Is Jesus Enough?

25Sep07

As a Christian, it seems that most of our lives are spent protecting what we know. This is not necessarily a bad thing, because we have confidence in God and who He is in our lives. So we often speak boldly and with passion about the things we have learned. I’ve read some interesting posts lately dealing with “knowledge”. My wife had a great one today regarding some of her thoughts. Hopefully I will hit this from another angle.

I asked my wife a question yesterday. Has the culture we live in gotten so complex that the Gospel of Jesus is too simple? We talk to each other about passages of scriptures and doctrines and we get to a point where we think that we understand it or know it. Then we have someone come along and blow a hole in it or give another perspective. What we do so often is to yell “heretic” and run for the door. We run to the first library to prove our point and begin to study and study and study. We are determined to know everything so that we can prove our point. What this often leads to is our dependence on our own knowledge and then there is no need for God or His revelations. What can we learn to prove Jesus?

There was an interesting discussion yesterday on the friendlychristian blog. One of the things that came up was “God’s Word” as the standard for everything we think and believe. I hold that to be true. If I read something or hear something, I immediately check the scripture to clarify what I have heard or read. My problem right now is with what is in the Word and what I “believe”. It is interesting to see how 2 completely different view points can open the bible and flat out prove that they are each correct using scripture. Sometimes the same scripture. How is my life lived? According to scripture or according to what I have learned over the years? I have been taught things since I was a little child. In school, in church, by friends, but they have not all matched up with God’s Word. They may have made sense or been logical, but some don’t line up. I may have even put trust in a person’s word because of my respect for them, but nonetheless, they sometimes do not match up.

There’s a lot of questions here and not a lot of answers. I guess that is my point. Questions are good. Knowledge is good. But, none of my questions or knowledge surpass the wisdom of God’s Word. However broken or incomplete some may see it, I trust God will lead me to who I need to be.

I like 1 John 4:1-3:

My dear friends, don’t believe everything you hear. Carefully weigh and examine what people tell you. Not everyone who talks about God comes from God. There are a lot of lying preachers loose in the world Here’s how you test for the genuine Spirit of God. Everyone who confesses openly his faith in Jesus Christ—the Son of God, who came as an actual flesh-and-blood person—comes from God and belongs to God. And everyone who refuses to confess faith in Jesus has nothing in common with God. This is the spirit of antichrist that you heard was coming. Well, here it is, sooner than we thought! (The Message)

So I guess that the simplicity of the Gospel of Jesus is enough. It is everything!
For more info on the picture I’ve posted you can go to this link. Very cool story and art.

27 Responses to “Is Jesus Enough?”

  1. And everyone who refuses to confess faith in Jesus has nothing in common with God

    I agree with this. But does it mean the same thing to all of us?

  2. I think there is a common ground somewhere. I don’t see it as a “he didn’t pray so he isn’t saved” thing.

    The Spirit is the difference…isn’t it? I can follow Christ’s example and still not know Him.

  3. Going off of what Ron said this weekend I agree that because we can clearly see His invisible qualities, instinctively, when one looks around and is left speechless and in wonder of creation, something is connecting in the spirit, acknowledging the Hand of God. We were talking about those in foreign countries though. They may never have heard or will hear the word of God spoken to them – but they in fact know there is something more. They’re not “refusing” a confession in faith because it has never been presented to them in the “flesh”- but I believe they are connecting with Him on an entirely different level.

  4. 4 godsgalchild

    I’m with Tam, I don’t think God even needs a Bible or any tool to reach someone, His ways are so far beyond what we can even imagine, He will reach whomever He calls and chooses regardless of the circumstance. Knowing His name and confessing it to others comes after that spiritual connection. If a pygmy in Africa calls to “God” and is sincere, I’m sure God will answer. I’m sure back in the day, they didn’t say the same prayer we do now to be saved. It’s the same to me as pure worship, a heart condition.

  5. Great thoughts and topic InWorship… and clear comments too (to me 😉 ).

    My perspective? (as more of an ‘outsider’ than i think most here are).

    Today’s world is a far different one than the writers in the bible were speaking to (yes, i am aware of the ‘timelessness’ of the message, thanks). Hence, there is the scope for a little confusion today – we have the benefit of two thousand years of hindsight and growth in knowledge, not necessarily a good thing when we try to get to basics and simplify things for mass consumption.

    Key to me is an awareness of when scripture was written – the difficulties of that time and who actually gathered and edited (perhaps deliberatly chose is a better term) scripture and for what purpose (not necessarily the stated or commonly believed one!) Is what is left in the Bible as important as what was left out? It should be obvious from today’s world leaders that what they say is not as important as what they don’t say.

    You correctly point out that people from opposite ends of the spectrum can quote and use scripture to ‘prove’ (to a certain ‘standard’) their opposing viewpoint, hence it is dangerous to rely solely upon scripture for your proof of what is True – far truer is what is written in your Heart – it can be dangerous to let your head rule your heart – almost as dangerous as trusting someone without using your head to test the validity of what they tell you. We were given a heart AND a brain for a reason.

    It can help sometimes to go back to what basics you feel confident in: ‘I am The Way’ is as true today as it was when it was said. I believe He was referring to His example rather than to a body called Jesus Christ.

    Jesus preferred the Living God for his proof to ‘dead’ scripture. he also warned we should be wary of the ‘leaven’ of the Pharisee’s and the Sadduccees. These were ‘holy’ people who rehashed the word of God as written and let it sour and ‘re-fermented’ it for their own ends and were leading people away from, not closer to, the living God. Their kind exists today and they may not even be aware of what they are truly doing.

    Today we know what is important – we always have the Golden Rule, to DO unto others as we would have them do unto us. Would you have a Muslim try to convert you to Allah? How then can you seek to convert others to God? Bring yourself closer to God (not ‘His’ human led Church) by doing what you know to be good – if doubt arises check that what you know is the Real Truth (ask others why they think you are ‘wrong’) and hopefully a way to improve your own truth will be revealed unto you – God willing.

    In THAT way you can be a light to others and help bring them closer to God (if they so choose).

    Have Faith in God but never ever under-estimate him or believe that He is in any way like you are or would want Him to be. You can try to be more like him but don’t fall for believing it works the other way around!

    Do your BEST and don’t ever get too settled in your belief you know everything there is to be known – that is all He asks of you.

  6. As to what Tam and GodsGalChild added… i feel you will have some closer brothers and sisters in Islam, Hindu, etc. and will have a number of unbelievers in Christianity – even those who profess to believe in Christ while following a parody of Him or outrightly not following Him at all.

    By their fruits shall ye know them.

    There is wisdom in ALL things, just as our ego’s can convince us to falsely believe only ‘we’ are ‘right’.

  7. In case previous posts have led to a certain unclarity of my thought – I meant Tam and GGC are (could be?) ‘in Christ’ as are some of those wo have not heard of Him, and not that Tam and GGC were in any way following another God.

    Are we clear there? : )

  8. Thinker – I agree with you here. You’ve heard the heart of what I am saying. When it comes down to “knowing” at least in a spiritual way, there is no “human” knowledge that can help. God’s wisdom is it.

    By their fruits shall ye know them.

    100% agree

  9. Thinker – I also got your message. I will spend some time with it LOL! But I fully appreciated it and will respond in kind.

  10. 10 lazrus2

    So many different topics have been introduced in comments here, but I want to stay true to your original statements about differing interpretations of God’s Word. I think many times we want to interpret scripture to validate the way we live our lives (that would also apply about accepting or rejecting the authority of the Bible as well I think). Without knowing specific interpretations you might have been thinking of tho’, that may be too general a statement (?). Still, for me, when scriptures ‘convict’ or make me ‘uncomfortable’, rather than dismiss them, I need to go back and read their total context(not just the verses around them, but how they line up with that subject throughout the whole Bible).
    If someone questions Biblical authority though, we have no common ground to stand on. Peter, who was one of the closest humans to Christ on this earth, says that those who wrote Scripture did so inspired by the Holy Spirit (2 Peter 1:20,21)and later validates Paul’s writings as Scripture in 2 Peter 3:15 & 16. Granted, Peter could have been wrong in what he said, or the final ‘editors’ of his letters may have misrepresented his words, but if we start questioning that, what standard do we have to hold to? Obviously, even Peter and Paul had their differences at times, and confrontation proved necessary to get back to truth (Gal. 2:11) and preserve the unity of the Body. I think there will always be different ‘perspectives’ that influence our interpretations of God’s Word because He gave us different personalities and external influences in our lives. We just have to take those to the entirety of the Word (not pick and choose according to our preferences) and be willing to listen to and learn from one another, sometimes to be proven right/wrong, but mostly to increase understanding and application to our daily lives. By doing so we then, “make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace” (Eph 4:3- actually all the verses through 16 fit well too I think =).
    D-

  11. lazrus2 – 2 of your statements really resonate with me in a good way…

    If someone questions Biblical authority though, we have no common ground to stand on.

    and be willing to listen to and learn from one another, sometimes to be proven right/wrong, but mostly to increase understanding and application to our daily lives.

    I completely agree here. This has caused many to call me close-minded and even worse, but it is where I am with my faith in who God is and what His Word is. Thanks for your comments, well said!

  12. Lazarus, I am a little confused ( a common state for me – even if my writings don’t always make this clear to others and i seem overconfident :-))

    What you wrote seems so decent and logical and good and right that it seems almost heretical to disagree with it – my confusion arises in that i feel fairly confident that much of the Church of Christ for the last 2ooo years presumably also thought along these lines and yet there are so many cases of the same church and it’s leaders/doctrine being responsible, either directly or through not dissenting loudly enough, for much distress to mankind through the insistance upon our following dogma or scripture too ‘literally’.

    I don’t believe the Bible to be inaccurate, per se, or the authors of the various books uninspired, however i do see that because we humans ARE human we are capable of inperfect translation of Divine inspiration (even Peter and Paul and other biblical authors/commentators) and are definitely guilty of excluding much that was written about Christ and about God because it is not ‘in’ the Bible we know today.

    Jesus warned against following a dead scripture over a Living God (who speaks to us through our hearts and minds). I see this as meaning what we can think of and discuss today has at least equal authority over what is written in the Bible, providing we listen to God first and our own thoughts and desires second. (He and His message to US takes precedence Always).

    InWorship – any who call you closed-minded show their own mind more clearly than they see yours. And as for spending time on my message, while I greatly appreciate any time you spend responding to it or me – be warned! I can probably be a ‘drain’ of more time than you may have to spare! : )))

    I will do my best to be wary of that also.

  13. I know what i just said… and I know that this is probably a less than ideal place to introduce such a thought, but since it is listed under Just Thinking, I hope all will forgive the following ‘thought’…

    It wasn’t intended to be taken as ‘gospel’ but it does kinda make ya think???

    The quote in the Bible at the end of this thought has to be there for a reason and frankly i have not heard a beter fitting one yet! : )

    http://thebraindrain.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!1A8604E1D0140DD1!149.entry

  14. 14 lazrus2

    Thinker,
    I don’t know if this is the best way to respond to your comments since it may take up more space than most others would want to read, so if ‘inworship’ would rather, he can give you my email address. But I will answer as best as I am ‘directed’ here until then and hope maybe it might get others ‘thinking’ too =).
    Thanks for your kind assessment of my previous comments, and the best way I know to respond is by Scripture itself (with my ‘interpretation’ for your consideration).
    I think maybe your reference to ‘dead scripture’ vs ‘living relationship’ might be from John 5:39-40 where Jesus told the Pharisees:
    39 “You search the Scriptures because you believe they give you eternal life. But the Scriptures point to me! 40 Yet you refuse to come to me so that I can give you this eternal life.”
    I’d invite you to read that whole chapter for the full context, but I think Jesus’ emphasis was that the Old Testament Scriptures found their fulfillment in Him (as He perfectly represented the Father). The ‘legalistic’ rules they had taken to extreme were mainly designed to prove that no human can perfectly keep them and so gain right standing with God, apart from coming through Christ and His sacrifice. That fits with His statement later in John 14:6-7:
    6 Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. 7 If you had known who I am, then you would have known who my Father is. From now on you know Him and have seen Him!”
    But as I said in the previous comment, ‘Scripture’ is not just the Old Testament, but also the New that describes through eye witness accounts the very words of Christ, as in John 6:63-69:
    “63 It is the Spirit who gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life. 64 But some of you don’t believe me.” (For Jesus knew from the beginning who didn’t believe, and He knew who would betray Him.) 65 Then He said, “That is what I meant when I said that people can’t come to me unless the Father brings them to me.”
    66 At this point many of His disciples turned away and deserted Him. 67 Then Jesus turned to the Twelve and asked, “Are you going to leave, too?”
    68 Simon Peter replied, “Lord, to whom would we go? You alone have the words that give eternal life. 69 We believe them, and we know you are the Holy One of God.”
    It is the testimony of those disciples that makes up the New Testament, and though human writers are definitely flawed and capable of making errors, those same disciples (as well as thousands of others in that century and since) believed that their testimony accurately revealed who Jesus not only was, but is still by His indwelling Spirit that continues to “lead into all truth” and teaches/reminds us of what Jesus said (see John 14:15-30). If we can’t trust eye witness accounts (and they sacrificed their lives to validate their words), then what other standard do we use to determine what is/isn’t true about Christ? It is true He can and does ‘speak directly to our hearts’ but if it is truly His ‘word’ it will never contradict what has already been written by the inspired writers of scripture.
    I warned you this would be long, and I didn’t even get to some of your other comments. I don’t ‘have all the answers’ by any means, but I am seeking more and more to know the One who does, and just try to stay close enough to Him to ‘hear His voice’ in my heart and mind through His written as well as spoken Word.
    Thanks for ‘listening’ too =).
    D-

  15. lazrus2 – Thanks for your input and thoughts!

    Thinker – No problem on the “draining” of time. As I have it, I am willing to give it.

    By the way, your post(your link) cracked me up. I am sure there is truth in it, but I read your sarcasm as well and I enjoyed it all. Let me know if I am wrong in my take on it.

    I wanted to add something in here. I have been reading a book by Leonard Sweet entitled “The Gospel According to Starbucks”. An amazing book and Sweet is an amazing writer and theologian. Here is an excerpt from the book that I read tonight. I think it goes along with what we are talking about. He is speaking of false prophets and idols. he is speaking of how they are images or icons to us and that we need to be shaped and lead by “truthful” images and icons.

    “In Nietzche’s classic, The Twilight of the Idols, he proposed a strategy of sounding out idols with the ‘tuning fork’ of critical or philosophical language. Hit them hard enough to resonate, Nietzsche advised, but don’t hit them so hard you smash them.

    Christian’s need an EPIC tuning fork to use in sounding out the idols. Instead of critical reason alone we must use Jesus Christ, God’s Perfect Pitch, as the tuning fork to the eternal. Our form of divination is not a philosophy but a Person: by ‘striking’ images, we can see which images resonate with truth and which don’t. The tuning fork breaks the idol’s silence and makes it tell the truth so that it reveals it’s true nature”

  16. Love that quote about a tuning fork. Even as someone who personally professes having a relationship with Jesus that goes far beyond a Sunday morning conversation, I too need to use a tuning fork to rid my life of idols.

    More and more it seems that Christianity has allowed idols to creep into the simplicity of the Gospel. I’ve met more and more people who have or who are on the verge of educating themselves out of faith. I believe that knowledge without wisdom and understanding is a dangerous thing.

    Reading through Isaiah over the past few weeks has been a really good thing for me. There is section where Isaiah is sharing God’s thoughts on people who claim to be filled with wisdom and intelligence and even have the gumption to say that they know more than God. Isaiah 10:16 says, “You turn things upside down, as if the potter were thought to be the clay! Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘He did not make me?’ Can the pot say of the potter, ‘He knows nothing?'”

    I think that that is one of the issues with society today. No longer is it standard for the youth to treat adults with respect because that is the right thing to do. Now to be heard adults must earn the respect of the youth.

    Is this a bad thing? Not always. There have been some pretty big screw-ups by some adults that have left huge scars on the youth of our nation. Unfortunately there are people out there who hurt so badly that they have to be cautious. There is a lack of trust. That trust is broken even more when people who profess to be Christian turn and act the opposite of who we are taught to live as believers.

    When we move away from the simplicity of the Gospel and of the commandment to “Love your neighbor as yourself,” then our actions will cause us to stumble and those around us to stumble.

    Kind of rambling, but I hope that it made sense.

  17. Good stuff Amy.

    I don’t see respect as a generational thing anymore. I believe there was a time where culture(youth) was looking to “break free” or no longer conform and there was the discussion of disrespect. But, I think old and young need to be challenges by our standard(Jesus). First and foremost, we need to stop and just listen. I do not take someones word(old or young) just because I am supposed to respect(a tradition maybe?). I do it because they are respected. This only comes from “Wisdom” as you have mentioned. I don’t see wisdom as a human thing. I don’t think actual wisdom can be obtained apart from a Godly relationship. Here is a great passage from Job 28.

    “But where can wisdom be found?
    Where does understanding dwell?
    Man does not comprehend its worth;
    it cannot be found in the land of the living.
    The deep says, ‘It is not in me’;
    the sea says, ‘It is not with me.’
    It cannot be bought with the finest gold,
    nor can its price be weighed in silver.
    It cannot be bought with the gold of Ophir,
    with precious onyx or sapphires.
    Neither gold nor crystal can compare with it,
    nor can it be had for jewels of gold.
    Coral and jasper are not worthy of mention;
    the price of wisdom is beyond rubies.
    The topaz of Cush cannot compare with it;
    it cannot be bought with pure gold.
    “Where then does wisdom come from?
    Where does understanding dwell?
    It is hidden from the eyes of every living thing,
    concealed even from the birds of the air.
    Destruction and Death say,
    ‘Only a rumor of it has reached our ears.’
    God understands the way to it
    and he alone knows where it dwells,
    for he views the ends of the earth
    and sees everything under the heavens.
    When he established the force of the wind
    and measured out the waters,
    when he made a decree for the rain
    and a path for the thunderstorm,
    then he looked at wisdom and appraised it;he confirmed it and tested it.
    And he said to man,
    ‘The fear of the Lord—that is wisdom,
    and to shun evil is understanding.’ “

  18. More good points for our thought and discussion : )

    You got my blog spot-on InWorship, so glad you laughed as well as read what was written. I did say i could be sarcastic with my own work too, didn’t i? I confess to not writing it 100% tongue in cheek tho’ 😉 The truest things may be said in jest.

    Lazarus I confess to failing to give my reference for quoting Jesus – that was amiss of me, sorry. Naturally, now i need the reference in the New Testament it avoids me. : ( I am 95% confident Jesus said it and it is there pretty much as i ‘quoted’ and will post it if/when I find it, but for now i will go with your John quote. I had read all of John recently before your comment so i may be having a senior moment and mixing up my ideas but i don’t feel that to be the case – time will tell. ; )

    I think the point all of us and Christ were making was that Scripture contains truth but that we should be wary to follow sriptural dogma ‘religiously’ to the exclusion of what God has to say to us directly. We should follow the Spirit ( of the Law) not the letter. (or rather not the letter when it leads us to do that which does not glorify God, but man).

    Make sense?

    As for Solacegirl’s thoughtful comments: just a thought on those who are quoted(?) as ‘knowing’ more than God. To be charitable to some atheistic/scientific types with whom i can empathise a deal I can see that some people claim knowledge superior (moreso in quantity perhaps) to that which God reveals to those who follow him or is written in scripture and it is this that can help them feel their wisdom is ‘superior’. Also much of God’s Wisdom relies upon Faith whereas Scientific wisdom relies upon either proof or the ability for anyone to determine it for themselves if they do just what the original ‘discoverer did (that is, an experiment must be repeatable to get the same result no matter who does it – not just a one-off ‘miracle’.)

    I can see both ‘sides’ of that argument and that both have a certain level of validity (not going to comment on which is ‘superior! ; ) )

    It is interesting to note though that people from both camps rely more than they might admit upon ‘belief’ and Faith’ as well as not necessarily correct ‘assumptions’, rather than looking at things (and themselves) clearly and logically and with pure Wisdom.

    My personal wisdom involves Know Thyself (Truly) as well as Know God (Perfectly)

    These are the two areas we can never get enough knowledge of or Wisdom in. There is always more to be learned.

  19. Thinker – A senior moment? I appreciate you hanging out with a youngster like me 🙂

    The “worldly” discussion is a huge one. Obviously you have pointed out the conversation is probably between theistic and atheistic parties. But, it sounds like your scientific background could teach us a bit. In your beliefs, how do you approach science? Do you see it as its own entity or do you see it as a partner to biblical truth?

  20. It’s almost Friday!

    Sorry, I just wanted to get my pic in the recent comments box with you dear…

  21. Cute! Now its a Brent and Tammy sandwich 🙂

  22. Stop that! – you’re making me Hungry : ))) (wonders where he can get a ‘roll’ from at this time o’ day 0:-) )

    Another huge topic but i’ll do my best to keep it short’n’sweet.

    For thirty years of my life Science was all, then i began to wake up : )

    Science is not an entity – to me – it is a creation of a fairly small group of men that has spread world wide and been adopted, as is, by many (and added to of course). In similarity with Religion it has to have a few fundamental assumptions and then pure logic is supposed to extend those into the all-encapsulating ‘universe’ that it has become.

    My ‘take’ now is that the original fundamentals were of necessity not all they could have been and so science does not provide all the answers. Ask a scientist what life is and where it comes from and be prepared for a long winded answer that basically ends up with – ‘i’m not really sure’. As him what Love is and where it comes from and when you see the worried look in his eye you get why i now longer believe science is all. Any scientist who looks confident when he answers those questions is a dangerous person to be avoided at all costs! : )

    Science tends to take things apart to their smallest working parts to analyse ‘all’ that it contains – only to find there are ever smaller parts and that there can be some things it misses entirely because it does not really understand what it is looking at – it just sees things from one kind of perspective and is very poor at looking ‘holistically’ – how there can be something more than just the sum of ‘parts’ (that we can detect).

    Some folks just don’t ever get that.

    As for science being a partner to biblical truth – I believe science has done a reasonably good job of describing many of God’s physical Laws and so aided our understanding of HOW many things ‘work’ while leaving the WHY things work largely up to Religion (who i don’t really see as being as good as scientists as explaing things ‘logically’ – but that is not always a bad thing : ) )

    God is without doubt a great scientist (forgive the usual tendency to place God into a role of a man!)

    Even though Genesis states we were created in His Image, ‘Male and female created He them.’ and God is capable of taking any form to appear before us lowly mortals i believe God is so much more than any human form can achieve or comprehend. I ‘visualise’ ‘Him’ as being indistinguishable from all that we can see (and not see too).

    Science now has (or rather is coming around to) the idea that reflects this within it’s own ‘understanding – an all pervading infinte constant field of ‘force’that unites (is in direct constant contact with) EVERYTHING.

    Some within Religion might understand this as just one word….

    Love!

    The Love of God.

    Did that tell you my views on that massive subject clearly enough for the moment? : )

  23. I probably missed the actual point of your question InWorship so can i add…

    Most humans seem to me to tend to adopt one main ‘perspective’ and fit everything they can into it and reject pretty much all that they can’t fit ‘in’.

    I’m adopting (what i believe is) a more God-like approach and accept that there are many views things can be seen from and try to get the benefits that each differing view can provide us. I don’t see opposing views as being wholly ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ or even necessarily contradicting.

    Sort of a ‘four blind men and an Elephant’ thing – there is only one Elephant but all four grab a diferent part and ‘see’ a different creature.

    One perspective is not necessarily ‘wrong’ – just not looking at all there is and how it could fit with a different way of looking at things.

    I understand that I don’t always get something right just because others agree with it or wrong because others don’t.

    Science and Religion can co-exist. (I actually think they are inseperable).

    Some aspects of each belief system though really miss ‘The Point’ IMHO : ) Or perhaps just some adherents do – have not made up my mind on that one yet. : )

  24. Lazarus – still no luck with the exact quote on dead scripture, but Matt 22 and Heb 9 and Col 2 all dance around the core of what i felt to be in the (still unidentifiable) quote, if you wanted to get authority on my drift. : )

    My understanding was that as we live in a world of constant change and evolution ( this is what Life does) Scripture is ‘dead’ in the sense that it never changes from what is written at the time and being a ‘slave’ to it to the exclusion of what a Living, constantly moving with us, God does is a mistake. As Jesus ascribes – an error in the Scribes (and Pharisees and Sadduccees), all supposedly ‘holy’ men. Again in Matt 5:20, Matt Ch 23, and Mk 12:27 et al.

  25. 25 lazrus2

    Thinker,
    I generally agree with your perspective on science. It’s been a while since my studies in that field myself, but even then it only served to confirm rather than contradict my beliefs in a Creative Designer, as I think you’d agree. I just listened this AM to a radio broadcast that included that emphasis, so if you’d like to listen too, the web address is:
    http://www.activeword.org. (From there click on broadcast archives and 9/28/07 broadcast). It’s the conclusion of a series on “A Picture of Christ” by Bob Coy who is a Christian pastor in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. He is very biblical, insightful, but interesting (funny too =) to hear. He mentions a couple of books about science in that message that you could probably also email to receive if you’re interested.

    Regarding your scripture references, I did see the connections with their emphasis to your comments. Another text I was thinking you might have been referencing is 2 Cor 3:2-6: “But the only letter of recommendation we need is you yourselves! Your lives are a letter written in our hearts, and everyone can read it and recognize our good work among you. Clearly, you are a letter from Christ prepared by us. It is written not with pen and ink, but with the Spirit of the living God. It is carved not on stone, but on human hearts. We are confident of all this because of our great trust in God through Christ. It is not that we think we can do anything of lasting value by ourselves. Our only power and success come from God. He is the one who has enabled us to represent his new covenant. This is a covenant, not of written laws, but of the Spirit. The old way ends in death; in the new way, the Holy Spirit gives life.”
    That sort of has the sound of ‘dead scripture’ vs. ‘living relationship’, but I don’t think Paul at all lessens the importance of the written law here. Maybe a clearer understanding of his perspective is in Romans 7:7-25 where he says the law serves the purpose of showing us our need for Christ, so is ‘good’ though exposing our sin.
    Also in vs. 23 of Mt. 23 you referred to, Jesus said: “How terrible it will be for you teachers of religious law and you Pharisees. Hypocrites! For you are careful to tithe even the tiniest part of your income, but you ignore the important things of the law–justice, mercy, and faith. You should tithe, yes, but you should not leave undone the more important things.”
    His emphasis was not to discard the law, but to give it more meaning by elevating the motivation for obeying it.
    We are not bound by law, but by His love that proves itself through obedience to His Word(John 15:9-17).
    So, ‘more to consider as you have the time and interest to, and thanks for your input that gets me ‘thinking’ as well =)!
    D-

  26. 26 lazrus2

    Thinker,
    ‘correction on that web address I just checked out again: You may have to click on “on radio” from the home site to get the right “Broadcast Archives” link. The “archives” tab on the home site doesn’t have the most recent programs listed yet.
    D-

  27. Thank you Lazarus, we are in harmony on the scripture and Living God issue, i feel.

    I suspect you would be quite surprised on my take on Creative Design but as that is yet another massive topic i will leave that discovery for another day : )



