This Is My Point

29Oct07

political-2.jpgI spoke a couple weeks ago about my frustration with the Media’s involvement in the Presidential race. It is bad enough that we have to endure it for 2 years. we also have to wade through the murky waters the media have created. How can we even get to know a candidate these days? It is a source of question and frustration for me. there is so much opinion and rhetoric and special interest…I don’t know who to listen to or who to trust.

I read this article today and it just confirmed my concerns.

Click here to read…

So, what are all of you doing to get to know the candidates? What do you see as the “correct” way in finding out about who they are? And what could we do in the future to make this process more informative and less painful?

42 Responses to “This Is My Point”

  1. I’m not a fan of government telling us exactly what we should or should not do, but I often wonder if the press and media should be allowed to ever give an opinion about anything. I’m not talking about the opinion section of the newspaper, that’s clearly marked as “opinion.” I’m talking about when newspapers and other media endorse one candidate or another. That just rubs me the wrong way.

    However, at least they’re being “out” in their support one way or the other, so maybe that’s a good thing.

    I don’t know. I used to be a very politically involved Christian. Now, I’m getting to the point where my beliefs and views haven’t changed, but no matter who we put in office, it won’t make a difference anyway. I know that’s pessimistic, but I’m just tired of all the politics that comes with politics. The older I get, the more I realize that there is NO ONE who even comes close to what I’m looking for in a leader on either side of the political spectrum. Scrap the whole system apart from the Constitution and the Scripture and start all over.

    Bah humbug!

  2. Jeff I feel your pain πŸ™‚ that’s why I wrote this.

    I understand that people don’t seem to be living up to expectations anymore and it is difficult to figure out who to put our vote/faith in. But, that is kind of what I am talking about. How do we even know if they don’t add up?

    I am not a fan of the political process, but I am a fan of voting. I am NOT a person however that will vote against something. I think that is silly and juvenile. We need to be people that are voting FOR something. I will find the candidate that I feel is the most qualified, by Biblical standards. And, being a Christian is not the only Biblical standard. Frankly, I think that has less to do with it anymore. With that being said, my candidate will be one that professes a faith in Jesus…not just God.

    And, don’t even get me started on the media. There is not a single “news” source anymore…find me one! There is only “opinion” programming today. I tend to stay away from “those” sources that I would not agree with their opinion on. Because I know undoubtedly that the “news” I will hear will have spin.

  3. 3 Ed

    I agree that the news coverage we get from the mainstream media sources, tv, newspapers, is window dressing at best. I have never found a unbiased reporter or news column.

    I am very encouraged however by the access to information about issues and candidates the Internet provides. Anyone who wants to take the time can find out anything that want to know about issues or candidates. The complete text of almost all political speeches are now available somewhere on the Internet.

    In my fathers day the only thing voters cared about a candidate was what party they belonged to. Even in the 1950’s it was the guys in the smoke filled back rooms who picked the candidates, not the voters.

    Much more information is now available and I have no doubt this trend will continue in the future. I also think that the majority of young people I talk to today are better informed than back when I was growing up in the 50’s.

    I understand that everyone is very busy these days. Still with the easy with which one can surf the Internet every one could make the time to become better informed.

    Even before the Internet I used the library to read, for free, many different papers and magazines, each with their own bias.

    People will spend time on what is important to them. If they choice not take the time to research issues and candidates, don’t blame the system. The information is there.

    I can recommend the paper I have found to have the least bias, the Christian Science Monitor. I read the online edition every day. It has an international reputation for fair reporting. If an atheist like me can recommended it it can be too bias.

    The Monitor also reports on the positive ways people are helping each other. Stuff I don’t see much of in other papers. I point you to one recent article – “American youths bridge religious divides” http://www.csmonitor.com/2007/1024/p13s01-lire.html .

    Thanks for providing me with the opportunity for my own political rant. πŸ™‚

  4. Ed – You are welcome to rant anytime you’d like πŸ™‚

    I appreciate the recommendation for the Christian science Monitor, I will make sure to check it out. I’ve heard of it, but never taken the time to check it out.

    I understand, as you do, the infinite possibilities in finding info on the internet, but I am sometimes cynical and am not sure which sites to truly trust. Maybe you could recommend some for good info on the candidates. I have some opinions of mine already and would love to red more to either confirm or deny them πŸ™‚

    Anyway, thanks for taking your time Ed, don’t be a stranger.

  5. InWorship, much as i would love to thrill you all with my wit and wisdom concerning politics as much as i already do with Religion ( LOL !!! πŸ™‚ ) That’s a whole mess i really don’t want to consider right now as we have our own election in 3 weeks time – PRAY for me/us – please? 😦

    I promise to do the same for you closer to yours! πŸ˜‰

    FYI – Aussie politics get more like yours every single day. 😦

    Blame it solely on all that MONEY that is riding on this!

  6. 6 Ed

    My computer crashed a couple of weeks ago and I lost all of my links. Arrrhg!

    I am now rebuilding my favorite places and have found the three sites below to be very comprehensive in providing information about the candidates and issues. I would suggest you read their FAQ and “About” pages to judge for yourself whether they have a political bias.

    C-Span – a good resource for information about candidates:
    http://www3.capwiz.com/c-span/e4/?

    On the Issues – a good sources for the views of candidates on issues:
    http://www.ontheissues.org/default.htm

    On Issues & Debates – very comprehensive information about issues :
    http://www.politics1.com/issues.htm

  7. 7 Ed

    I should add that since I am retired I can spend more of my time researching politics, science, basket weaving, etc. instead of a silly thing like work. πŸ™‚

  8. lwbut – We will be praying. Of course, the invitation to rant is open to you as well…if you see the need πŸ™‚

    Ed – Basket Weaving. See now, if I was retired this would be my focus as well πŸ™‚

  9. Ed – I just saw your comment was in moderation. Thanks for the links, I will definitely be checking them out.

  10. I am really frustrated too. Jeff and I have discussed how we should best go about finding out about the candidates, especially since the kiddos are so interested in it now, but we are at a loss.

    And keep striving for discipline. Try not to be discouraged if for one reason or another you feel like you’ve failed. We believe in you and the passions God placed in your heart to be like him

  11. I forgot to mention that at this point Jeff and I wish we could vote for Stephen Cobert. We do love his “American Dream” ice cream.

  12. I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack. πŸ˜‰

  13. Bran, what!? You’re back and failed to visit me???

  14. Solacgeirl – Can’t he be a write in? πŸ™‚ Also, check out the links that Ed left, there is some good stuff there.

    Brandy – I’m sorry, do I know you?

  15. 15 brightshinyobject

    I read the last couple of paragraphs in any newspaper article (not editorial). usually, facts that the writer does not want to surface are there, perhaps they want to maintain a patina of integrity, so they stuff it in at the end, and then get all defensive what someone calls them on their angle.

    I just wish that people would just have the package to SAY what their agenda is, at least we could fish through the slant.

    “You can wish in one hand, and you can crap in the other, and see which one fills up first.”
    -Burgess Meredith in “Grumpy Old Men”

  16. “I just wish that people would just have the package to SAY what their agenda is, at least we could fish through the slant.”

    This was perfectly said…

  17. Hi B, Awesome blog….love it! Thanks for the picture fix…(was that you?) Great discussion…I can’t help but think about all of the hidden agendas going on in all of the Governments….I know that God is bringing everything around, but still….I was really hoping you would write a whole blog on the voting for vs. voting against concept. It really changed how I look at things. I think the thing that gets to me the most are people who don’t discuss, or vote and feel they have a right to gripe….uh……no……great entry.

  18. 18 Ed

    Gods Gal, You are 100% correct about people who won’t take five minutes to vote but that do nothing but complain about the result.

    I have some atheist friends who complain about the “influence” of the religious “right wing”. These same people then talk about how voting is a waste of time.

    I admire the passion with which many religious leader bring to politics. I give them credit for getting their community out to vote.

    The rest of the country could learn a lesson from these leaders.

  19. Ed – I appreciate the kind words for Christian leaders. Generally we are ridiculed and piled into a group of homophobic, racial hypocrites. They are out there, but they are fewer than we think.

    I am however, one that often is critical of my fellow believers in the political process. I know of one Christian organization that is deciding to cast “non” votes for opposing candidates if they don’t like who is chosen to be the Republican runner. I don’t agree with this and it frustrates me.

    I think we all can learn lessons from those who vote passionately and appropriately…Christian or not.

    Thanks for the comments πŸ™‚

  20. Tam! So sorry! I did visit you but didn’t comment. I got sidetracked at Rachele’s blog and then logged off. I’m a ditzy blogger…..all over the place and then can’t find my way back! πŸ˜‰

    Brent, you may remember me….
    red hair, blue eyes, talks a lot, laughs a lot, I think we’ve met. AH HA HA! πŸ˜‰

    So you come to my blog and all you have to say is “glad you’re back?” heeheeeeee (evil laughing)

    Glad to be back. πŸ˜€

  21. Oh crap I know you πŸ™‚

    Just kidding. Why are you responding to tam here? Go talk to tam there…oh wait you already did. Never mind. Stay here πŸ™‚

  22. I agree. When one person owns the majority of all the media anyway… we have to know there is an agenda.

  23. Rochelle – Thanks for stopping by. Their are definite agenda’s. I think it is important for people to truly educate themselves to the process and the candidates. It is amazing how much we rely on our perceptions.

    It would be interesting if we were required to read something or study something before we could vote…

  24. Gee, i know i said i wouldn’t ( discuss politics with my election no only 24 days away) But i just had a thunk and i can’t help myself (as some of you may have picked up on by now! πŸ˜‰ )

    Anyone like me think ‘democracy’ stinks cos we never get to pick who gets picked for us to vote for (or does that not matter because it’s all ‘party’ politics anyway – you got just two choices – Live with it?? ( NO! Thank you but… NO!!! I refuse to be so damn restricted!)

    Here’s what i think would help

    We get a ‘third’ choice – NONE of the Above – that way we tell ‘Da Man’ ( men) that their choices are NOT acceptable to us and we want another ‘pick’ made. If enough people dislike the two main party candidates (and from the numbers of you guys who ‘elect’ to vote i think the majority would tick this box if they ever actually went in to a booth and had the choice to).

    Then we would all need to ‘vote’ again.. and a gain.. and a gain… Until we get it RIGHT! Until THEY – get it!

    Get that we want someone WE want to govern us not who THEY want to. What we are in fact so demanding – is Democracy – the power of the People, not the party!

    We should not be voting for some guy who does not know us – cares not a jot for us, or our families – the people we care about most.

    We should be voting for someone who LIVES in our community – with US cares about the things WE care about because he or she is one of US – not some ‘party’ that tries to be all things to all people and are really only in it for what they can get out of it.

    When we all have done that and our representative is elected then THEY get to decide who speaks for them in Government and their decision is directly accountable to US If we don’t like it we can tell them and why and get them to think again. If they are being bought out by powerful side interests we have the power to harangue them personally to make them more accountable.

    It needs a drastic overhaul of present systems but how many of us think the system we have is in any way working or is a ‘true’ democracy anymore?

    “None of the Above!”
    (Apologies to the writers of that movie with the same kind of theme… you know the one i’m thinking of? Right?) πŸ™‚

  25. Generally you are painting a picture of how our(USA’s) Congress and Senate should work. We hand pick them. They are local and people who live among us. we have seen them function and work within our hometowns and we know them pretty well.

    The problem at this point is that once they get to COngress or the Senate, they seem to cease being the people we had voted for and start joining “forces” with special interest and big government.

    I do however LOVE the idea of no parties. Just representatives. Although, I think the whole voting process in Congress and the Senate rely on 2 parties.

  26. everyone is aware of the concept (at least) of ‘Divide and Conquer’? Right?

    Just why do you folk REALLY think you have two party’s to ‘choose’ from? to give you a CHOICE????

    Keep on taking the blue pills guys and don’t forget to split yourselves into ‘Two’ and vote for only ‘one’ πŸ˜‰

  27. I hear you, my point is that everything is funneled through a system that is neither appropriate or functioning.

  28. 28 Ed

    LWBUT:

    “It needs a drastic overhaul of present systems but how many of us think the system we have is in any way working or is a β€˜true’ democracy anymore?”

    I think the American version of democracy is working very well. I think a two party system provides more stability than the coalition governments I see in other countries. It is far too easy for one section of the coalition to back out and then the whole government ceases to function.

    Too implement any policy in a country of over 200(?) million people takes organization. Trying to get 10, or 100 or any number, of different parties to work together is just about impossible.

    “Anyone like me think β€˜democracy’ stinks cos we never get to pick who gets picked for us to vote for (or does that not matter because it’s all β€˜party’ politics anyway – you got just two choices – Live with it?? ( NO! Thank you but… NO!!! I refuse to be so damn restricted!)”

    Isn’t that what the primaries are all about? I see a lot more than 2 candidates running for office.

    All it takes to run for any office is to get enough voters to sign a partition to get you on the ballot. The number varies in each city and state.

    In the last Senate race here in Connecticut, the incumbent senator, Joe Liberman lost his parties nomination. He ran as a independent and won reelection.

    In the 2004 Presidential election here in Connecticut Ralph Nader got 12,000 votes. The Green and Libertarian parties got over 12,000 votes collectively and write in candidate Roger Calero 12 votes. My guess is Roger has at least 12 people in his family. πŸ™‚

    “We get a β€˜third’ choice – NONE of the Above – that way we tell β€˜Da Man’ ( men) that their choices are NOT acceptable to us and we want another β€˜pick’ made.”

    (snip)

    “Then we would all need to β€˜vote’ again.. and a gain.. and a gain… Until we get it RIGHT! Until THEY – get it!”

    If you don’t like the candidates then that is exactly what you should do. Our town voters rejected the city budget six times before it was reduced enough to pass. Of course then everybody complained about each departments budget cuts and lay offs.

    I’ll take the American system of government, and the two party system, over any of the others I know about.

  29. 29 Ed

    inWorship:

    “They are local and people who live among us. we have seen them function and work within our hometowns and we know them pretty well.

    The problem at this point is that once they get to COngress or the Senate, they seem to cease being the people we had voted for and start joining β€œforces” with special interest and big government.”

    I agree with you on this point. Good, well meaning, local politicians get to Washington, DC, and get overwhelmed, and seduced, by the special interest.

    We do need to find a way to reduced the influence of the lobbyist(?) our elected officials all too often come to rely on for money.

  30. Ed – What do you think it is that encourages them to get lost in the mix? Is it money? Is it just the need to survive…”dog eat dog”?

    Everything I speak of is definitely opinion, cause I have never been in any of their shoes. I can assume, but I am curious.

  31. 31 Ed

    Ah! I get to discuss religion, politics and Mullets all in one place. πŸ™‚

    My guess is the more time a newly elected official spends with the “politicos” in Washington the more they begin to think and act like them. The more disconnected they become from the the local community that elected them.

    If a newly elected official wants to gain any influence they must learn to compromise. “You vote for my bill and I’ll vote for your bill.” So you don’t take a close look at the other guys bill because you need his vote.

    You have every intention of taking a stand on an issue. Then the head of your party, or even the President himself, calls you into their office and offers a seat on their committee in exchange for your vote. You need to get on a committee to gain influence so you compromise your ideals. The devils bargain. Pretty soon you have lost your self.

    The control over this is that every politician has to go back home to get the votes to be reelected.

    I also think it is much harder now to get away with corruption than at any time in the past.

    Congressman are becoming more independent. In the days of Lyndon Johnson the majority leader in the Senate was almost a demigod. Lyndon Johnson was probably capable of anything. He did however get some very good legislation passed.

    I would like to see term limits extended to the Senate and possibly the House of Representatives. A Senator gains too much power if they are in office 20+ years. There isn’t anything more corrupting than power.

    Perhaps if TV ads for politicians were eliminated they would not have to turn to the special interest groups for money.

  32. I said i was NOT going to do this – so why am i??? πŸ™‚

    “The control over this is that every politician has to go back home to get the votes to be reelected. ”

    You really think this ‘controls’ the situation Ed ? You fallen for that BS huh?

    It doesn’t matter WHO we pick in this kind of ‘democracy’.

    Ed got it in one – once you become part of the system that currently exists you lose contact with who you are and why you got in there in the first place.

    The one of TWO party’s ( Oppositions – conflict – ruling PARTYS – Ideologies – that are actually pretty much now one and the same in all but name). If you can make the leaders of each party believe in the same thing (self-interst/power you can control the WEALTH of the entire nation easily – no problems asked… well none worth paying any real attention to anyways!

    So Ed – if you do live in America, you happy with everything your governemnt’s done lately? Think no-one could do it any better than George has?

    Maybe the Democrats will do a better job in 2009 huh? Like you have any other real ‘choice’ – yeah vote independent – I am so certain America will one day have an independent President lolololololol. Divide and Conquer – isn’t that what ‘democracy’ is all about these days? In the name of FREEEEDOOOMMMM!!! yet ( someone shoot me now!)

    Is that what we all want – because we have never yet found a ‘better’ system??
    Oh Yeah.. lets all turn and see what a wonderful Utopia Communism provides us with – or Fascism – or Dictatorships?

    Our must be the best because it is ‘all there is’ – Yeah – Right!

    Just put it down to me being a Grumpy Old Man and leave it at that, huh?

    Where’s my Blue Pill?? can’t seem to remember where i put it???….

    love

  33. Obviously we aren’t going to solve any issues here. I think we can all agree there are some. They are best served by us using the system we have to make things happen. as things take place, I truly believe we can adjust and shake things up.

    It really would take a large group of people steeping up and be unified in their wishes. Which is kind of scary. that size of a group could do as much damage as good.

    I know this. I will be voting. I will be voting FOR someone, not against someone. And I will be encouraging others to do the same.

  34. 34 Ed

    LWBUT,

    I put your post down to being a grumpy old man if you put mine down to being a grumpy older man. πŸ™‚

    How can I complain about a system that pays me social security?

    Heck I can almost fill up the gas tank on my car with all that money. πŸ™‚

  35. “Heck I can almost fill up the gas tank on my car with all that money.”

    Definite can of worms…Did you hear oils up to $94 a barrel?

    And no this is not a change of topic, open for discussion πŸ˜‰

    Just another concern…

  36. Ed – Deal! – us GOM’s gotta stick together! – so we don’t get ‘lost’ πŸ˜‰

    I can recommend switching to LPG/LNG if you ever get the opportunity to upgrade – you know like if you win lotto/the lottery?My Ford Fairlane only needs $15 bucks to ‘fill’ my tank πŸ™‚ 0 But don’t spread the word too far – those little suckers in the tax office are just waiting till we all get onto it before they hike the levy sky-high.

    Money – the love of is the evil therein.

    IW – you’re just too darn ‘nice! – ya know that dude? πŸ™‚

    love

  37. 37 Ed

    The tax man is certainly doing his share to brake our piggy banks. πŸ™‚

    As of today a chart on the link below shows that Federal and State taxes add approximately 62 cents per gallon to the price of gasoline.

    I wonder if the Amish pay tax on the hay they feed there horses? πŸ™‚

    http://www.connecticutgasprices.com/tax_info.aspx

  38. “IW – you’re just too darn β€˜nice! – ya know that dude?”

    It’s a curse…but don’t tell Tam I said that, she may have info to the contrary πŸ™‚

    “I wonder if the Amish pay tax on the hay they feed there horses?

    Ed, probably not, but I bet we do. I am sure that tax is in there somewhere πŸ™„

  39. 39 brightshinyobject

    LWBUT,

    Where’s my Blue Pill?? can’t seem to remember where i put it???….

    hahahahahahaha!

    gimme somadat

  40. Soma Dat???

    bso – I need mine but you can probably get ‘soma’ over on Soylent Green! πŸ™‚ over there ======>

    love

  41. But it wouldn’t be blue πŸ™‚

  42. Lol!

    “Don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes, don’t it make my brown eyes….Blue?”



