What I Want For Christmas

21Nov07

christmas1.gif

Reading this title, one should think that I may have something profound to say about world peace or feeding the hungry, but this is not the case. Maybe another post 🙂

I am the kind of person that likes gadgets. If you read my last post, you saw a little of this. I am also a guy who loves technology. When you put those two things together, they make for expensive little items. I do not own a lot of stuff and I hardly own all the little gadgets that I would enjoy. But, when it comes to birthdays or Christmas, and my family asks me what I would like for Christmas, they are already prepared for my answer. My choices are generally expensive.

Now, I don’t expect these “little” gifts, but they asked, so I answered honestly. My wife declared last time we talked that I always want the most expensive gifts. Which is true…partially.

I don’t need lots of gifts. Frankly, I don’t “need” any at all. But if given the choice, I would say what I would like. At this point, the ONE item I have mentioned is all I would like. I never have a list. I don’t talk about this and that. I am usually focused on ONE thing.

Let’s say I have “X” amount to spend on my wife. That is a good amount. Not a ton, but more than enough to really treat her well and make her feel special. The kids and I would be able to purchase her 5, 6 maybe even 7 items of fun things. Clothes, treats, things she’s had her eye on and so on. The kids and I could split up the gifts and each one could be from a different person and we would have as much fun giving them as she would receiving them. So, what if the whole family purchased me ONE gift for the same “X” amount of money. Would my gift be more expensive?

As you can see by now, this post is completely unnecessary and just a childish ploy at continuing to ask my family for ONE thing 🙂 At this point, my wife is rolling her eyes and saying no and reminding me that “X” amount will never be enough for all the ONE things I would love…but I completely understand I will NEVER need the ONE thing.

So what are your “tricky” ploys to tell family or friends what you want for Christmas???

12 Responses to “What I Want For Christmas”

  1. Darling, darling, dear little darling…you’re one “little” gift amounts in total $’s what our entire Christmas budget for the whole family should be.

    Yes, folks, he IS talking about an iPhone!

  2. 2 Ed

    I am afraid I was never that imaginative, or very good, at using “ploys” to get what I wanted. If I wanted something I asked for it.

    My observation is that guilt seems to work pretty well. “You have been working so hard and haven’t been around much so I can understand why you don’t have the time to get me ……….” 🙂

    Bringing out the competitive nature in people also works. “Dad! Did you see that great …… Johnny’s father got him!” 🙂

  3. My observation is that guilt seems to work pretty well.

    Ed must be Catholic…

  4. @ BuddyO – Or Baptist.

    I should know…I grew up one 🙂

  5. 5 Cheryl

    I knew it was that iPhone…Hey! Aren’t we supposed to be getting a kicker back from the state…hmm…iPhone could be in your future friend. Maybe if your bro and parents chipped in for that one present, then ooohhh!…Ok, snap out of it! Back to reality…but if you do get that iPhone let me know!

  6. 6 Ed

    I was a member of the Catholic religion for about 5 years.

    I did not go to a catholic school so I avoided being beat on the knuckles by the nuns. 🙂

    If you want to learn how to use guilt get lessons from the Jewish mother of a friend of mine. 🙂

  7. Cheryl – YOUR HERE! It’s good to hear your voice again…

    Ed – You are killing me 🙂

  8. 8 Cheryl

    Yes, I’m here! Half awake but here to “encourage” you in your iPhone desire. I’m laughing because I was wondering how long it would take you to mention the “i” word! LOL Gee, since your birthday is coming up it really could be just ONE big present rolled into one! I have some cans you can redeem… $1.00 minus…hmm..lol

  9. LOL this is really a man’s mind at work…My husband always ends up with something expensive..and just a one thing…sometimes it covers all the holidays of the year…:) but I always cave and get him something little for the others anyway…so if I get ripped off in all this I guess it is my fault! mmmm shhhhhh don’t tell him about iphone…I have really been down playing it…because now I want a Kindle..hahaha not this Christmas…but I will start saving for it…how long do you think it will take if I save $5 a week..LOL Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. Cheryl – I’ll take the $1…it’s a start 🙂

    Darla – I think you and I will be saving for a long time…

  11. 11 Abigail

    David’s ‘ONE thing’ (Ps. 27:4) didn’t cost even a ‘shekel’ did it ? (‘priceless’ though it was)!! From another perspective though, you might say it cost him EVERYthing he once ‘thought he wanted’ in order to fully pursue that ONE desire… inworship.

  12. It’s good to see you back “Abigail”. I agree that it cost him everything. And it should. To dwell in his house leaves no room for anything else in the way.

    Christmas gifts are fun, but no worldly gift could ever take the place of the ultimate “prize”.

    I can truly say that I am happy whether with or without. God knows what He is doing in our lives, He knows best and I truly trust that(Him).

    Hope your well and your folks too.



