Book Meme

02Jan08

So I have been tagged by 2 friends of mine Joel and Darla, to do a meme on books. Kind of cool. Here ya go…

01.  One book that changed your life? 

Under The Overpass by Mike Yankoski  This book changed everything I was thinking about what it meant to be involved with and love our communities.

02.  One book that you have read more than once?

Heart Of The Artist by Rory Noland. I know my wife said this one as well. But this book has been foundational in our worship and media ministry, so I am in it all the time.

03.  One book you would want on a deserted Island?

The Bible. This may sound cliche’, but I would need God’s words more than ever to help me from going insane. Romans would be invaluable on a deserted island!

04.  One book that made you laugh?

Wow…I have no clue. I find humor in a lot of books I read. I don’t tend to read fiction books, so I am not generally reading a story except when it is biographical. I do really appreciate Matthew Paul Turners humor. I read his book The CoffeeHouse Gospel and there is a lot of humor in it. I have enjoyed his blog as well. He just writes with a bit of sarcasm and I have always enjoyed that. So, when I read his book, I did have a smile quite a bit.

05.  One book that made you cry?

Unchristian by David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons  Maybe not cry, but this book definitely makes my heart sink. This book is a major eye opener for the church. Not a lot of answers here, just a lot of evidence that the church has done a terrible job of doing what we have been called to do

06.  One book that you wish had been written?

The Dangerous Act Of Worship by Mark Labberton   Brilliant. Challenging. Scriptural. This book should be read by every worship leader before they ever sing a song.

07.  One book that you wish had never been written?

Not sure. I could probably say lots of different books that I don’t agree with Biblically or spiritually, but they only point out the need for God in everyone’s lives. I can honestly say I’ve read books that weren’t very good. I would say maybe some books shouldn’t have been published, but everyone should write. Why do you think I have a blog 🙂

08.  One book you are currently reading?

Red Letters by Tom Davis 

09.  One book you have been meaning to read?

Made To Stick by Chip Heath and Dan Heath  I’ve had this one for a while now and I love marketing. I am anxious to dig into this. It can be a very powerful book in application to our church as well.

3 Responses to “Book Meme”

  1. I’ve been meaning to read Under the Overpass for some time now.

    MPT is a good writer. I’ve read 2 of his books so far and am on the list to receive his new one when it comes out. He’s also very accessible. He’ll answer your emails quickly.

  2. Thanks for posting this, I’m working on a reading list for this year and I was really looking for some good choices.

    Heart of the Artist is good… and UnChristian is at the top of my list for 08.

  3. mudpuppy – Under the Overpass is a great read. It is also an easy read. It is a great story. He takes you right to the streets with him.

    Trey – Heart of the Artist is great. I’ve been enjoying his next book The Thriving Artist as well.



