What Do I Have To Give?

25Oct07

drylakebed.jpg

So I sit here watching Virginia Tech and Boston College go at it. Of course being a Duck fan, I am rooting for VT, I want to see them knock Boston(sorry Mandy) out of the top ten and give our Ducks another spot. So far I have no point, so let’s get to it.

I want to write…blog….post something. I tried to post “nothing” one time and it became a journey of a whole bunch of things. Sometimes I post about family…I love my family and thoroughly enjoy sharing them with you. Sometimes I am serious, but most the time I am light.

I sit here tonight and I want to write, about something, anything and I realize, I am blank. But even in my “blankness” I keep thinking (I am always thinking). I try to think about why I am blank. Maybe I am tired…no. Maybe I am just relaxed…a little (it is my “Friday”). Maybe I don’t have anything new to share. Maybe I am blank because I have not been feeding my mind, as I should. I am realizing just that. I have not been feeding myself well this week.

I have a couple of books that I want to read. I have started reading through and gradually studying Isaiah. This week, I have not read anything. I am finding that I have something to share only when I am learning something.

I love reading blogs. Many of you have given me some great things to think about this week. You’ve challenged me, encouraged me, made me laugh and you’ve kept me on my toes. My life needs to be an example of my relationship with Jesus. My words need to be an outpouring if Him pouring into me. I have not allowed that to happen this week.

I have talked about discipline on this blog before and had a great conversation with a friend of mine last week. I have yet to fulfill the commitment I made to her. Discipline is “delayed gratification”. It is placing what is most important or most vital as the greatest priority. Doing this leads to amazing blessing and benefits down the road. Think about a saving account you have added small consistent amounts into over years an years. I know what discipline is. It is why I started this blog.

So where is this going? I choose tonight to get back into a schedule. Something that will help me be accountable to my time in the Word with God. Something to keep me filled with His wisdom and in turn something that will give me the ability to share with you how awesome He is and how amazing He is in my life.

“Holy Fire Burn Away, My desire for anything, That is not of you but is of me, I want more of You and less of me. Empty me, Fill me.”

I want to hear from you. What keeps you focused? Disciplined? What keeps you fed, allowing you to share what He is doing in your life?

24 Responses to “What Do I Have To Give?”

  1. 1 Momma Jen

    I attend TRF and have been for about 7+ years. TRF keeps me fed. I can’t name one person or one thing: the music is amazing (thanks by the way); the teaching gets better & better every year I’m there; the friends, TRUE friends, I’ve made (rather,the Lord has blessed me with) help keep me accountable & afloat; and the bible studies TRF offers are life changing. Much like our “physical” health, our spiritual well being is healthier when we have a variety of “foods.” At this season in my life, Jeremy Riddle (Full Attention)is my main staple… you should try him, if you haven’t already.

  2. 2 Maddy Storie's daughter

    It is okay to just BE friend. We are so accustomed to performance of daily life that when it comes to our “friday’, we start thinking, and over-thinking about what we ought to have done this past week, or what we should be doing to prepare for the next! How about doing something you love doing? I find that when I run on a schudule that when it comes to “down-time, or my Fridays” I feel so good about being brainless. WE need those times to literally just…. “be”

  3. 3 Storie

    my 11 year old is bright….very. But that last comment was from me.
    Storie:–)

  4. Momma Jen – Thanks so much for the kind words. And thank you for stopping by. Please catch me after a service so I can put a face with a name. I truly appreciate your comments!

    Storie – I love Fridays(my Saturday’s) cause they are the time when Tammy and I run errands and get coffee and just spend relaxed time together. I am truly looking forward to that tomorrow.

    I think(what I’m trying to say) that I have not properly conditioned my spiritual body this week. I don’t have expectations on myself except that I should be able to shine for Him and share with others what He is doing in me. I want God to be known in everything I do. So, I am disappointed with myself for not doing this the way I know I can or at least to the standard that I have set for myself in my quiet times with Him.

    I’m having a hard time articulating this. It’s not that I need to achieve something or that He isn’t capable of shining through me whatever “condition” I am in. I just feel that I have not given him the proper chance.

    Make sense?

  5. 5 Storie

    a little clarification…
    when I run on a schedule…which means, scheduling and then sticking to it, (getting done the nuts and bolts of what is most important), I am better then in my off time of being brainless. However, I am not brainless by nature (some might feel differently) This too is a discipline. Because I run on a scheudle and do my best to “work when i working”–being productive, I am not afraid to throw my computer and cell phone into the river, so to speak and take some time for me.
    I hear so many, so often, comparing their own weaknesses against everyone else’s strengths….we ought to relax, and just “be”. What you bring to the table B is enough. Set your scheudle for next week….as they say “plan your work, and then work your plan.”, and then just enjoy being brainless.:–) It is in my seemigly “brainless” times that I am restored, renewed and rejuventated for present work at hand. It’s all good….

  6. 6 Storie

    B–this in response to your comment.
    yes, but you are perhaps being hard on yourself. this week God reminded my that he is in our “mistakes”…that is “our percieved mistakes”. K (my adolescent driver) took 2 wrong turns on our way to dinner with the in-laws. The result: we ran into my brother (my prodigal bro) that was on his way to our home, by foot with a huge, heavy back pack. Trav is mentally disabled. He had traveled from Talent that morning, and 5 hours later on that one specific road our paths crossed. God spoke to all of us….all 5 of us that he is in our lives…. the good, the bad, the ugly, the process! My daughter, who is really questioning things right now looked at Trav and said “you were supposed to be here…we are all where we are supposed to be right now.” Ye
    Yes, we can all do better. But I love that God knows my heart, and inspite of me, He is still at work.

  7. I ma sure I am being hard on myself. I don’t do this to the point of getting down on myself…I usually just challenge myself to something greater. I only truly get disappointed when I feel that I have let God down. I know I can’t, but I believe strongly about how powerful He can work in and through us when we let Him. That is my passion.

    BUT, aside from all my selfishness…I completely agree with you that inspite of ME, He is still at work. I never want to make anyone believe that I, somehow, have stopped the Almighty from accomplishing His will. He will inspite of me.

  8. 8 Storie

    B- I really do understand what you are saying. I live in this “mind process.” There are seasons where I am so proud of myself because i am “so” on-it!! AND it!1 andre cl

  9. 9 Storie

    oops…hit the wrong button.
    any ways…I am so on-it, and things are going well. I know that I am truly seeking for every opportunity that he has. and then he smacks me in a loving way and shows me that He is on the throne…at work, inspite of me. I suppose it is no different than being like the kids that partake in “dad’s work” or those that are sleeping in while dad does his work.
    the work gets done. it is just a matter of whether we choose to be a part of it or not. I love being in the MIDDLE of what He is doing:–)
    does this make ANY sense?

  10. It makes complete sense.

    the work gets done. it is just a matter of whether we choose to be a part of it or not.

    This is where I am coming from. He has been working around me and in me all week…I just feel that I have not been much help 🙂

  11. 11 Storie

    absolutely…
    thank you for this blog-topic. It is very thought-provoking…
    Have you read the book or the study by Henry Blackaby–Experiencing God?

  12. Actually yes. Years ago tam and I went through the study. I still have the work books in my office and I have referenced them a couple of times.

  13. Momma Jen – I forgot to say. Jeremy Riddle’s album is one of my favorite and quickly becoming all time favorite. We will be doing some of his tunes in church soon.

  14. My Tuesday night men’s group is extremely helpful. Recently we set up a cool email accountability group. It’s been very cool.

  15. been reading a ton…that has def. been keeping me on target.

    lately a worship CD by Michael Neale has really got into my soul.. No greater Audience..

    he said something once at a worship conference i was at…I was asking God why his songs were not being picked up by music studios…why he wasnt reaching the masses..
    God told him…Son…I love Your songs…

    There truly is “no greater audience” there is no higher priveledge then to sing a song of love to OUR king.

  16. Mudpuppy – I remember reading about that. Glad it is going well for you guys. I have 1 or 2 in my life that are always “on me”. one of them is a fellow Pastor I work with and before I left work yesterday, we talked about this. He is always encouraging and challenging. He also gives me ahard time if I am blogging too much 🙂

    Klampert – I am going to have to pull out that CD again. When I first received it, I listened through twice, but it didn’t grab me. i need to throw the headphones on and really listen one more time.

    His quote…and yours are perfect and right on!

  17. I hear Ya B! You gotta know many of us feel the way you are doing at times of course. But that doesn’t really help you ‘out’ any huh?.

    I have already asked Tam to pass a quote or two of mine over your way.

    Recently i said ( to you) you don’t say much but when you do it is spot on.

    Here is a better way of saying what i think could help a little bit and Ronan Keating sang it best in my mind:

    It’s amazing
    How you can speak
    Right to my heart
    Without saying a word,
    You can light up the dark
    Try as I may
    I could never explain
    What I hear when
    You don’t say a thing

    [CHORUS:]
    The smile on your face
    Lets me know
    That you need me
    There’s a truth
    In your eyes
    Saying you’ll never leave me
    The touch of your hand says
    You’ll catch me
    Whenever I fall
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all

    All day long
    I can hear people
    Talking out loud
    But when you hold me near
    You drown out the crowd
    (The crowd)
    Old Mr. Webster
    Could never define
    What’s been said
    Between your
    Heart and mine

    [Repeat chorus twice]

    (You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all)

    The smile on your face
    The truth in your eyes
    The touch of your hand
    Let’s me know
    That you need me

    (You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all)

    … 🙂

  18. Thanks for feeling my pain lwbut 🙂

    And I think Allison Krause sang it best 😉

  19. YOU say it best! – Oh Wise, silent one. 😉

  20. does anyone remember Keith Whitley?

  21. Keith Whitley – Yah – he died from alcohol didn’t he?

  22. Can’t say i do although I believe he was one of the ‘original’s to sing it.

    But how can you go past such a sweet oirish accent me boyo’s??? – It’s stil Ronan for me!

    Alcohol killed my Uncle Bernie – he was run over by a beer truck! 😉

  23. “Alcohol killed my Uncle Bernie – he was run over by a beer truck!”

    I remember that…wasn’t he on a date with my Aunt Edith 🙂

  24. Hahahahahahahahaha! :d

    Could be – he was always unlucky in love and had a thing for hairy women!



