Communication…

16Nov07

Our trip down to California this week was great. I work with such a great group of guys. We had a blast. We had 2 vans and of course, our was given the name “kids van”. I don’t know why they’d say that? We watched stupid movies, we were always the last to get loaded and we required a stop every time we saw a Starbucks. The adult van did none of this…how boring 🙂

Anyway, we had a blast. The seminar was great. The leaders from Granger Community Church are exactly that…leaders. They have a passion for reaching out and they aren’t afraid to have fun and take chances in doing this. I like that. Our group was split up into one of three all day sessions. Our Creative Director Dave and I were in the Communications session with Kem Meyer. Kem is definitely all she’s talked up to be. Full of fun and a ton of great wisdom. She spent half of her life outside of the church, so she has a chance to place an outsiders perspective on what she does in ministry. This is something we all need to learn to do.

The day was packed full of great info, but I wanted to leave you with some great thoughts that Kem had for us.

“Before anything is said, we show up with our own bias”

“Churches spend a lot of time answering questions that no one is asking”

Technology vs. Relationship – “We used to give our kids technology so that they would have an edge. Today, we should be taking it out of their lives, to give them an edge.”

“People remember 10% of what they read and 100% of what they feel”

“Why do church leaders feel that our communication is not valid unless it has an answer.”

“The Sunday edition of the New York times contains more info in one pressing than the average 19th century person processed their entire life.”

“Don’t promise anything you do not have control over.”

“In everything we do, we either dilute or reinforce”

“As a leader, I am not accountable to those above me…I am accountable to those below me.”

There is some great food for thought here. It is interesting to see, how much we went over dealt with things I am learning in the blogging world. A reminder that our communication here is so important as well.

Anyway, thanks Kem and the Granger team. Also a thanks to Crossroads Grace Community Church for being an amazing host. extremely friendly and ready to help. We appreciate it.

25 Responses to “Communication…”

  1. Great soundbites. Excellent thoughts, particularly the first two.

  2. “In everything we do, we either dilute or reinforce”

    Wow. Awesome. Kem is fantastic.

  3. 3 brightshinyobject

    “Before anything is said, we show up with our own bias”

    So?

    I’m kidding, please laugh…

  4. “Before anything is said, we show up with our own bias”

    So then based on our bias, we then determine how we will “perceive” what we see or hear…correct? Which is why two people can walk away from the same “event” and have two very different opinions of it.

  5. Christian – I agree. We need to think about this stuff.

    Chris – She had a ton of wisdom to give. The quote you chose is one of my favorite.

    Jason – I am laughing as always. I love your humor 🙂 Even if it’s dry…

    Tam – Your exactly right. She talked about “framing” someone’s bias, getting to know where they are coming from before we even attempt communicating with them. If we can do this, we can have a place to start from.

  6. B – did not i say exactly that on one of your blogs about two weeks ago – I could saved ya the Trip! lol 🙂

    Tam got it Perfect – as usual 😉

    love

  7. I have read lots on this same thing, and it seems like God is speaking a word every where…How does the church get a handle on this? This is all something that should not only be heard but applied. AW Tozer wrote on this years ago…and recently on John Pipers page he mentioned how the church is getting away from its purpose of following the Bible. (yes Love-I do believe it is basic instructions before leaving earth ;))

  8. Jesus reached people exactly where they were, and today is still doing the same thing…we really need to join HIM, and get away from some of the agendas that hold us down. Just my rambling thoughts…

  9. 9 brightshinyobject

    “I do believe it is basic instructions before leaving earth ;))”

    A hearty “huzzah!” for Darla!

  10. Love – I think you would have enjoyed this conference as I did.

    Darla – Great thoughts. I know “the church” is involved in many of those statements, but WE ARE the church. The change happens when people decide it is the right thing to do. When people decide it IS important to have a relationship with those around us, not just in our services. Darla you and I and others can decide to do this and our example can inspire and encourage others to do the same.

    Jason – I don’t believe I have ever actually said “Huzzah” before 🙂

  11. 11 Jason

    The Holy Spirit told me he likes it when the music team gets together

  12. We are the church! and today as I taught my womens group, it was very intense to my mind that this is our time on the timeline God has ordained…and we are “on”, our response to God’s word, and our worship is life changing to someone else, and most of the time to someone we don’t know is watching. God is awesome how HE uses us, and I can’t help but stand in awe of the “ripple effect”.

    Hey-hope you get a buyer today, I am asking my DAD to make it happen!

  13. Good stuff Darla! We just have to take personal responsibility and others will follow. Keep praying to “Dad”. There has been no traffic so far.

    Jason – Let me know when he gives you stock quotes 🙂

  14. Praying now that HIS time will also be your time..LOL I believe HE is going to come through..I am never good at the whole deal with HIM not being early but just on time, but HE is!

  15. 15 Brandy

    Hey!
    I met an old neighbor of yours today, when you lived on Hampton….. Scott Oberacker. He said two of his kids went to school with Kass and Kota. Anyway, he’s buying the honda from us for his 16 yo daughter.
    He said he lived right on the corner. Small world! ha!

  16. 16 Jason

    …………………………..sell……………………

  17. Brandy – I have no idea who that is, but that’s not unusual.

    Jason – LOL!!!!!!

  18. Technology vs. Relationship – “We used to give our kids technology so that they would have an edge. Today, we should be taking it out of their lives, to give them an edge.”

    I would be curious to here the context of this statement. My personal thought is that technology is allowing us to be more connected, though there has to be balance. Like all good things, technology has the ability to be a fierce devil or a strong angel (CS Lewis paraphrase there)

  19. Hey Aaron, thanks for stopping by.

    I agree with you. I like the C.S. Lewis quote.

    The context here was from a family point of view. We once needed to train our kids in technology to get ahead. Now kids have technology from every angle. It would be better to strengthen our relationships in the home to give our kids a social edge. If the relationship or relationships skills are there, then technology will be that much more powerful.

    I checked out your blog. Very cool. I liked your post on twitter. I’ve just started digging into it myself and I am in some need of foundation, so your post was helpful.

  20. Love – I think you would have enjoyed this conference as I did.

    I believe you are right! 🙂

    Sell? – now would be a VERY good time to do just that – FINALLY J and I AGREE on something lol 🙂

    love

  21. I knew we could get you guys to some common ground 😉

  22. we have ONE in common but J can be quite stubborn on any other ‘common ground’ i feel 😉

    Should have sold yesterday but i only saw J’s comment AFTER the market had closed… NOT a good day to own shares today! 😦

    love

  23. So what happens when these two are combined?

    “Churches spend a lot of time answering questions that no one is asking”
    and
    “In everything we do, we either dilute or reinforce”

    A scary proposition….

  24. I agree Buddy. the two that got me the most when put together were…

    “Churches spend a lot of time answering questions that no one is asking”
    and
    “Why do church leaders feel that our communication is not valid unless it has an answer.”


  1. 1 In The World, But Not In It? « inWorship

