In Dark Days…

18Jan08

light.jpg

I love thinking about “light”.

Light is most often related to something bright or shiny. That’s fine, but light also has a lot to do with weight or volume. More specifically the lack of weight or volume.

I love taking the idea of light and then remembering how Jesus says He is the “light of the world”. Think about that. God shines on His creation.

But go back to light as a measurement. Darkness is another way to think of light. But darkness is not the opposite of light, it is the lack of it. So Darkness is heavy or thick. It has no vision. We are blind in it. It brings fear. It is hopeless or destitute. Darkness weighs us down, encourages depression, leaves us in want.

So what is light? Hope, Peace, Revelation, Sight, life.

See why I like thinking about light. It reminds me of Jesus.

29 Responses to “In Dark Days…”

  1. AMEN!

  2. 2 ronpai

    I also like light because it keeps me from running into things. šŸ™‚

  3. Your right Ron, of course the Bible talks about God’s Word being a light to our path. But, I am not sure that’s what you meant šŸ™‚

  4. 4 Nevin

    I remember once my brother in law, Vicki and I were in the caves over by Tulelake. We turned off all of the lights, and it was literally that you couldn’t see your hand in front of your face. Then we hit the stupid little indiglo on our new Timex watches. Amazing. In a pinch we could have gotten out on that. In pure darkness, light stands out so blatently clear. Even with the little Sunday School song plaguing the back of my brain, I wish I was better about letting my light be seen….

    Nev

  5. Not always the case, Ron. Once I was driving into the setting sun and it was so bright that I couldn’t see the other car and….WHAM! At least that’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it.

  6. Hey Nevin, seems to me that this is the Christian life. Taking one day at a time while constantly learning how to let our light be seen.

  7. Great thought Brent…I’ve always though of darkness as carrying a heavy burden and light as being free of that burden. As if, Jesus packed up the burdensome darkness, placed it on His back all so we could walk in the light of His glory.

  8. His yoke is easy – His burden is Light.

  9. 9 lazrus2

    The apostle John relates so much of the symbolism of light in all of his writings, and it does ‘speak’ so profoundly to our senses. The most encouraging image to me is from John 1:5, I think:
    “The light shines through the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it. ” NLT
    But, that’s not to say we don’t try ={ , as in the verses that follow John 3:16 (19-21):
    “Their judgment is based on this fact: The light from heaven came into the world, but they loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. 20 They hate the light because they want to sin in the darkness. They stay away from the light for fear their sins will be exposed and they will be punished. 21 But those who do what is right come to the light gladly, so everyone can see that they are doing what God wants.” NLT

    I hate trying to dust when there’s bright sunlight coming into the room. It just exposes how ineffective the whole chore is. I think it’s that way with our sin too sometimes. We think we’re getting rid of it, but instead just ‘relocating’ it to another place to be discovered again later ={ (i.e. “I’ve been down this road so many times before, and here I am on this road again, asking for mercy in spite of my sin…”). The One who made the light is the only One who can really get rid of the ‘darkness’, and He’s already told us how (I John 1: 5-10).

    Another thought for anyone who has a lot of time to check it out is about the star of Bethlehem. God created light in the beginning, but also arranged a specific light to mark the begining of His personal ‘visit’ to His creation. We saw a video about this New Years Eve and got it for ourselves later. It warrants seeing again and again to get the full impact, but the information is written out on the website http://www.bethlehemstar.net if anyone has the time and interest for it. It sure seems to coincide with the prophecy of Joel 2:30 (also quoted in Acts 2 by Peter at Pentecost) re: ‘wonders in the heavens above and signs on the earth below’.
    D-

  10. Hey Jim and tam – I love that God’s burden is light. And like you said Jim, He actually carries it for us. I like that image. And I think that is His intent, not only to carry our burdens, but also to keep us IN the light.

    Like lazrus2 was saying, His light cannot be extinguished and it continues to expose all the impurities that keep us bound by sin.

    Something I also love about light is not only that it exposes the ugly, but it also exposes the beauty. Photographers know exactly what i am talking about. Light brings our definition, depth and color. Without it, everything look flat and lifeless.

    lazrus2 – I loved that program on the Bethlehem Star. we watched it this Christmas and it is incredible. Also, if you are able to be in worship this weekend, you may be pleased to hear one of the songs we are singing šŸ™‚

  11. 11 Ed

    I enjoy the dark. I prefer the night time to day time. I think more clearly at night, it’s more peaceful and quiet.

    Darkness opens up my eyes, focuses my concentration. It also helps me filter out noise and extraneous distractions.

    The color of my car is black.

    I have been thinking of poetry a lot lately. I seem to be drawn more to the dark world of Howl, by Allen Ginsberg than to the light, beautiful world of I Sing The Body Electric, by Walt Whitman, although I do enjoy both.

    I prefer my black leather jacket to my white tuxedo suit. šŸ™‚

  12. “I prefer my black leather jacket to my white tuxedo suit.”

    If I had either, I would make the same choice šŸ™‚

    It sounds to me that you like to be distraction free. I am with you there. There is nothing like being completely free from distraction and thinking clearly.

    And black is my favorite choice for a car as well. But you’ve got to admit. That black care looks pretty amazing under the lights!

  13. I think I’d prefer ANYTHING to a white tuxedo suit! šŸ˜‰ Sorry Ed. šŸ˜€

    This reminds me of a story my aunt told me about when her girls were little and she was nursing them. She LOVED getting up in the middle of the night and sitting in the living room to feed them b/c then she couldn’t see the things that needed to be done. She couldn’t see the dust, she couldn’t see the dirt on the floor. Her attention wasn’t being called to anything that needed cleaning, anything that needed to be “changed.” In the light of the day it was all very clear to her what needed to be done, changed. I sit here now in my living room (which PRAISE THE LORD is now kid free, thank you mom) with light streaming in and I can see ALL that needs to be done. Some I’d prefer not to see. šŸ˜‰

    I think God is the same way, and that maybe is why people are uncomfortable with Him. He brings “light” to things in your life that could do with some changing, some cleaning up, some rearranging. I just blogged about this the other day actually, sort of.

    For my boys, light (like Jesus) is comforting. They have their night light in their room that they love. W/o it, they are scared, can’t find their way, are unsure of their surroundings. With it, the feel comfortable, at peace, sure that nothing is hiding in the dark to harm them. A lot like a life with Jesus in it. šŸ˜‰

    When I read this earlier I didn’t have much to say on the issue…. had to take some time to think about it. šŸ˜‰

  14. 14 Ed

    Picasso went through his blue period I guess I am going through my dark period. šŸ™‚

    Come spring I’ll start going down to the beach at dawn again and watch the night be be transformed into day.

    One breathtaking experience was at the Grand Canyon at dawn. It was pitch black. Then this light pin hole of light starter to appear on the horizon. Then Bam! Night into day over the incredible landscape of the Grand Canyon. I did freeze my buns off which did distract a bit form the event. šŸ™‚

  15. Sorry to change the subject just temporarily- my son is sitting here with his Cheese head on and ready to scream until he has no voice-Go Packers!!! (he also has on his farve jersy)

  16. 16 Ed

    Darla, we NYG fans have nothing cool like a cheese head.

    I have a gambling friend who will not let anyone watch the game with him if they do not have a NYG t-shirt or jersey on. A football helmut is optional. šŸ™‚

    I am sure glad I am watching the game from my nice warm living room instead of freezing Lambeau(?) field.

  17. Ed, I’m with you. I have no idea how they can even move in that mess!

  18. Ed- my son thinks there is nothing cooler than his cheese head! LOL just posted a pic of him tonight on my blog if you want to take a look. I can’t imagine being that cold and even trying to catch a football, but i can imagine running real fast if that means I am headed into the heat…I am so wimpy in the cold.

    Inworship- sorry i got off and running on Packers…But I do love this post as well, I truly was a child of darkness before meeting Jesus, I do love the light!

  19. No worries Darla…we have our priorities today šŸ™‚

  20. My son said “hey everybody loves cheese!”

  21. 21 Ed

    Darla, if I were a humble Christian I would extend my hand and acknowledge the valor with which your Packers played.

    Being an Atheist:

    We’re #1! We’re #1 Cheese heads smell and We’re #1!

  22. Nice Ed.

    New York deserved it. the Packers played terrible! You can’t make those kinds of mistakes and win. And heck, NY gave us chance after chance and we didn’t take it.

    Oh well, good luck with New England šŸ™‚

  23. 23 Elaine

    Hi, and so good to meet you today, sorry for those packers! Love this post and all the thoughts!
    I like to think about the darkness as un-certainty, complex..and the light just as simple, clear and what you see is what you get. When walking in the dark, (as I often do naturally.. my daughter still gets up many times in the night) I find myself reaching for something to get my bearings and to hold on to, guide me.
    In the light you just know..their is a certainty.
    Jesus as the light always has his hand extended to us to lead and to guide. We don’t need to be grasping for anything else to hold on to. Just love to think of being secure,safe and gently being led by Him our light.

  24. Ed-I am a Christian and not always as humble as I am learning to be. So you won’t mind if I tell ya This stinks! I did enjoy the close game, and honestly I am surprised at the over time just due to the temps…well I am faithful soooo GO Packers for next year! šŸ™‚ Ed, are you doing a happy dance??

  25. 25 Ed

    Darla, :bounce: (bouncing icon from FC site)

    I was amazed at how well the quarterbacks were able to make nice tight spiral passes in the freezing temps.

    I think will take more than even prayers for my NYG to beat New England. I wonder if they will allow sling shots in the game. šŸ™‚

  26. Ed, I love ya and all, but I really didn’t need an image of you dancing to start my day. Thanks Darla šŸ™‚

  27. Hey Elaine, It was good to meet you as well. I love this perspective you’ve given. Light allows for definite certainty. And we always use light to help with safety. Kind of going along with what lazrus2 said. Those who choose to do evil want to stay away from the light, will even hide from it. There is definitely a lot of security in that!

  28. 28 lazrus2

    The last sentence in your comment (1/21 @ 8:56 am) almost sounded like you meant the ones hiding from the light were definitely ‘secure’. I’m sure you really meant the opposite, but unfortunately, darkness does provide a false sense of security, and explains why so much crime occurs under the ‘cover of darkness’. That’s definitely the enemy’s ‘territory’, but through his deception, he can make even the darkness appear as ‘light’ (i.e. 2 Cor. 11: 14-15:).

    Here are a couple more references that relate too, I think:
    Eph 5:10-14
    10 Try to find out what is pleasing to the Lord. 11 Take no part in the worthless deeds of evil and darkness; instead, rebuke and expose them. 12 It is shameful even to talk about the things that ungodly people do in secret. 13 But when the light shines on them, it becomes clear how evil these things are. 14 And where your light shines, it will expose their evil deeds. This is why it is said,
    “Awake, O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”

    and 1 Thess 5:2-6
    2 For you know quite well that the day of the Lord will come unexpectedly, like a thief in the night. 3 When people are saying, “All is well; everything is peaceful and secure,” then disaster will fall upon them as suddenly as a woman’s birth pains begin when her child is about to be born. And there will be no escape. 4 But you aren’t in the dark about these things, dear brothers and sisters, and you won’t be surprised when the day of the Lord comes like a thief. 5 For you are all children of the light and of the day; we don’t belong to darkness and night. 6 So be on your guard, not asleep like the others. Stay alert and be sober. ” NLT
    D-

  29. Oooh good catch lazrus2. I did mean to say that there is security in knowing that the light hinders evil or exposes it…sorry, that did look strange.

    That Ephesians passage reminds me of how people learn to catch counterfeit money. They don’t study the counterfeits, they study the real thing. Knowing the real thing so well, the counterfeits are easily found and cast out.

    Definitely some great biblical wisdom there. Thanks.



