Hope and Legend

15Dec07

i_am_legend_will_smith__1_.jpgLast night I went to see “I Am Legend”. (I will not be handing out any spoilers, so it is safe to read)

It’s been a long time since I have actually been excited about a movie opening and I hardly ever attend opening night. I was not disappointed at all. My son and I went, so that was just awesome to have boys night out. I bought tickets online earlier in the day, so they were there when I showed up and we just walked in instead of waiting in lines.

The movie was incredible! It was suspensful and had you on the edge of your seat. It drew on so many emotions and it had an underlying tone that blew me away…HOPE.

Hope is a term that Christians use often because we believe in it. We believe we have been given the gift of Hope. There is a confidence on knowing that God, who He is and will be, is our Hope. However we often find ourselves losing hope. We face trials. Death in the family. Relationship issues. Failed marriage. Financial issues. Homelessness. We will often than become angry and cynical and then we begin to fight back. Instinctively we blame and find fault in anyone…anything…and this will often lead to us seeing God as the reason for our despair. Why would He do this? Where was He when my parents split up? Why didn’t He care about my feelings? Why would He allow that girl to die?

There was a statement made in the movie last night. “God didn’t do this, We did.” The movies premise is that a horrific air born virus has overtaken New York and the island is literally quarantined from the world. Robert Neville(Will Smith) is the one person that can stay in this environment and save the world. He is the original scientist working on the cure. and he is immune to the disease. He has no one and he is focused on one thing…He is the only hope for this world. A blog friend Trey Taylor wrote a post on this today and I would like to use his words,

“Ultimately Legend is about a guy who’s lost his faith, who believes that God has died along with the billions of people infected. It’s about a guy finding the faith he’s lost and continuing on with hope that the world can be saved. ”

Why do we lose hope in God? Why do we feel that God is at fault? When the “world” was killed off by a terrible virus…whose fault was it? I am sure God would be blamed, but why? Did He create the virus?

God’s hope is something that never diminishes or disappears. It is always there, because He already came to seek and save which was lost and He has won the victory. It is based not on the physical or temporal, but on the spiritual and eternal. God has extended His hand of grace and hope to all who receive. What we do with it or whether we choose to accept it is up to us. It is never His fault when we face hopelessness. He has offered it. This world will try and take it away, but don’t let it. Keep having faith in Him. Hope.

21 Responses to “Hope and Legend”

  1. Jake, his dad, and brother are at the movies seeing this right now. He SO badly wanted to go opening night. Glad it looks good, I want to see it but I’ll wait til it comes out on video. πŸ˜‰
    I think parts might scare me. πŸ˜‰

  2. great insight Brent, thanx for the quote & link

  3. Brandy – Fortunately for him…it’s the same movie today πŸ™‚

    Also, you are right, it can freak you out a bit. I was worried about Kota, but he did good!

    Trey – Thank YOU!

  4. i think you hit on it; we lose hope in god’s goodness….why? because as his plans do not align with our own, we doubt he has our best interest in heart…that leads to us controlling everything and turning little over to him…at least in the view through our headlights.

    the biggest failure in church and belief is not embracing who god actually is and who we are in him. that is why there is so much bondage in our daily lives.

  5. Right on Michael. We have certain expectations for ourselves as people and when we fail to reach those, we lose hope. (Kind of like the movie portrayed)

    There is so much hope in letting God have control. It’s when we cease to work that He begins.

  6. har har πŸ˜‰
    He was NOT a fan of the ending though. And yes, he told me. I’m into spoilers. πŸ˜‰ heehee

  7. great insight… i also saw some spiritual parallels at the end, but can’t really get into it: spoilers.
    😦

  8. my wife and I saw the movie last night…I left with the message of “do something significant with your life”. It was a great movie!

  9. Thanks Mandy…for the comment and the link. hope your staying warm with all that snow. I actually would LOVE to be there right now πŸ™‚

    Scott, glad you guys liked it as well. You definitely got a great message from the movie. I loved his movie so much, I had to take the rest of the family to see it.

    They loved it too!

  10. I too had a great time on Friday night with I Am Legend.

    Will is the man!

  11. I am going to take my crew next week…but I agree that we are human control freaks and we can’t always see God’s goodness because it doesn’t line up with how we think it should be. I come back over and over to-HIS ways are not mine..and honestly I am glad for that!

  12. Incredible movie.

  13. I thought the movie was sad…I left feeling a little sad. I do however want to get a big german shepherd.

  14. Interesting post…I wasn’t really excited about seeing this movie b/c anything slightly scary turns me away. My husband wants to see it though.
    I am glad I found your blog…I’m a regular reader of your wifes! She’s a great girl.
    Love to your family…

  15. It’s been interesting to hear different peoples take on this film now that people are seeing it. we had a couple of our Pastor’s see it and a few have loved it and one was actually bored?!?!

    Anyway, it was sad, funny, scary, slow, fast, encouraging, depressing…a little of everything. I liked it πŸ™‚

    blessed1 and cbgrace – thanks for stopping by. it’s always nice to read new words πŸ™‚ Make yourselves at home.

    Brent

  16. But the ending was SO stupid!! Honestly the ending pretty much ruined the rest of the movie for me. Ugh.

    http://www.chrisfromcanada.com/?p=250

  17. Chris – Have you read the book? I’ve heard that a lot of people that have read the book or know the story from the book hated the ending.

  18. I haven’t seen it yet, but have heard so much good about it.

    When people lose hope and begin to blame or turn away from God, WE need to connect and help bridge them back again. God can use us to reach them…if we take the time and effort to do it. Great post.

  19. I am one of those people who have read the book and now have seen the movie. The movie was good but more than just the ending was changed, honestly the whole story was changed. I can say with all honesty that there is no way you could get a message of Hope out of the book.

    It’s been a while since I’ve read the book but I don’t remember any god stuff in it at all and I was a believer when I read it. I think I would have keyed in on that at the time. In fact, the movie has a “god has a plan” message in it but it seemed tacked on and really underdeveloped. If they wanted to go that route they should have developed it better like the M. Night Shamalyan movie Signs did.

    Anyway, here’s what I really think but I don’t want to say too much. This link to my post has MAJOR SPOILERS for both the movie and the book.
    http://skeptigator.com/2007/12/27/i-may-be-a-legend-but-the-movie-wasnt/

    P.S. I’m an occasional reader and found you via FriendlyChristian.

  20. Hey Skeptigator, it’s great to have you here. I’m honored that you’ve lurked around a bit. Feel free to get involved wherever you’d like. I know we won’t see eye to eye on everything, but that doesn’t bother me πŸ™‚

    I have heard exactly what you are saying from many people who have read the book. I guess Hollywood likes to take liberties with their movies.

    I agree to a point that the “God” thing really wasn’t developed well, but I actually saw the them of hope to hopelessness and then back to hop all throughout the movie, so where they went with the ending didn’t surprise me. it just confirmed what i thought they were trying to say. but I am sure I read into it a bit with my beliefs and all.

    Anyway, glad you stopped by, don’t be a stranger…


  1. 1 Legend and Snow « just a girl

