Person On Valentines Day

13Feb08

I Remember Valentines Day in elementary school. We would buy those little cheap packs of cards, usually based on a popular movie or cartoon (I grew up in the Star Wars era, so I had those), and we would write each of our classmates names on them. We would attach a little piece of candy with tape. Then we would hand them out that day to all the kids in class.

There were never enough cards in the pack (cause there is always 25 kids and 20 cards and Mom would make me pick just one pack), so you would carefully decide which kids would not be receiving a card from you. They wouldn’t notice anyway, cause they were getting stuff from other people.

There was of course always that one person. The one that you spent a little more time writing the card out for. You probably said a couple more things on the card, or at least something endearing like, “with love”. You could say that on Valentines Day, it wasn’t too weird, it was kind of expected. You’d make sure that this person got the best piece of candy. Probably the one you would have chosen. When you handed out the card, you would place all the classmates cards on their desk, even if they weren’t there at the time. But, you would make sure to personally hand this one special person their card. You wanted them to notice that they were special to you. You wanted them to know you were thinking of them the most.

Since those days, I have always seen valentines day as a day to notice that one special person. As a guy, you want the day to be special for your girl, but every year it gets a little harder. You don’t want to be average or do something you’ve already done.You hear about things that other guys are doing for their girls and the closer and closer you get to the actual day, the more disappointed you get that you did not do the best thing you could have, or you didn’t have the money to get the right thing or take them to the right restaurant. They are always appreciative, but in the back of your mind, you keep thinking, “I could have done better.”

This Valentines Day, I have thought of all these things. But when it all comes down to it, I have only one thing on my mind. I am married to the most beautiful, loving, patient, passionate and Godly woman in the world (no offense to other ladies. I am sure you are lovely, but my wife ROCKS!). I want this one person to know how special she is to me. I want to do everything perfect for her. I want to be bigger and better. I want her to get the best piece of candy and I am definitely giving her the card in person.

Tammy, today, I think of only one person, because today is a day to celebrate the person I love and care for the most. I will fail in accompishing my expectations, but I have you to cover that, because you have far exceeded any standards or expectations I could have ever set for a girl in my life.

Tammy, I thank God for you, You are that special person that I celebrate today.

I love you!

9 Responses to “To That Special Person On Valentines Day”

  1. I heart you

  2. apparently no one else does

    😆

  3. What? I thought your’s was the response…not the question…

    I heart you too 🙂

  4. hearts all the way around! one big happy family heart! Happy V day B…you totally rock writing this stuff..and Tam share some of that activa with a candle . 🙂

  5. Vinny – always find special ways to make Tam know she is special!

    In 1997 I drove non-stop from Michigan to Florida (1200 miles) to surprise Mama at a Valentine party with a corsage. I will let mama finish the “story” below.

    This is Mama: Well he sure did surprise me.!! He had told me he was in Michigan so I didn’t believe it was him when he showed up. I was glad to see him but at first I wouldn’t go to the door as I said it couldn’t be him because he was in Michigan. Come to find out my Mom knew he was going to show up at the party but of course she didn’t tell me because he had her promise not to say anything.. Jim is full of nice surprises. Life is interesting to say the least. 🙂 You all have a great ending of a beautiful day.

  6. Awww! Mama, Papa – I absolutely adore you!!! I love your stories. I love your wisdom. I love that the life you have led has been such an expression of Gods love. And now you’re extending it to all of us! You two are a huge blessing to us and so many others!

    Much love!!!

  7. Thanks Darla, I hope your day was as special as mine. Of course that all happened because of the people we get to spend it with 🙂

    Indian Lake Papa, I love your stories and Mama it is GREAT to meet you! I love that there is still a spark and the element of surprise in your relationship. i think that will always make it healthy. Thank You!

  8. Awww that is the sweetest post I’ve ever read! My husband is sweet, but he usually picks out the card that says what he would like to say to me. You know…letting the hallmark writer do all the hard work, and then he signs it with “love”. Although I know the words are from him, I have to laugh every time. This last birthday though…he actually made his own card and wrote it out himself. YAY…progress! I’m so glad you wrote this for Tam. You two are so lovely!

  9. Thanks bkessed1 🙂



