Christmas Breakdown

25Dec07

lo-christmas_snowfall-779051.jpg

Merry Christmas!

My hope is that everyone reading this is enjoying a day of rest, peace and relationship. There has been a lot of great discussion over what this season is and how we should respond to it. The reality for me is that today is a day to remember the birth of my Savior Jesus Christ. I am also enjoying food, couches, games and family. What could be better!

I was thinking of writing some great amazing post today for all of you to read, but I went with this one instead πŸ™‚

One of the things I have enjoyed this season is the new relationships I have through the blog world. Great discussion has taken place and I truly think there are more to come. I never thought fundamentalists, emergents and atheists could enjoy the same page together πŸ™‚

I really enjoyed a post by a blog friend of mine HoverFrog. Hover is an atheist that I met on Friendly Christian. He has a list of great facts regarding the season. Even the Christian side of the story can get jumbled with confusion at times. We have learned that Jesus was not born in a “stable” and definitely not in a manger, it was more likely a cave that was used for housing animals. We don’t know for sure how many shepherd actually arrived to see Jesus that night. And, the wisemen didn’t even show up till Jesus was 2. Besides these littel tidbits, we know the story of Jesus birth is an incredible one. It is a birth that lead to a death that leads to life! I love that.

Anyway, hope over to Hover’s site and check out his post on Christmas Facts. Say hi for me πŸ™‚

PS – On a side note, if you have a chance, check out the documentary “Star of Bethlehem” Great stuff!

PSS – Oh and I got my wife fuzzy socks…I know…I rock πŸ™‚

8 Responses to “Christmas Breakdown”

  1. Fuzzy socks? What did she / your kids get you for Christmas?

  2. Do you think I got the socks? She got em’

    The rest of us? Lots of fun stuff. Kass got a camera, she is becoming a great little photographer and we really wanted to encourage that. Kota inherited my iPod Video. He’s ecstatic. He’s been using an original shuffle for 2 years, so this is a slight upgrade.

  3. And Brent has saved up enough money for an iPhone!!!! Yay!!!

    i love my fuzzy socks!

  4. merry Christmas!

  5. 5 Brandy

    Merry Christmas!!

    We made sure Dylan got a camera this year too (suggested it to my grandpa to get him, otherwise we would) b/c he LOVES taking pictures, and I’m getting a little tired of sharing my digital with him. πŸ˜‰

    “iCongrats” on saving enough $$$ for an iPhone! πŸ˜‰ heehee

  6. Trina got a camera this year too! and I and I also got fuzzy socks! YAY! I really am into warmfeet..I got a new phone and its not the iphone but it is real close..and cheaper ( I am alot like Tam), Congrats on the iphone! Hubs got a new computer..he is spoiled but I am really into him too!
    BTW I tagged you on my blog..wouldlove to have a mans opinion on these things as well….and must-break-out-of-the-girly-blog!

  7. 7 Cheryl

    I thought I heard a scream (…or maybe it was a yell) on this side of town…it was you realizing you had enough for the much anticipated iPhone! Congrats!

  8. Hey everyone, thanks for the Merry Christmas and I hope you all are having an amazing season as well.

    So, my new “toy” is definitely fun. it feels good to know that I saved for 3 months to get it and stick with it. It feels good to be disciplined and then be rewarded for it.

    i love what Hybells said about discipline in his book “Who I Am When no One’s Looking”. He said that discipline was “delayed gratification”. Knowing that the outcome to hard work and patience would always be blessing!



