Next Book – Week 7

07Aug07

The next book I will be reading for “Reading Rainbow” will be “Under The Overpass” by Mike Yankoski.

Here is an excerpt from the back cover of the book.

“Mike Yankoski’s life went from upper-middle class plush to scum-of-the-earth repulsive overnight. From the United States Capital to San Diego, Mike and his traveling companion, Sam journeyed as homeless men for five months. Not for a project or even in response to a dare. He needed to know if his faith in God was real-if he could actually be the Christian he said he was apart from the comforts he’d always known.

So with only a bag on his back, a guitar in his hand, and Sam by his side he set out. And like any traveler in a foreign land, he returned a different man.”

I think this should be good!

10 Responses to “Next Book – Week 7”

  1. 1 Tam

    For all of B’s blogger friends. I am sitting here next to B. It’s 11:43 pm Tuesday night. He is reading “Under the Overpass” right now. This is his 7th book. All of which he has come to find me to read me an excerpt for one reason or another, always good and impacting – thought provoking and so on. But none more than from this book! I’m hearing alot of “Hmmm” “Uh” “Wow” every 2-3 minutes. Get ready for a great review!

  2. 2 John J. Kaiser

    Why did he need to guitar?

  3. 3 Tam

    So folks! I don’t know what time it was, the middle of the night for sure, but he just couldn’t put down the book…It is finished!

  4. 4 Brent Hodge

    John – Thanks for commenting. They took guitars, simply to panhandle. They were going t play guitar to raise money. If you take a chance to read through the book, you will also see that their guitars had some of the greatest impact on others that they met.

    And yes, I could not put the book down, I did finish it at 2:15…

  5. 5 Cheryl

    WOW! And it is only Wednesday! Good for you for keeping on track and thanks for the reviews. You have given me some new books to put on my Christmas wish list!

  6. 6 mandy

    haven’t heard of this one…. and i’m wondering how you have time to read so much!
    🙂

  7. 7 mandy

    oh! i forgot why i’m here….
    i’m tagging you (and tam) for a marriage meme.
    you can find it TOMORROW on my “just a girl” blog….
    c’mon… it’ll be fun! and no comparing notes!

  8. 8 Brent Hodge

    Mandy – Well, I had enough time to read this one, cause I just decided not to go to bed. I am very tired tonight.

    The ‘Meme’ sounds fun, we’ll be there!

  9. 9 Mud Puppy

    That book is in my “too read” pile on my desk. I look forward to hearing your review! (Throwing you on the blogroll as we speak…)

  10. 10 Brent Hodge

    Thanks MudPuppy, you will enjoy!



