I Dont Know What To Say

10Nov07

happy-monkey.jpgDISCLAIMER: Parent/child sex talk ahead…

So my son, uses my computer to play online video games. He loves sports games and he really enjoys some of the novelty stuff. We’ve always checked into what he plays and he’s been a good kid.

Yesterday however, he let me know about a new game that he has been playing. It is called “Spank” the Monkey. 😯

It was at this point, that I didn’t know whether to get upset or to just start laughing hysterically. My boy is a good kid and has ZERO idea what the name of this game means. Should I tell him? Do I need to have another camping trip to talk to him about “Spank” the monkey?

Oh my goodness…being a parent is tough. Sometimes I just don’t know how to be serious when something makes me laugh so hard!!!

If you would like to check out the game, here is the link…

“Spank” The Monkey

30 Responses to “I Dont Know What To Say”

  1. Buddy O’s wife Kathy has a great story. Their son Bo, one day (in the car, I think) asked> “Mom, what’s a perido.”

    Whew boy! She knew this day was gonna come so she steeld herself and went into a somewat prepared speech about a woman’s cycle ans what it was for. Bo sat and listened attentlively.

    “Oh, I thought it was that dot at the end of a sentence.”

  2. A period. A perido is something completely different. I’ve got Brentosis.

  3. That is hilarious! I am becoming a father in February, so I do not look forward to these decisions. I will be watching the advice pour in!

  4. Christian – I want to know what she said! That’s funny. And consider it a privilege to have Brentosis…I do πŸ™‚

    Skylar – Congrats on being Dad soon. You are going to LOVE it!

  5. had a similiar thing happen on one of the madden football games..seems that once you get to the super bowl, the cheerleaders do a little dance and the flash you…could not figure out why all this little boys wanted to share their tips and work as a team to win the games…not at all competitive like normal! Well needless to say we did have a talk about what we put before our eyes, but I also know alot of it is just natural curiousity so I handed off to hubs…hey I am clueless too!

  6. that game is just stupid…even my 14 yo son says so.
    He doesn’t know what it means, either. πŸ™‚
    no, dont tell him… he will just run and tell the other boys and then they will giggle about it like little girls and when another parent finds out you told him what it meant then all hell breaks loose.
    can you tell i’ve been there? πŸ™‚

  7. Darla – That’s crazy. I didn’t realize that was in that game. Gotta go check which ones my son has…yikes.

    krislinatin – I a not planning on telling him. he will learn eventually, but it wont be from me. at least not in that kind of terminology.

  8. oh my goodness Darla! Which Madden games??? That’s horrible!

    Kristina, don’t ya love it when our boys scream like little girls? Makes me laugh!

  9. 10 Brandy

    Oh my word that is hilarious! heehee

    A while back, like a year or so ago, Dylan was sitting on the couch after bath and he was *ahem* “at attention” and he started freaking out and said “MOMMY!!! It hurts!!” and I said “well stop touching it and it will go away.”

    I hope that will be the extent of it. Think so? No? πŸ˜‰ heehee

  10. 11 Brandy

    For your other readers peace of mind, Dylan was only like 2 when that happened. πŸ˜‰

  11. “I a not planning on telling him. he will learn eventually, but it wont be from me. at least not in that kind of terminology.”

    You want your son to learn about the world from someone else B????

    This is ny no meeans a joke to the father with a pre-teen son and don’t want you to think i would treat it as such ONLY with you but would it not really be best to take that trip and build a bond with your son over this issue so thatwhen the ‘time’ comes and he hears about the ‘other’ meaning from his peers he can laugh like you did and say – Oh, Me and My Dad talked all about that ages ago.

    Personally i am not ‘in favour’ of the practice but it does exist and is VERY common – we can’t just close our eyes and hope our kids pick it up right from wherever they hear about it out of curiosity – True?

    I hear the woods are cold this time of year?? you may consider ‘camping out in Kota’s room a while??? πŸ˜‰

    love

  12. Ok – i had to see what it was all about first… my ‘best’ Spank was 232 mph – (7)

    The game seems pointless and harmless to me – but i am no ‘expert’ Not crazy about the title but it is simple fun.

    You can read what you like into anything! – just a matter of ‘perspectives’.

    I would imagine that kids would tire quickly of this ‘passtime’ unless there is something else they get out of it… why is this called ‘adDICtive’? or did i just answer my own question??? πŸ™‚

    love

  13. That is too funny!

  14. I’m very thankful for a young man, who is in a public school system and his age, and still has this innocence. I’m sorry that that was the first thing MY mind went to when I heard it. Jer and I always waited until something came up before we talked with out kids. We would have disclosed alot of stuff we didn’t need to get into if we hadn’t. You guys are doing an awesome job.

  15. Love came over here cuz I sent him to his room over at my place….you little stinker πŸ˜‰

  16. 17 Nevin

    Can’t wait for the “peel the banana” sequel…

  17. NEVIN!!! 😯

  18. Tam- you need a disclaimer over here lol- warning, very inappropriate, well-sorta kinda-depends on you…kind of thing lol…

    However, i found it all funny:)

    A dear friend of mine has her email mojobutlermonkey…

    so yea:)

  19. Actually i ‘came’ over before Tam sent me to my room… because i like to see what my GOOD friends are up to ot have been up to as i sleep!

    Also ‘cos i love to have fun with my friends! while growing closer to Him!

    And Sharing the Wisdom he gives me out to all πŸ™‚ in a ligh-hearted and loving way! πŸ™‚

    love

  20. Holy crap, I leave for a couple of hours and I come back to this. Sounds like my wife’s site is not mucher better. I’ll have to go check it out:)

    Love – One clarification. I absolutely intend on talking to him about “spanking”(since we are using this term), but I do not intend on teaching him the silly terminology. Does that make sense?

    Brandy…”Don’t touch it , it will go away” LOL!!!!!!!!!! Sorry Bran, it doesn’t…

  21. i’m happy with your wisdom and rules as far as your family is concerend B πŸ™‚

  22. I’m a few years away, so let me know all your secrets as you figure them out! πŸ™‚

  23. Clear as Mud… you were addressing In Worship with your last comment.. Right Mud? πŸ˜‰

    love

  24. Hahahaha! Mudpuppy…don’t open that can of worms πŸ™‚

    Love ya Love!

  25. Love Ya Back B! πŸ˜€

    Listen to the Man, MP πŸ˜‰

    love

  26. Ah the wonderful things to look forward to…

    πŸ™‚

  27. Oh yes, Bill…You will have your chance πŸ™‚

  28. 29 Brandy

    I know it doesn’t go away, you know it doesn’t away, but the longer I can hold him off the better! Who says a parent has to be honest ALL the time? πŸ˜‰

    My little boy! *sniff*sniff*

    Why God saw it fit to bless me with all boys, I don’t think I’ll ever know, but I have a feeling it was to teach ME a few things. πŸ˜‰

    Btw, your birthday serenade to Tam was awesome! πŸ˜‰

    Also, ya’ll are naughty over here and at Tam’s place! HA! HA! πŸ˜‰


  1. 1 Clearly Clueless « inProgress

