The Mullet – Part 1 of 3

31Oct07

Hair is the first thing. And teeth the
second. Hair and teeth. A man got
those two things he’s got it all.
-James Brownย 

There has been some discussion recently of a specific hairdo, that I once was the owner of. I need to take a minute and share with you my thoughts on this…

“The Mullet”

Many have attempted to understand the complexity of this beast. Many have often, in their own fear, discounted it’s value and worth. The word “mullet” originates from the French “molette,” which means “magnificent style” or “magnificent beauty.” There are many different kinds of mullets. The Skullet, the Frullet, the Tropical, the Femullet. It is said that the mullet dates back to the 19th century where fisherman of the time would grow their hair out to keep them warm. The mullet is actually a very complex beast. As is found here in the Havelock Equation,

“In the strictest sense every mullet follows the Havelock Equation (T < B). To explain the concept an illustration will be made. Supposing that a waterfall in Kentucky exists with water cascading down in the traditional sense. The depth of water on the top of the cascade is, shall we say, 3 feet, while the length of descent is 42 yards. In this example where T = the depth at the top of the fall (3) and B = the length of descent of the water (42), 3 will be less than 42, or top will always be shorter than back. “ source mulletmadness.com

So what is it? Has it gotten a bad wrap? Is it purely a bad hairdo from the 70’s and 80’s? I beg to differ. Many great men…and women have sported thisย  hairdo and have done it proudly.

Tomorrow we will tackle other amazing questions that relate to the mullet.

On Friday, I will open up the blog to show and tell where we all can proudly display our mullets…of course that may just be me ๐Ÿ˜‰

*If you would like to continue this research, you can head over to Mullets Galore, Mullet Madness, or Wikipediaย 

9 Responses to “The Mullet – Part 1 of 3”

  1. 1 Ed

    inWorship, you are talking about an issue I, sadly, can no longer speak on. Hair! :).

    Back in the day when I had my magnificent golden locks, the only question was would I run out brylcreem before I could sculpt my hair into the perfect shape. :).

    We won’t talk about the 1950’s and the DA (Duck’s A…., well you know)

    I am sure I was undoubtedly idolized by my comrades. I am also sure those girls were laughing at someone else. :).

    inWorship you certainly are very knowledgeable concerning โ€œThe Mulletโ€. Have you ever thought about teaching a course on Mulletology?

  2. Ed – Hahahahaha!

    The Duck A.., you really had one? That’s funny.

    I do know for certain that I am not an expert…except by experience of course ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. i hope friday never comes

  4. a man got hair and teeth – he got it all?

    I got hair – sure more of it grows these days in places i would prefer it didn’t than where i prefer it did and used to in profusion once, but still – I still got it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    IW – moulette? oh come come now… it is NO ‘accident’ that those first ones were worn by 19th century FISHermen The Mullet is a Fish and i can assure you, as can anyone who ever saw one up close and ‘personal’, they are NO ‘magnificent beauty’ dude!

    Tam can vouch for me I am sure! ( giggle)

    For anyone who has ‘doubts’ about the ‘beauty’ of the mullet i have three little words for you…

    Achy Breaky Heart!
    ’nuff said?

    I got Friday on my miiiiiind!

  5. 5 Nevin

    War Mullets!! War Mullets!! All wannabe rock star keyboard players who wish they could be guitar players had em. We all turned out perfectly normal.

  6. lwbut – I love ya dude, but frankly, I don’t want to know about your body hair ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I know, the fish aren’t magnificent., but the “molette” is, don’t ya think ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You will truly enjoy Friday, I am sure…

    Nevin – I love to hear you type! And I see absolutely no issues here…perfectly normal! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. lwbut – I love ya dude, but frankly, I donโ€™t want to know about your body hair

    Neither do I In Worship but i just wanted someone to share my pain ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Magificent? Ummm..errr… show me a picture before i decide there will Ya Guy? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I bet Tam would look magnificent in a ‘moulette’! lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

    love

  8. You and Tammy are the funniest bloggers I “know!” I got to meet your sweet wife tonight at the Harvest party…her: cute, passing out goodies in the prize room; me: could’ve done my hair today, waiting for daughter to pick out prized goodies (with all of four tickets) and 14 month old in frog costume screaming (way past his bedtime).

    I, for one, am waiting with bated breath for the mullet pics. I do believe my now husband tried to grow a mullet when we were in high school although I think it was more the short hair on top, curly grown out hair on bottom look. Gross! I’ll be back on Friday. Oh! I love the TRF blog list. Thanks for adding me via Jen :-).

  9. Kelly – thanks for stopping in and don’t be a stranger. I would love to meet you, come up and say hey this weekend. Your kid was a frog, that’s awesome. I would have loved to have seen that.

    Well, Friday will be the day. I will have post 2 tomorrow…just to give a little more mullet info ๐Ÿ™‚

    If your husband has pics, send them my way. l am going to post all the pics I get.

    lwbut – Share your pain ๐Ÿ™‚

    And Tam looks good in anything!



