The Next President Will Be A Hero

01Feb08

Our next President is being heralded as a possible hero. Our world is in turmoil. There are broken agreements nation to nation. There are murky waters in the fight against global warming. There is a war taking place to fight for or against war. This next president could be our saving grace. Or not.

Our next President will have a chance to preach change, but will they have the ability to lead it. Our next President(after listening to debate) sees what is wrong with our country, but will they have the ability to lead us where we need to go. When we take polls, we find that our country has many different views and opinions. How is a President to help all of us. My guess is they won’t. They can’t. Everyone will not get their wishes dealt with. My guess is that we will have another President that does some things we like and does some things we hate and we’ll no quicker want this one out than the last(depending on which camp your in).

Some things I find interesting. Even though we as a country want to cease all talk and action of oppression or racism, we are quick to point out that the next President may be a woman or black…interesting. We are begging for honesty and authenticity, but I haven’t seen it, I’ve seen arguments and politics…why? I’ve never understood why we fight against something to make our point. America…WAKE UP…quit taking sides…grow some hair on your back and just vote for what you believe is right…NOT against what you don’t.

I hear that the next President could be a hero. If politics are involved…they’re just a business manager. Maybe a good one, but that’s all they’ll be. I think this country is less interested in oil, gay marriage and illegal aliens, than it is in relationship with our neighbors, caring for the needy and using our amazing resources for aid. Are we really all about our benefit? We’ve been given liberty and freedom and we’ve chosen to use it by hording and fighting our way to our best interest. Sad.

Will our next President be a hero…no. Is there a chance that they could be a great leader…yes.

Do we as a country need a hero or a leader???

45 Responses to “The Next President Will Be A Hero”

  1. A good strong leader will probably go down in history as a hero..seems to me we need one person to do both..honestly I am not seeing who seem to multitask well..or even talk the main issues, I am still undecided, and praying hard about it.

  2. I am getting more convinced as time goes by I should have run for president. The general election does not appear “pretty” at this time. “Papa for President” – sounds good to me.

  3. We need a great leader. If he/she succeeds, then, as Darla observed, history will take care of the hero part.

    Then again, McCain already is a hero; if he wins I hope that will contribute to making him a great leader (this is not an endorsement of McCain, just an observation).

  4. America needs a nation of heros. If that happens it won’t matter who our leader is.

    America has had Presidents who were heros. Franklin D. Roosevelt lead our nation through the Great Depression and World War II. His politics can be argued. That the nation survived two of the greatest threats to it’s existence during his leadership can’t be.

    Somewhere in America is another FDR. Will our nation elected a hero like Roosevelt again? I believe we will. I can’t say when.

  5. I completely agree with you guys that if he/she is a good leader, he/she will probably be a hero.

    Ed – Don’t you think the reason FDR was a hero was because of how he lead the nation through something happening at that time? Aren’t we as a country heading farther and farther away from the standards, morals and ideals that we had when FDR was President. And if so, how do we ever find a person to lead that way again and will the people even follow?

    Something to think about when voting for the next President. How would they lead us if/when we deal with World War III?

  6. I am an optimist. That is my bias.

    As a child I was taught to hid under my desk in the event of an A bomb attack. I quickly learned not to trust everything adults told me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I look at the America I grew up in, the smartest back people operating elevators, women staying in the kitchen where they belonged :), and to my eyes progress has been made.

    I look at all the heros I meet everyday, the cops, the volunteers who help the poor, the brave men and women in the armed forces prepared to sacrifice their lives for their country. One of these heros would make a great President. One day in the future such a hero will be in the White House again.

    My confidence isn’t in the office of the President. It’s in the heros I see very day in our streets.

  7. “My confidence isnโ€™t in the office of the President. Itโ€™s in the heros I see very day in our streets.”

    Ed, you nailed it. This is my point. We should not be looking for a hero when we elect the next President. we should be looking for a great administrator and leader. Someone that can take care of what we are giving to him/her to take care of.

    “We the people” are the ones that run this country, operate it and pay for it. we are the ones that have the say. we are the ones that have the ability to create and organize culture. when I watch the debates and the news right now, all I see is interest in finding someone that can be the next great face. We have to be stewards of this country first before we can claim to be leaders of the world.

  8. I agree completely with that last statement Ed made too!

    We are the ones who need to be rolling up our sleeves, getting out into our communities and “being” the difference!

    B, is right, we run the country. We fuel it. We set the tone. We have so much power to do so much good. I’m not interested in being a “hero” – I’m interested in seeing us flourish as a nation and standing on our own feet supporting one another regardless of our differing views. We don;t need the Presidents permission to do this. We need to simply begin…

  9. I see once again we are on the same page.

    Whose doing the moving work will your here posting comments? ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. We are taking a down day in the midst of the chaos. i have to still do some cleaning at the old house, but i will do that next week. everything is moved in here, now it’s just a matter of hanging, attaching and putting away. that will take some time ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. “Whose doing the moving work will your here posting comments?”

    We’re in the denial stage now Ed…

  12. 12 Cheryl

    I like the thought of it takes all of us.

    But this election thing is taking sooo longgg! Ugh!

  13. I’m pretty sure our next president will let us down.

  14. My biggest fear is that we as a people have waited too long long and have sat by too quietly while this whole country has gone off the deep end. It’s gonna take generations to get this mess straightened out. I hope our kids have it in them!

  15. Vince – I am sure your right. I don’t know how he/she could live up to everyone’s expectations. thanks for stoping by. I love your blog…I’m an avid reader. I guess i should quit lurking and say hey sometime.

    Scott – I think the key is with us. we can make anything happen. Of course the God we serve is powerful enough to restore and forgive ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. 16 Sean

    I love all of the comments made here. All of this conversation makes me wonder if there is any way to really instill in the politicians the original sense of being in politics or being a ‘public servant’. A political office was never intended to be an occupation but to be a temporary way of serving our community, a fact that seems to have been forgotten as they go through their day-to-day affairs. I wonder if we started there if that would make any difference. Again this is just a random musing. I am totally aware of the fact that changing the mindset of politicians is a losing proposition! haha

  17. We need a hero and a leader….His name is Jesus. If and when He ever gets elected back into our country…there will be quite a difference in how things are run…

    I really hate feeling the way I do at times, that things will never really change, and just continue to worsen. It seems defeatist and final to me…..

    Whatever may happen in this next election, I can rest in the fact that it was predestined before the beginning of time, and one step closer to seeing Him face to face…..that brings me great joy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. If the proper mind set is in place..then we know that God is in control regardless of who or what takes over our country. It is all just one step closer to the return of Jesus. I am reminded that the worse it gets the more I should rejoice that I have a home that is perfect and I am just not there yet. We do have to set the example and set wheels in motion to show our children the right way to go, but ultimately we need to pray and pray and pray, that is where the power is and the privilege.

  19. waz up Vinny?

  20. thanks for the love

  21. You’ve been tagged, you’ll have to come over and see wasup.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Sean, you mentioned something that I think most elected officials forget. they are “Public Servants”. they are there to do the will of the people. that doesn’t stop when the voting is done. it’s not as if we said…we choose you…and then they do whatever they want.

    GG, you said it perfectly. I already have a hero. I don’t want a hero, I want a good leader that is filled with character and morals. You and Darla are correct in that, this will all take place in one way or another, We need to continue to pray and raise our children and lead from right where we are at.

    I’ll check the tag GG ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. 23 Jason

    “If the proper mind set is in place..then we know that God is in control regardless of who or what takes over our country”

    I think Darla totally hit it out of the park. If one looks at FDR, his leadership characteristics brought a miserable monetary policy and a variety of centralized economy which prolonged the Great Depression by several years. The real economic nadir was in 1938, not 1929-30, resultant from very bad economic vision. But those same characteristics made him a ferocious wartime leader, exactly what we needed in wartime, taking every step necessary to win, an iron hand on the flow of information, willing to participate in the sort of skullduggery which is anathema in our nanny culture. As well, the America of the early 20s, perhaps, would not have understood the kind of sacrifice necessary to beat the Axis powers. But certainly the America of the early 30s understood sacrifice in a way that nearly no industrial society has known. And whether people like it or not, one of the chief reasons that the depression went on for so long, and thereby, quite sadly, people really understood what was at stake, is that FDR was a miserable economist.

    God works all things together for his purposes.

    Look also at the confluence of the OPEC issue of the early 70’s, the rise of Cardinal Watolya who was soon to be named, Pope John Paul 2 and his fearless vision of liberty and justice and love (followed shortly by โ€œSolidarityโ€ and Lech Walesa), Watergate which resulted in Carter and his miserable leadership and, again, economics, which led to Reagan, the surprising rise of the reformer Gorbachev to General Secretary after the politbureau was left unprepared in matters of leadership after the very quick deaths of , Andropov and Chernenko, and how these economics, social issues, politics and spirituality merged to give oppressed people in the eastern bloc a vision of something beyond peace from the barrel of an AK-47 and centralized economics oppressing and starving millions of people. God works all things for his purposes.

    Lastly, both Lincoln and Lee, though they each individually felt that the Lord was on their side at the beginning of the Civil War, in retrospect saw 500,000 dead and the destruction of so much as proper divine justice for the governmental and societal acceptance and/or endorsement of the horror of slavery. Which should make one wonder about abortion.

    Be strong in Christ and in his sovereignty.

  24. Agreed Jason.

    I think it will be interesting to look back one day and see how it all pieced together perfectly. I hope we get that chance. I would love to have God show us how it all worked together.

  25. How sad are you? ๐Ÿ˜‰ oh I mean ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  26. About what?

  27. About the game. lol

  28. Are you kidding. That was awesome! Tam is the Patriots fan. I wanted Green bay, so i was rooting for the Giants.

    I am very happy ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHH!!! hahahaha!! Well YEAH then! HEEHEE.

    I rubbed it in on her blog. ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha!

  30. I painted the boys’ faces with NYG and GO GIANTS! It was soooo cute! I’ll have to get a picture up. My batteries were dead so I asked my MIL to take a pic of them. Hopefully she got a good one. I watched the game alone at home sorting clothes for the move. Jake and the boys went to his parents. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  31. Some peace and quiet.

    Bet the boys looked cute!

  32. I’ll bet Vinny is also very happy. He must have had at least 20 “large” on the Giants.

  33. Vinny doesn’t like to talk about his investments…

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Vinny said:

    Vinny doesnโ€™t like to talk about his investmentsโ€ฆ

    Robert the monkey says:

    I’ll ready the cement goulashes Vin!

    As to our future leadership…

    “You guys work dis S–T out or you gonna wake up in the trunk of car! (pronounced caaa) Lei capisce?”

    R.

  35. Seriously though….

    Sometimes I think the American public relies TOO MUCH on the hero aspect. I think it’s time for us to realize that in order for the world to change we have to be the change.

    Maybe that’s simplistic and naive…

    But it’s something worth striving for and some good can still come from that take. Start with the person in the mirror…. that’s what I try to do.

    Thomas Paine said: โ€œIt is in our power to start the world anew.โ€

    Given the challenges we all collectively face, what better time then now?

    R.

  36. A leader not a hero is what I feel we need. It’s funny…no matters who’s in office whether we like/respect the person or not…I feel we should always respect the office. 99% of Americans DO NOT remember this and it drives me crazy. No matter who our commander in chief is…that title is sacred. What also bothers me is a President’s legacy doesn’t really come into play until 4 years later, after they’ve left office. It’s just the way some policies work. So when a new President takes office and some amazing tax cuts take place or some essential policies are enforced, this newby President is applauded when it was the former party that put it all in place. Just as the reverse occurs, when some bad things take place in the oval office that effects or society new President’s take the wrap and wrath for his former predecessor. NO President will ever win at this all the time and I think it’s amazing for anyone to stand up to the scrutiny of it all. I will say coming from a military family, that Hillary did a lot of major cut backs to vet’s health care and benefits the first time in office that screwed my parents as to what kind of health care they can recieve and now they’re taxed on their retired pay and Social Security, which leaves a decorated officer, whose risked his life in battle to protect our soil, with next to no benefits and little retired pay. So I’m grinding my teeth in fear to what she’ll do next to the vets.

  37. Robert I think you view is refreshing not naive. Seems to me that we as a superpower have a lot of options to lead change. The man in the mirror could be a great campaign slogan. Of course, where would that leave Hillary ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hey blessed1, you’ve pointed out something that is inevitable with leadership. Its always they’re fault. It is going to be a tough decision this year as to who Im going to vote for. But I think my choices are getting more focused.

  38. Check my blog asap. thx.

  39. MINE TOO!

  40. I would like to see a President inspire us to help each other and not rely on him/her or the government to be our brother’s keeper. Something along the JFKesque “ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country”. I don’t want a babysitter, sugar daddy/momma, or a parent. Empower me to take responsibility for myself and my actions. I could go on but I’d probably just keep saying dumber and dumber stuff!!

  41. Joni, I think you are right on. A leader should be challenging the people to service. We forget that it is not up to the President to accomplish the good of this country, it’s up to us.

    Definitely nothing dumb there.

  42. 42 lazrus2

    ‘Sorry to sound like a broken record (CD these days I guess), but I still think the “up to us” (the church – i.e. God’s people) part comes from 2 Chron. 7:14. Granted, God will then use us as His ‘tools’ for healing, but I don’t think we have a chance on getting His clear direction for HOW until we ‘humble OURselves, pray, seek HIS face, and turn from OUR wicked ways’.
    D-

  43. Lazrus2, quoting God’s Word definitely is not a broken record and needs to be continually heard.

    But, when does God consider ourselves repentant? Is it only when the entire nation is in agreement? or is it when we each repent and turn? Can He not use the few that desire this kind of change? Is it up to an organization, or up to His people…

  44. 44 lazrus2

    Thanks for your patience on this reply.
    Maybe you just meant your questions to be theoretical, but I think they were worthy ones, so took them seriously anyway =}. I’ve mainly been focusing on the first: “when does God consider ourselves repentant?
    My own perception is that His criteria for true repentance is really no different than ours– the ‘fruit’.
    There are quite a few scriptures that confirm that I think. I’ll just note the references and the ‘fruit’ here:
    Ezek 18:21-32 “turn away from all their sins and begin to obey my laws and do what is just and right…”
    “Put all your rebellion behind you, and get for yourselves a new heart and a new spirit”
    Luke 3:8-14 (John the Baptist’s words): “Prove by the way you live that you have really turned from your sins and turned to God. ” He also gives very specific practical proofs in verses 10-14.
    Matt 4:17 (Jesus’ words):”Turn from your sins and turn to God”
    Acts 3:19-20 (Peter): “turn from your sins and turn to God”
    Acts 8:22-23 (Peter): “Turn from your wickedness and pray to the Lord”
    Acts 26:19-21 (Paul): “turn from their sins and turn to God–and prove they have changed by the good things they do. ”
    2 Cor 7:8-11 (Paul): “You showed that you have done everything you could to make things right.”
    This whole chapter is a great example of correction, godly sorrow, and repentance leading to changed lives. There’s a very relevant Charles Spurgeon devotional on this text that I’ll send along email.
    And there’s a lot of ‘repent’ commands from the Lord to His church (along with some pretty serious consequences if they don’t ) in the first three chapters of Revelation. So, I think these definitely apply to us now and until He returns.
    Rev 2:5 (Jesus): “Turn back to me again and work as you did at first”
    Rev 2:16-17 (Jesus): “listen to the Spirit and understand what the Spirit is saying to the churches.”
    Rev 3:1-3 (Jesus):”Now wake up! Strengthen what little remains, for even what is left is at the point of death. Your deeds are far from right in the sight of God. Go back to what you heard and believed at first; hold to it firmly and turn to me again. ”
    Rev 3:15-19 (Jesus):”Be diligent and turn from your indifference. ”

    So, I think these confirm that God considers us repentant when He sees a change of direction in our attitudes and behavior. It involves not just turning AWAY (from evil), but turning TO (God) who alone can keep us on His path.

    To the other questions, good luck on getting “the entire nation in agreement”. That will never happen even in the church (look at Corinth), at least not until a genuine 2 Chron. 7:14 revival comes!
    And yes, I do believe it is “when we EACH repent and turn”–not a one time action but a continuing pursuit (see that CHS devo.).
    And yes, I do believe He can and will use the few or many that desire that kind of change (look at many of the prophets and disciples who stood ‘alone’, or so it seemed).
    It is not up to an organization (political, Christian or secular), but rather His people being changed and being used to change others (won by one) from the inside out.
    I do think the church has a long way to go to encourage that kind of individual change through ‘calls to repentance and prayer’. It won’t come merely through 1-2 hour per week Christian get togethers.

    Those of us who have been ‘raised in church’ are the most likely candidates to think the ‘repentance’ thing was something we did once and so after that just assume, ‘grace covers it all’. By doing so, we often over-look the little sins that slip in unnoticed and can so easily be excused as ‘just the way we are’. Jesus’ sternest words were for the Pharisees who couldn’t see their need for a Savior.
    It took a major trauma in my life to get me to see my hell-bound condition apart from God’s mercy, and I hope I never forget it or turn back to those patterns that brought me to that realization. I did turn (more of a ‘born again’ experience than my baptism at age 11), and it meant confessing my wrong to a real person, not just the Lord.

    So, that’s the ‘answers’ (from my perspective anyway) as best I know how to communicate them. I would hope I could be held accountable for living, not just saying them.
    D-

  45. Excellent stuff to chew on lazrus2. I appreciate you taking the time to teach us.

    I absolutely agree that a leader (whether in front of one or many) needs to be a humble servant of God before that leader can truly lead a group or a nation anywhere. it is a constant process as you have said.

    As for whether or not we can count on the next President to do this. I will not be holding my breath and I don’t thin I should. it is my responsibility in my life to repent, surrender and move. I will do my best to not just “say this” but also to accountable to “living it”.



