Mixing It Up “Jazz Style” – Part 2

13Oct07

jazzlogo.jpgToday was fun. It definitely is nothing like my gig at the fair last Summer. Some of you may know this, but there is totally a “Jazz” culture. The way they dress and talk. The way they dance. The jokes! I heard some of the worst jokes ever today…from the artists! Here’s one. “A guy walks into a bar holding a piece of asphalt. He says to the bartender. Give me one and one for the road.”

AHHHHHHHHH!

Anyway. As always, I met some great “characters” today. I met a guy named Paul that travels the country(he is retired) just to attend Jazz festivals. He said of the 40 or so a year he attends, this is one of his favorite. That’s pretty cool. I met a lady named Gwen today. She is the door lady at the venue I am at. She has been the door lady at this venue every year of the Medford Jazz Jubilee. This year is #19. That is commitment. The interesting thing is that the median age at our venue today was easily 60. Does this mean that jazz is a dying musical style? They said we had 1500 people walk through our venue today. I am estimating that 30 of them were under 40. I am serious. That is wild. What is going to happen in 20 years to jazz music? I know a ton more young people that enjoy oldies and r&B of the 50’s than I do jazz. I guess it’s appeal is pretty small. I am sure that jazz being a music of a time period has something to do with it as well. I wonder if we will have rap in 50 years? Sorry, just dreaming…

So, I ran sound for 6 different bands today. The highlights were definitely Gator Beat a Zydeco band and Club 7 a traditional jazz band. Gator Beat has got an amazing “Bayou” sound and Club 7 has one of the best Clarinet players I have ever heard in my life.Cool stuff. The other 4 bands were a mix of traditional and swing. One band had a nice set of gospel music. Club 7 played an amazing version of “Just A Closer Walk With Thee”…Beautiful.

I’m having fun. Tomorrow is the long day. I’ll clock in at 8 and close down around midnight. I’ve got 9 bands tomorrow. Should be fun. If your reading this, thanks for listening!

6 Responses to “Mixing It Up “Jazz Style” – Part 2”

  1. I read this this morning after you having told me all of this when you came home last night…so technically, I listened twice 😉

  2. 2 Brandy

    Jake and I were just talking about this the other day when we saw a commercial for it. He said something about not liking Jazz, not understanding it, thinking it was dumb…. I said “WHAT?! Jazz is great!” I couldn’t believe he didn’t like it. huh, learn something new about your spouse every day. heehee

    That is funny that the youngest age there was 40’s. I think it definately is due to it being a a music of a certain time period….and please God don’t let there be “Medford Rap Jubilee” in 50 years. 😉 Can you just imagine old men in wife beater tops with pants down to their knees showing off their depends undergarments instead of the tighty whitey? LOL 😛

  3. 3 Brandy

    I was kidding of course. I just reread that and it sounded very bad so I thought I would clarify. HA! 😀

    I KNOW not all rap artists wear wife beater tops.

  4. 4 facinreality

    Sounds like you are in your element!

    Come and visit me
    http://facinreality.wordpress.com

  5. Tam, you listened to all that TWICE??! Then it must be love!

    Whether it’s with Brent, or Jazz.. or both I can’t say 🙂

    Glad you enjoyed yourself this weekend Brent, back to earth tomorrow??? 😉

    P.S. did you get paid yet? :-))

  6. Brandy – “Medford Rap Jamboree” LOL!!! That’s funny. And the image you have painted is….so vivd….thanks….

    Storie I like the new blog, looks good!

    LWBUT – It’s definitely iwth me 🙂 I will absolutely be “back to earth” tomorrow and I am looking forward to it. Also, tam did ask….but I haven’t been paid yet 😉



