What Are You Thankful For?

18Sep07

We are working through a sermon series at TRF that talks to gratitude and thankfulness. Would you be able to help me with this? What I would love is for you to comment with 3-5 things that you are thankful for. I would love to see how you guys see gratitude.

I assure you that none of your comments will be used to blackmail you in any way 🙂

33 Responses to “What Are You Thankful For?”

  1. I am thankful that God is good. (Just think if he were not. Shudder!)

    I am thankful that my wife, Beverly, can find some value in me.

    I am thankful that I have a sense of humor.

    I am thankful for my children, whom I would not be thankful for without my sense of humor.

    I am thankful that others have a sense of humor as well. (Kick your ass, indeed!).

    I am thankful that God gave us our senses and a beautiful, glorious and exciting universe to sense.

  2. Thanks Christian!

  3. 3 godsgalchild

    I am thankful that I know God and don’t believe I came from alien apes…

    I’m thankful for my husband who actually understands me…really he does….

    I’m thankful for good friends who love me where I am, and expect the best out of me at the same time….;)

    I’m thankful that Gods vision for me is far beyond mine…..

    I’m thankful for my kiddos who have taught me that unconditional love works…both ways

    I’m thankful for my church, who scratch their heads from time to time but never give up on me…LOL

  4. Thanks GG!

  5. 1. My family – They rock.

    2. Blogs – Seriously, when I’m in a funk several posts end up in my RSS reader that seem to be talking about God’s graciousness or love and it’s exactly what I need to hear

    3. Podcasts – specifically the Mars Hill everything audio podcast that I’m listening to right now. (I might even do a post about it.)

  6. Thanks Billy, I will definitely be checking that podcast out!

  7. I’m not thankful that Christian changed his pic – I want the pirate back!

    I’m thankful that “ass” is referring to a donkey – so no one should be offended 😉

    Ok now seriously….

    I am thankful that our Lord Almighty is exercising such a great amount of patience with us His creation!

    I am thankful fro a family who also demonstrates a great amount of patience.

    I am thankful that He has made himself obvious to us all – it makes explaining His wonder and Glory to our children easy and exciting.

    I am thankful for the Believers and non-believers in my life that daily challenge me and push me to run to Gods word, not mans, for wisdom.

  8. I am thankful for a God who loves me despite my sin and yuckiness.

    I am thankful for a husband who supports me in my hopes and dreams.

    I am thankful for community of friends in which we can be authentic and real and receive Gods grace and sometimes when needed his admonishment.

    I’m thankful for the kids that God has given me and the fact that I of all people get to be their mom. The things God teaches me through those kids.

    I’m thankful for a God who walks with me through the trials in life and promises to never leave us or forsake us … even when the church he called you to throws you to the curb like yesterdays trash.

    I’m thankful for fall. I love this time of year!

    I’m thankful for pizza … such a yummy food!

  9. Awesome heather, thanks for helping out!

    Tam – “I am thankful fro a family who also demonstrates a great amount of patience.”

    I definitely ditto this one 🙂

  10. Sorry tam, I just realized that I quoted the one with the typo and didn’t fix it…

  11. S’OK- I used to have a ‘fro. Now I’m bald. So I guess I am thankful for do-rags.

  12. Christian – DUDE! I’ve gotta see some fro pics 🙂

  13. 13 godsgal1

    B, DUD! We gotta see some mullet pics!!! 😉

  14. 14 godsgal1

    OOPS!!! I meant Dude…..

  15. B DUD…ouch, I’m glad you fixed that one.

    I will display the mullet shot only if Christian displays the fro!

  16. 16 lazrus2

    ‘Ditto’ on all of Heather’s #8 except maybe about having ‘actual physical’ kids (since I don’t)to learn those lessons from, and pizza’s not my favorite (too many carbs and fat that I’d rather ‘spend’ on ice cream).
    D-

  17. D – That’s funny! My choice would probably be to go with the ice cream as well 🙂

  18. 18 Cheryl

    1. I’m thankful for my life before I knew Jesus and I am thankful for my life now that I know Jesus. I am able to learn from both instances.

    2. I am thankful for my life when I was in full time church ministry and I am thankful for the life aftwards. Even though my time in church ministry basically..sucked..it has led me to a wonderful ministry at Simpson University which has led to where I am now.

    3. I am thankful for where I am now because I have a great husband an two miracles we call Simone and Marcus.

  19. Sorry, no digital cameras when I had the natural. But this is pretty close;

    Poor guy.

    BTW – I hope you noticed that I pay attention to you, Tam.

  20. I found one;

  21. Christian, you’re scaring me..

  22. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. So was that funny Brent?

  24. ummmm ya!

  25. Christian, I just realized your new pic’s making me wanta watch American Chopper

  26. 26 godsgalchild

    Uh, Christian, nice fruit of the looms and toe pointing….

    B, although I didn’t know you then, are we getting close here?

  27. 27 godsgalchild

    I don’t know where my last comment went….hmmm Christian, nice fruit of looms and toe pointing…

    B, are we getting close here with the past?

  28. GG – sorry, you had gone to spam…

  29. GG – That looks nothing like me 🙂

    I am thinking I will need to post up a pic soon.

  30. No B, that’s OK – you really shouldn’t post a pic….

  31. Don’t I owe it to my readers 🙂

  32. Yup…NOT TO!

  33. nice 🙂



