I Want To Thank God!

07Nov07

acceptancespeech.jpgSo, I am sitting here watching the CMT Awards. As many of you know, I am not a huge Country music fan, but I can appreciate talent…and there is some πŸ™‚

So anyway, I know we hear it all the time. “I want to thank God”. What does that mean? Does God really care about a music award? Does God really care about Country music so much that all of a sudden He stopped “doing what He does” for just a minute to make sure that the other nominees did not win in their specific category?

This isn’t really a rant, but it is time to think and evaluate. We tend to thank God for things we are happy about, or when things go the way we want. We tend to praise Him when we agree with something. That’s easy. Have you noticed that when people say amen in church, it is often after the Pastor has said something they agree with.

So, if it’s good…its’ God. Is that how it is? But then when something is bad, there is no way it is God. Really? First of all, how do we determine what is good and bad? How is it that we go about labeling things that are of benefit to us and things that we would rather do without.

When the bible says things like, “Be last to be first” and “to gain your life you have to lose it”, are we really understanding what it says? Are we truly asking God to reveal to us what it means to live in surrender to Him? To live like Him? To take on His way of life? Are we allowing His thoughts(which are nothing like our own) to guide our understanding and reasoning? If you were one of the nominees that just lost, would you be thanking God right now? Or worse, would you be thinking that He did not bless you?

When we place God in a box and say that we are blessed only when we receive something that society considers is of value, we are grossly underestimating who God is and who He desires to be in our lives. When we place limits on God and only allow our narrow views or ideas of Him to affect us, we will never experience the full Beauty, Majesty and Power that is our God.

We are always placing God in a box. It’s habit. It’s easy. We have expectations, wishes and desires. I was reminded over at a friends blog today that as we seek God and place our delight in Him, He will place His desires in our hearts.

Psalm 37:4-6

4 Delight yourself in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him, and he will act.

6 He will bring forth your righteousness as the light,
and your justice as the noonday.

Man, I love this! We don’t think right. We can only think as far as we already know. God says His thoughts and ways are nothing like ours. He knows! When we trust, commit and delight ourselves in Him. We know too! Our thoughts become His thoughts. Our expectations, wishes and desires are no longer our own, they are God’s. All of a sudden, what we thought was good and right and just is completely transformed. I want to know what is good and right and just. I cannot know that without first desiring to know God. then, He can teach me, cause He knows!

So what are ways we…or you have put God in a box?

24 Responses to “I Want To Thank God!”

  1. 1 Brandy

    Watching the same thing, and was thinking the same thing. πŸ˜‰

    Not sure if I was a big fan of the “God must be busy” song either. Kinda rubbed the wrong way.

    Maybe this is a bad way to look at it, but I don’t like how they thank God first (not that He shouldn’t be thanked first)… “I want to thank GOD and…..” kinda like they are just getting it out of the way really quick, b/c that’s really all they say, there’s no elaborting on just what God did for them or why they are thanking Him. If they wanted to seem polite and nice they could just get up there, burp, say “excuse me” and get on with it. I think they’d say “excuse me” with the same enthusiasm they thank God with. y/k?

    Maybe you weren’t ranting, but I think I just did. πŸ˜‰
    Bad Brandy. Bad.

  2. I once posted on this too. Maybe you’ll get more conversation out of this on your blog.

    When you just avoid the accident at the intersection then God must have been looking out for you. But if the truck slams into you, does that mean God was distracted? Hmmm.

    In my old church people would stand up and publicly thank God for their promotions, raises, tax refunds and even new cars. It began to make me uncomfortable, especially when there were people sitting in the pews who were in tattered clothing, or experiencing addiction problems or sitting in wheelchairs.

    But, I think that, all glibness aside. an ‘attitude of gratitude’ is something we need to nurture within ourselves and sometimes we take the risk of sounding trite.

    Country music?

  3. 3 Heidi

    I believe we should have a heart of thankfulness, definately for our Lord. But I also think we should also thank God for our weakenesses to. He shows up more in our weakeness than our strengths. For an award, car, or raise? I think thats too much. He wants us to glorify Him not over advertise Him.

  4. Brandy – I know we can’t judge their heart, but that phrase has always come across as, “I have to get this out of the way”. it does rub me wrong.

    Christian – I agree with you. I instantly see those who lost and ask, “Did they not deserve it?”. That is uncomfortable to me as well.

    the book of Romans is all about our transformed mind and life. There is something huge there. We look at things from a human perspective and to truly be godly, we cannot do this. I want His perspective in me.

    Heidi – Your right. We need to Glorify Him, not advertise Him. Well said. This is done by letting Him shine in us, around us, through us. we have to let people see this. They don’t see God when we win, they see us thanking God. Let’s put more focus on letting them see God.

  5. I have been struggling with this one a lot lately. I have reacked a point where I am not sure anymore what to attribute to God. Obviously, more study is required.

    Regarding what Brandy wrote about
    “‘I want to thank GOD and…..’ kinda like they are just getting it out of the way really quick…”
    That is exactly what they are doing, because they know that it is expected, especially at the country music awards.

    Personally, I stopped believing that God was working in awards shows the year that “Titanic” won best movie πŸ™‚

  6. Odgie – That comment on Titanic is hilarious!

    You bring up a thought. I would love to know why these artists thank God. I have heard some that to me are very heartfelt, but most are just as Brandy said, “really quick”. My cynical marketing mind tells me that some get up there knowing that if they say this, people will think they are religious and like them more.

  7. One of the hardest things for me to do as a believer is worship in trials like He intructs. Count it joy???? It never made sense to me..until I tried it. It is possible to see things His way, if we are following His way of doing things. Son leaves for Army, and soon Afghanistan, we praise Him for His promises of safety and return that we find in His word. Mom dying? Thank you God for the eternal hope you bring and that at just the perfect moment you’ll bring her home…peace. As far as these people on TV, ya it may be phoney, or to sell records, or to get in the good graces of the public. But God uses people with evil hearts all the time in His word, and turns it around for His glory. I trust He’ll do the same here, I never know when He is using it to plant a seed.

  8. Let HE who is without Sin, cast the first stone…

    My’Take’ on that is …

    If God/Jesus is not throwing stones why the hell would you?

    Did God talk to you and ‘tell’ you to throw some stones even though He has not? Or are metaphoric stones not ‘counted’ and that makes it all right?

    We know better than to point fingers at other people’s motives for saying what they are saying – Jesus taught us how to be charitable and commanded us to Love our fellow man and woman as ourselves – true?

    If ‘we’ ever won an Award – and had 30 seconds before the crook came out and wrapped around our neck and dragged us off the stage in our 30 seconds of glory.. what exactly would we do? – Make the show run ‘overtime’ – or get past it fast?

    now i KNOW In Worship IS a man of God, error prone as is every human mind when we live in our corrupt body, and reading what He wrote i thought at first how much i AGREE with everything he says above – How this was EXACTLY what i wanted to say and have been trying to get across to you all on my blog and in my comments… And then i felt moved to write the ‘critical’ beginning to IW’s/my words you just read.

    We must be very watchful of our ego and it’s control over the perspective with which we read and speak.

    The ego is all about ‘me too’, ‘I think just the same’. or ‘they are so bad and i am so good’ ‘me right – they wrong’.

    THAT is our ego.

    WE need to Rise Above this when we see and when we hear and when we speak or write…

    By rising Above ourselves we become closer to God and can begin to see things His way instead of the way the ego sees , down here with ‘us’.

    God EXISTS withIN us… once we go inside us we need to then go UP to Jesus and God not ‘down’ to our wretched little ego.

    Then we can truly do better ‘justice’ to the word of God and let Him Shine OUT from deep within our Heart and mind.

    Anything not sound right in this?

    Anything not ‘of God’??

    Anytime we try to put God in ‘our box’ He will break it apart and Show us, gently at first then with increasing ‘force’ in our lives, how ‘wrong’ a thin that is to do to Him.

    He is far greater than we can ever know in our earthly minds His ways are NOT our ways.

    But we can learn how to follow the path He leads us all to.

    There is Joy in That Promise.

    ( Great thought provoking Post B – glad you said it right! πŸ™‚ )

    love

  9. GG – I agree that it starts right there. I don’t think we can truly praise Him for the good until we can truly praise Him for the bad(or what we may consider bad)

    Love – thanks for your thoughts. I agree with you. You love that ego thing don’t ya πŸ™‚ Your right though. It is our ego that does not allow God to shine through. it is our ego that sets the worldly standards that eventually place God in a box in our lives.

    Now I do hope you understand that this post and my comments are not an attempt to “judge” or even criticize what someone may be saying. Not at all. My hope here is for us to look at the standards we set. How we determine good and bad. and who gets the praise or glory when a situation is placed in our laps. Good or bad.

    People on TV will always entertain us, but my life is what counts when I have to account to God for who I’ve been. In a way, I don’t care what they are thinking when they say this, unless of course they are reading this post. Then I want them to be challenged and encouraged.

    By the way, I wish they really had a crook to grab people and pull them off stage. now that would be entertaining. Of course, who would be judging why they should stop their speech πŸ˜‰

  10. 10 Jason

    those were real stones, love.

  11. B, I re-read what I wrote and didn’t mean to sound like I disagreed…it is superficial and aggravating when your having a close walk with the Lord and see stuff like that. I like what you said here “We don’t think right. We can only think as far as we already know. God says His thoughts and ways are nothing like ours. He knows!” Amen!

    I didn’t want you to think I was a snob… πŸ˜‰

  12. “You love that ego thing don’t ya ” my ego was JUST about to SHOUT – NO! I HATE ego!… Then i heard Him… just Love love… Just Love…

    i love my ego – i am just trying not to let it be WHO i am.

    J – they were weren’t they? Maybe God has thrown His first? πŸ˜‰

    i hear you J – i hear you – think you might see your way to returning the courtesy one day?? πŸ™‚

    love

  13. oh and i DEARLY want everyone else to not let THEIR ego be who THEY are either! πŸ˜‰

    hence my blatherings on the topic πŸ™‚

    love

  14. GG – First of all, I would never call you a snob πŸ™‚ Second, I felt you were agreeing with me, so maybe I just know how to read you πŸ˜‰

    Love – I was simply saying that you like to talk about it. i know for certain that you don’t love “it” πŸ™‚ And dude, you never blather…

  15. we understand each other B – Let your molehills not become mountains! πŸ˜‰

    love

  16. So many good things written here:
    Brent, I have thought about that very thing myself. When I hear someone thanking God as quickly (as if reading from a cue-card) as they do their producers, writers, etc – are they truly thankful to God?? I certainly don’t want be the “judge” of where someone’s heart is, I just wonder if they couldn’t have just thanked God for such an undeserved blessing – givng Him sole credit – blew a kiss & walked off stage. (Side note – really – CMT?? Ya know, they have re-run episodes of Monk on) πŸ™‚
    Thank you Christian & GodsGal for such great insight. One of my biggest struggles is to “praise (Him) in the storm.” It’s so easy to focus on the situation, rather than looking up – keeping my eyes on “the maker of heaven & earth.”
    I’m still learning – thank God! πŸ™‚

  17. Jen – We are all learning. And it’s awfully fun to do it together. Gee that sounds Biblical πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your thoughts!

  18. Yep!

    What YOU all said 😳

  19. Sorry hunny…haven’t left a comment – but you managed to leave a few on my site today. That’s like…more than you left last month πŸ˜€

    Love You!

  20. I always cringe a bit when I hear that… I am sure there are times when they mean it, but mostly it is just cliche. I’m not sure God would want to credit for some of what people thanked Him for!

  21. What cracks me up is when you pay someone a compliment to encourage them and they say “it wasn’t me…it was the Lord.” I know what they mean but it always cracks me up. I want to say no the Lord would have done it a lot better. I am kidding.

  22. Rochelle – It would be interesting if God would want credit for certain things…

    Jenny – You are KILLING me! LOL!!!

  23. 23 Fat Man

    Seems to me we ask for things continually but rarely say thanks. I thank Creator each day for the wonderful life he has allowed for me.


  1. 1 Too good not to share! « inProgress

