The Grass Is Always Greener

10Nov07

gogreen.jpgSo I was reading through my RSS Reader this morning and one of my subscriptions is Lifehacker. I love technology, so I love these guys. Lots of great insight, first looks and their tips and tricks are great.

In one of their posts today, they talked about using technology to be more “green”. Most of you know what that is, but basically the idea is to evaluate aspects of your life and then see how you can limit your intake or use of natural products to help the environment. Recycling has been an aspect that has been around for a while and is becoming more common for many households. There are thousands of ways that our communities and countries can take responsibility in helping make the world more green, but there are also many little things that anyone can do at anytime to affect the environment around us.

So, what about being “Media Green”? How can we use technology to help out the environment. Lifehacker highlighted a few areas in which this could be done. Things like using online books, newspapers and magazines.

This brings up some questions for me, but I was curious what you guy think. I am all for this. Personally I subscribe to about 4-5 magazines, all of which(I just checked to be sure) offer an online version. So my question is, why are they not giving me the option to save a magazine worth of paper and just receive the online version…paperless. There are some books online, but mostly in the form of audio. I would personally rather read a book than listen to it. Newspapers to me is huge. Heck, the NY Times is online and free. So is my local paper. If not starting a fire or packing collectibles, what good a is a newspaper after is has been read?

Another question comes to mind and that is regarding the publishing companies and retailers. I personally think we are getting to a place where it is as easier and often cheaper to buy online than to go to a store. What would happen to the Barnes & Nobles and Borders?

So what do you guys think about online reading?

23 Responses to “The Grass Is Always Greener”

  1. I do most of my reading on line…but there are those times that I need a hard copy to travel with for those times I have to sit and wait at an appointment. I haven’t been to a bookstore in a very long time, buying on line is cheaper. I agree that fires start best with newpapers packed in little balls! LOL I have been recycling most of my life ( old hippie and earthday and all)
    I am afraid that unless there is money and a profit to be made our country is not interested, it all kind of stays in the talking stage. Do you know what I mean?

  2. What a great motivator/excavator that Prophet really is in our world today! πŸ™‚

    A computer is a near perfect way to receive information – but how much of our time do we wish to spend ‘on’ it?

    Most hardcopy is used once and then discared as rubbish – seems a waste to me but we DO NEED ‘real world tangible things in our lives to give them and us more perspective on ‘reality’.

    That might not be read right by all but i mean we should not just spend our entire lives ‘on-line’ or rely solely on one common ‘source’ for information in this world.

    As real beings we can and should see how all things are connected and that there are many ways God reveals himself to His Children. That they might then seek The Way back to Him for themselves.

    love

  3. Darla – I am one to appreciate the hard copy, but as much as I am comfortable being on the computer, I see myself as one that could easily read books on my computer and have no problem with it. Of course, I rarely read books in a place there is no electricity, if I was in that place, I am sure I would be wanting the book πŸ™‚

    And I know exactly what you mean. I am not sure there would be the option of not having books, because of the need for retail.

    Love – There are some interesting books and discussions out talking about what you have just brought up in thought. Many people turn to living “fake” lives online. once they hit their computers, they feel the ability to disappear and live alternate lives. It can be scary. I wonder how much of the “online” communities or even the computer environment cause this? Are there issues that lead people to use this technology for those purposes and aren’t those the issues? Just thinking here.

    I know for me, the blog world has created in me the ability and need to be even more real and honest than I have ever been. So, the online community for me is almost one of accountability and it is very much tangible and real. I do think people react to this differently though.

    By way of books and such on my computer, I do like the idea of having a very little footprint with stuff. I would love to have a computer that holds all my music, books, newspaper and magazine articles on it. imagine the space I would own after making everything so clean! I actually am probably half of the way there. I do realize that my life is not and should not be spent on a computer. But, I do rely on it for many things.

    Interesting discussion…..

  4. I am an AVID reader… and I do take in a lot online. Sometimes though there is just something about the tactileness (sic) of a book or magazine that I don’t know if I’m quite ready to give up totally:) I recycle everything I can and try to carbon off set and all of that…hmmm…more to ponder

  5. In Worship.

    Over here there is a quite brilliant and loving man by the name of Glenn Capelli. He is a master educator and student of learning (he runs the ‘TRUE Learning Centre’ world wide including in the US where he visits often). I have been fortunate enough to spend some time with Him and participate in learning classes for children as a facilitator While he led the classes.

    He has allowed me understanding of the many ways we as humans pick up what we learn from our environment and that there are many ways we learn and we all have one or two ‘preferences’.

    Such things as being ‘Visual’ learners, Auditiory, Word-based, tactile or ‘hands on’, ( kinesthetic) learners etc.

    These are sometimes but not always reflected in how we express our understanding of a thing…

    I SEE what you mean ( visual)
    I HEAR you man ( Auditory)
    I FEEL like i get what you are saying. ( sensory)
    etc

    The computer has the effect of making us feel more ‘relaxed’ and less tense, as we can often be in social situations, where we ‘have’ to ‘worry’ about how we look to others, how we sound – making fools of ourselves in public and a whole mess of ‘stuff’ that the computer can remove by a level in our mutual communications. it restores a great deal of personal ‘control’ to social contact.

    As Rachelle ( One D) gets well, such control can indeed become – addictive!!! It ( cyberlife) can have a preference inside of us to having to face the negativity and harsh criticism ( both real and imagined) we feel others are constantly thinking about us – judging us more by how we ‘appear’ than how we are.

    it gives us ‘space’ – frees us of some inhibitions.

    But it also holds reason for much concern.

    Humans were not ‘designed’ to interact with each other via computers.

    We NEED genuine loving human contact not that which we can replace it with thanks to a pc ( BELIEVE ME – i KNOW what i am talking about on THIS particular subject – from experiences!)

    My pc is an almost invaluable tool for me… it is my encyclopeadia, dictionary, science guru, telephone, workplace, etc etc. It is a place that allows me to meet human Beings i never could otherwise in a non-‘threateing’ ( MOSTLY!) environment.

    It can certainly become addictive (” I had more time before i started blogging!” πŸ™‚ )

    But i fear it’s power.

    Great tools, printing press. www, etc can be used both for good or for evil and it does not present us with the usual ‘defence mechanisms’ we all have innate within us to see which is which!

    Our children can be at risk even when they are ten feet from us!
    We can never be ‘sure’ who realy is who or who they say they are.

    we need to develop a NEW set of defences to deal adequately with these issues.

    WE also need some ‘balance’ in life and should not replace Life – for Cyber-life. I could go all prophetic and voodoo on yer ass here but let’s try to retain a sense of realism and live in the current world with it’s flaws and it’s merits.

    As long as we Have His Wisdom in us always, we can be on our ‘guard’.

    I could discuss more if wished?

    love

  6. Love – I just have one question, can books be addictive πŸ™‚

    I’m with you though. There is not much wisdom in placing all of our attention in one area. We need the mental stimulation from different varieties of activities and environments.

    I also agree that there is a “cyber life” that can be very dangerous. Obviously with our latest discussion, we can see the impact it may have someone πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Jason

    I can look at a flat page all day, but reading for any length of time on a computer gives me a huge headache and I have also found that I can’t focus on things while driving after doing research for hours and hours on a computer.

    As well, there isthis matter to consider…

    http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/industry/4201645.html

  8. Ahhh In Worship?

    it might be just a nasty coincidence bu i posted a follow up post to the one above this and now it has disappeared ( like my comments do over at bso’s blog now for a strange reason) and there is only J’s last comment – can you see if my post stilll lingers in the cybersphere somewheres? It mentioned a guy by the name of glenn capelli and had a lot to add about communicating – would be a shame to lose it all ?

    ty πŸ™‚

    love

  9. OK!!! I’ve had enough of this! What is up with Love and J????

  10. he starrted it Mom!!!

    love

  11. Well…will someone take the high road here!

  12. Love, I gotta agree here with mama Tam….we’re suppose to love eachother…..J is a dear brother too and the remarks should be no less than building eachother up, the world does enough knocking down….

  13. Clearly, J has the moral high ground!

    I am but a lowly sinner and up to no good – just ask J! I am not worthy to loosen his shoelacets.

    Low road for me then huh? πŸ™‚

    Hi-Ho! Hi Ho! It’s off to work i go!

    Whistling: ‘Always Look on the Bright Side of Life’ as i go πŸ™‚

    love

  14. my shoe is untied

  15. would you yet allow me, as low as i am in your sight, to tie it up that though not trip on your journey’s path towards Him, most mighty J? πŸ™‚

    love

  16. can’t have you ‘falling by the wayside’ over a little thing like a shoelacet – can we? πŸ˜‰

    love

  17. OK – play nice πŸ™„

  18. 18 Jason

    “can’t have you β€˜falling by the wayside’ over a little thing like a shoelacet – can we?”

    Good one!

  19. You know what…this is why I don’t use shoelaces anymore πŸ™‚

  20. 20 Jason

    mmmmmmmmloafers

  21. Good One? πŸ™‚

    i can have my ‘moments’ i guess?? πŸ™‚

    i go barefoot most the time like right now lol – or then there are the good old Aussie Flip Flops! (that’s a type of sandle for the UNeducated!) πŸ˜‰

    Oh – IN Worship? The shoes WITH shoelaces – you ARE supposed to do them up after you put them on and undo them before you take them off – read the instructions! lol πŸ™‚

    love

  22. “read the instructions!”

    So, we aren’t allowed to stretch our minds a bit?

    πŸ™‚


  1. 1 The Grass Is Always Greener…Continued… « inWorship

