I’ve Solved World Peace!

07Sep07

Well not really, but I have an idea for some peace.

Media drives me crazy. I was talking to Fr. Dave about this in regards to getting to know the candidates for President. How do we get to know them? Our only option, it seems, is the media. And I can’t agree with that option as it is littered with spin and slight truths. So, anyway, I had an idea. What if there was a law in media that did not allow for multiple releases of the same story?

One of the first things you learn in marketing is how valuable or dangerous a message can be when it is force feed over and over into your head. When you hear something 50 times, even if you don’t agree the first time, it begins to take hold and be a part of something you profess or declare. Think back to the first time you heard a friend in Jr. High say a word that you though, “wow, I could never say that or think that”. What happened a month later after hanging out with that friend? You were saying the word as well. Now, you may have felt guilty for saying it, but you were saying it.

So, what would our opinions be like if we didn’t have to spend the last 4 years hearing the same derogatory comments towards Bush and his administration?  This post is not to either support or disapprove of Bush, it is to make a point (and I will get there, I promise). I just heard ANOTHER poll on Bush this morning. 72% of America thinks Bush hurried too fast into Iraq. REALLY? SHOCKING!

A new law for the media might be optimistic. Although, we can decide to turn off the media 🙂

My thoughts lie with this,

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Phil 4:8

And this,

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:2

And this,

Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:17-18

And this,

Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do. Joshua 1:8

So what’s my point? What is shaping your way of thinking?

10 Responses to “I’ve Solved World Peace!”

  1. Definately not the things tha should be! 😦

    I like your analogy of the “friend” saying the “word.” That would be good for kids to hear too! 😉

    All of those verses were convicting, that’s for sure! 😀

  2. 2 lazrus2

    Good verses. Seems I’ve heard or communicated them recently too =)?! Joshua 1:8 is a good addition because that’s where all the other mind-renewing, glory to glory changing, true, noble, right, pure, etc. information originates. God’s Word is the only guaranteed TRUE story that bears repeating ad infinitum (and it will be =)!
    D-

  3. Good points and great verses. 100 years ago it took months for some people to find out who was elected president let alone get bombarded with the same negative news over and over again for months. I guess it was easier to rely on the Word of God than the media back then.

  4. lazrus2 and frdave – You both are so correct. There is one source of truth!

  5. Brent Brother… I hear you big time! Jeff and I cling to Phil. 4:8 & 9. When we face a difficult situation we remind each other, “Remember to only think on what it true!”

    I think that the media law is a great idea. Until something like that happens we’ll continue to pray for the correct filter to push all this info through.

    Have you ever read Megatrends 2000? It is an older book, but it predicted much of what is happening now in our culture with media and other kinds of technology. I read it for a communications class in college. Pretty fascinating stuff. It might be worth a look-see for you.

    Thanks again for your encouragement.

    We miss you guys too.

  6. amy – that book sounds cool. I will look it up.

  7. 7 godsgalchild

    I think this all stems from what the Lord is allowing in the world right now for His purposes to be accomplished. Quite frankly, the more I see, the more I know His return is close….YAY!!!! Having Mike in the military was eye opening for us. His version of what is going on right now is so far beyond anything the media has to say…SHOCK! Did anyone know that on and off for the last 7 months President Bush has been secretly flying around the US and personally meeting with the families of all who have been lost in this war? Where’s that in the news? Mike said he meets with them in jeans and tshirts and prays with and encourages them…..something I never would have known if he weren’t a soldier.

  8. You posted some of my favorite verses, and I try to keep them in front of me…just so I can be part of the conforming mind of Christ and not conforming to the world.

    Love the idea of the media only being able to report things once…and not make it a brainwashing technique. I don’t know much about the candidates, what I do know i don’t like about any of them. Back to praying for God to place the one we need in office.

  9. Thanks godsgal and darla! I really appreciate your hearts and your honesty in the blogging world.


  1. 1 This Is My Point « inWorship

