Dad’s Done…

03Oct07

I’ve been gone this last weekend for a special event and because of this have not been online to talk to all of you. I will be catching up today. Thanks for everyone who has commented and participated here in my absence.

My Dad is now officially retired. My Dad has been a Pastor for 40+ years and his health has caused him to set down his responsibilities. He is ending his full time ministry with First Baptist Church in Eugene Oregon. As of Sunday, he had been their Pastor for 17 years exactly to the day. This weekend was bittersweet. I am anxious for my Dad to rest and relax. I believe this will help with his health, but my Dad is a minister and I am bummed he has to let most of that go. I am hopeful that his health will allow him to be involved, in many ways, with the rest of the family and our church here in Southern Oregon. My Dad is a humble an obedient leader. I have talked to many of you about “leaders” in large churches. My Dad is an example for all of them. His is strong and confident in God alone. He is patient and loving. He has always been more interested in the Word of God and people than anything in his own life. So, when I speak passionately about true Godly leaders, I speak from being able to know and experience one and who they should be.

The church in Eugene has been so gracious. They have poured out to my parents love and care. It has been amazing to be a part of this and watch it all happen. There were 3 services Sunday and my Dad was to give his final sermon in all of them. He has not been able to preach because of health for about 2 months, so he wanted this last day to be special. He was not able to make it through all 3 services. He was having frontal lobe seizures throughout the morning and had some while he was teaching in the first 2 services. The tech crew had planned ahead for any possibilities. They videotaped the first service and were able to run that video tape for the last service. The church was very responsive to it. I think this was good in some sense, because the church needed to see his frailty. People can start talking that he wasn’t really that sick and now they have visual evidence. I think it also helped with letting him go, knowing that someone else needed to now fill his shoes to take the church to their next phase of life.

My Dad has been not only an amazing father, but an enormous mentor for me. I am so amazed at how I can ask him about a statement in the Bible and he can tell me exactly where it is. I love how he comes alive when he teaches and when we talk about spiritual things. It is his passion to know God and to teach us about God. I pray that he still has that chance. Our church, Table Rock Fellowship has an open door for both my folks to minister on staff here in whatever capacity they would like and are able. That is very cool. I would love to minister with him. My brother is here at TRF as my Tech Director and so the 3 of us could minister together. I look forward to that opportunity.

amindrenewed.jpgYears back, my Dad wrote a book, “A Mind Renewed by God”. He does not consider himself a writer, but instead a teacher. This book is quality on both levels. My Dad has always been passionate about God’s ability to renew our minds. What God can do emotionally and mentally and physically can literally change us forever. His book focuses on that. If any of you would be interested in purchasing his book, you can click the link above or you can contact First Baptist Church. The book was released by Harvest House Publishing, but I don’t believe they have it in stores right now. I mention all this not to sell books, but to give you an opportunity to read his passion and I believe God’s passion of changing our lives forever.

10 Responses to “Dad’s Done…”

  1. 1 godsgal1

    B, what an honor it has been for Jerry and I to know this family. Everything you have described is so true, and someone we have so much respect for. This valley is lighter all around because of the Blodges in it! LOL
    We will continue to pray for his health and this next phase of his journey.

    You need to go to Shonda’s blog entry….she’s on my blog roll. I think u’ll enjoy it! Blessings!

  2. 2 lazrus2

    I’m sorry to hear he didn’t make it through all the services, but your statement regarding ‘revealing his frailty by it’ was insightful and true. I did pray for you all(and continue to), but God, as always, perfects His power most through weakness (2 Cor. 12:9). Like my own Dad, (that I could say ‘all the above’ about too =) he’s not ‘done’, just turning a new page into an unknown and unnamed chapter. God alone knows the ‘ending’, but we have His Word that it will be ‘glorious’ (Jude vs. 24 & 25)! I look forward to seeing it unfold and ALL of us ‘changed from glory to glory’ as a result(2 Cor. 3:18 – ‘sorry I still have to use a concordance =).
    D-

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. Just like you, my husband has given up cars, motorcycles and trucks for the betterment of the family. This is the one big boy toy he can enjoy right now occasionally as that is his main ride. I’m glad the Lord has blessed us in this season of life.

    I’m sorry to hear about your father’s health. I hope you have many more wonderful days with him. I do so admire the relationship you have with him and your family. My father died 21 years ago and I didnt have a relationship with him. What a blessing you have had in your father to raise you in the love of the Lord. May your father’s passion and love for the Lord continue as an inheritance to you and many generations after you.

    Blessings in Christ–

  4. What a great tribute to your Dad. Being able to be proud of your parents is a tremendous blessing.

  5. 5 lovewillbringustogether

    Amen.

    In this you sound to have been truly blessed so far.

  6. Thanks guys, I really appreciate your thoughts here. I love my Dad and as a couple of you mentioned I am blessed to have been able to have a father like this. When so many are neglected or go without. I consider it a privilege and a responsibility.

    Odgie, I read your tribute to you Dad as well. Congrats!

  7. 7 Brandy

    I’m pretty sure you’re just as great a dad as he is. When you can be a dad to kids that aren’t even yours, I’d say you’ve learned well…. just a hunch. πŸ˜‰

  8. 8 lazrus2

    I’ve been looking all week for your Dad’s sermon to be available at the FBC site online and finally found it this evening to hear. He confirmed many verses that have special meaning to me also, including the 2 Cor. 12 passage above (#2), Eph. 3:20, and his closing ‘blessing’ from 2 Cor. 13:14 is the one Nick and I alternated reading (previously recorded)at the conclusion of our wedding (definitely of a kindred Spirit I believe =). I can see how the entire service must have been an emotional one for all present, but his presentation was strong in spite of all the physical ‘hindrances’ he was experiencing. God faithfulness to His children is truly ‘great’, and He will finish the work He has begun in and through us all (Phil. 1:6)!
    D-

  9. Nice tribute. The kinda thing any dad would want to hear. May the Lord bless your dad in this new season of his life.

  10. Thanks Bran! Love you too.

    Lazrus2 – Sorry it took a lot of searching. I know they have been disappointed with the management of their website. For anyone who hasn’t found it, here is a link to the podcast…

    http://www.fbceugenefamily.com/podcasts/index.php/2007/09/30/kim-hodge-and-thats-final/

    frdave – Thanks for the prayers and blessings. I am proud of him πŸ™‚ it was pretty weird looking out at the congregation this weekend during services and seeing my folks sitting there. I loved it!



