“Reading Rainbow” – Book 9-Week 10

01Sep07

airibreathe.jpgSo this week for “Reading Rainbow” , I read through “The Air I Breathe” by Louie Giglio. I love this guy. Extremely passionate, knows the Word and loves to Worship.

This was a smaller book, kind of a devotional size book, so it was easy to get through. Giglio is easy to understand. He captures your attention so as to keep you from putting the book down. I read this book in one sitting. The book is a challenge to evaluate what we worship. Giglio is right on. The book starts by making this statement, “Should you for some reason choose to not give God what He desires, you’ll worship anyway – simply exchanging the creator for something He has created”. Giglio’s challenge is to determine where our times and energies are spent and then take that focus and point it towards God. One thing God brought to my heart while reading this was my energies (or lack of them) spent in creating a new song for Him and that those new songs are brought on because of God’s character being revealed to us. I want to dig more into this on a later post, cause it brought out some thoughts in me I need to share.

I would highly recommend this book to everyone. This is not a worship music book. This is a book on Worship. Here are some quotes from the book that stuck out to me.

 “God knows who He is. He knows what He’s worth. and He knows that He has made us for His glory.”

“Whatever you worship, you imitate; whatever you imitate, you become.”

“The rocks He has made are capable of singing songs, should He ask them to; but He draws near your side and whispers, ‘I’d rather hear you sing a new song of praise to Me!'”

“Most  of my life, I thought you went to church to worship. But now I see that the better approach is to go worshiping to church.” 

“The only fitting response to all He has done is to give back to him all that we are. Anything less is not enough. Anything less is not true worship. Anything less only proves that we haven’t really see him at all.”

10 Responses to ““Reading Rainbow” – Book 9-Week 10”

  1. 1 lazrus2

    Reading back through what I’d highlighted when I read this book, I’d noted several quotes you did too. Here’s one more that impacted me:
    “For far too long, people have been cheating God, somehow thinking that if they just keep telling Him He’s great, He’ll be content. Whether their words are genuine doesn’t seem to matter. Whether their lives back up their words is no big deal.
    After all, words come so easy. And saying (and singing) them makes us feel a little better about ourselves, even when our hearts don’t back up the words coming from our lips. But God isn’t honored by words alone. Like any of us, He’s moved by words that are authenticated by actions. When it comes to worship, it’s the total package that matters–what you say, how you say it, and whether you mean it. And our words mean most when they’re amplified by the way we choose to live our lives when we are faced with various opportunities and temptations.”

    I agree that one of the truest tests for being a God-worshiper comes in how we respond to the enemy’s temptation in the area of our greatest weaknesses. Do we then choose to rely on God or man’s wisdom to make it through(Mt.4:1-11) ?
    D-

  2. Brent,
    Thanks for the recommendation – I’ll have to check that one out!

    Fred

  3. Fred – Definitely

    Lazrus2 – That section really spoke to me as to how we teach the church. What do we need to do to teach this and are we leading the church down a road that just encourages the words and not their actions? It’s something Table Rock has been thinking a lot about lately.

  4. 4 bransblahg

    Excellent quotes!!!

    My fave:
    “Whatever you worship, you imitate; whatever you imitate, you become.”

  5. 5 Cheryl

    It’s ironic that you mention teaching the church. Lately I’ve been wondering about how people see worship when it comes to the church service…is it something like a concert, that thing that comes before the spoken Word, that thing that happens at the end?.. I’ve wondered what new Christians think about when we come to that part of the service. Is worship just something that’s done on Sundays? I think it’s hard to teach worship to people. If we were to come in one Sunday and just have The Lord’s Supper (Like Pastor Tom said a couple of weeks ago) would people come away disappointed or would they understand that, that too is worship. I can remember coming home from Bible college and after a particularly busy and tough semester I told the choir director that I was too tired to take part that summer. It was a big decision b/c I loved being part of the choir but it was becoming a chore.

    This may sound crazy but there are some songs that I won’t sing if I’m not ready to utter the words. I’m not sure when I started doing that but for me it’s almost like taking the Lord’s name in vain to sing something that my heart isn’t prepared to sing.

  6. I had the opportunity to do a teaching on this book last year.. man what a great book. Ill have to go read it again.”Worship is our response,both personal and corporate, to God- for who he is and what he’s done.”….I’ll spend the rest of my life working that out.

  7. Cheryl – Your concerns are my concerns. We as a staff are praying through how we can better encourage our people to worship. Music will always be a big part of our service, but our congregation needs to know what it is to truly worship.

    Pete – I was thinking while reading this of doing this as a study for our worship ministry. I love the resource questions in the back of the book. thanks for the confirmation on that.

  8. 8 Cheryl

    See I can’t imagine church without music myself. Looking forward to hearing and seeing what comes of it. It has always been a question of mine, not just with our congregation. But I really appreciate you all in leading us to allow God’s voice to speak to us. Thanks!

  9. 9 lazrus2

    Regarding leadership’s desire to ‘teach this'(quote in #1)I was reminded of the best way I know from an old quote that goes something like this:
    “I’d rather see a sermon than hear one any day. Your actions speak so loudly, I can’t hear a word you say…”
    Maybe someone knows how it goes exactly and whether my memory of it is accurate, but I think that’s the gist of Louie’s words I quoted and the only real way to ‘teach’ anyone anything(?). That applies every moment of every day (at church ‘ministering’ or ‘behind the scenes’ in every attitude,action and decision).
    D-

  10. Lazrus2 – I completely agree. We have a staff of Pastors that is constantly worshipping. We have a staff that gets what that means. It is amazing to watch them all work everyday. that time that is spent in caring for people, praying, studying and reaching out to our community. We have a heart that exists to worship completely and totally.

    This is enough for some, but not for the masses. Our concerns are not for the few that get it or see us consistently, it is for the masses that come through each week and our only opportunity is to reach them during the one service they attend. Our job as Pastors is not to be “the” example to worship. it is to be one of the examples. Our hope is to encourage and teach others to do the same. When we have 12 Pastors living this way, we reach a few, when we have 500 People doing this, it is much more effective.

    So how can we teach the masses?



