Table Rock on Facebook

31Jul07

If you are not famliar with Facebook, it is time to check it out. It is a new contender in the online community movement. I’ve been playing with it for about a month now. At one time I was a part of MySpace and found it to be too juvenile and sexual. It was not the place I wanted to blog and find relationship. Face book was originally created to connect students at a college, but now has grown to one of the largest and definitely fastest growing online community. It’s kind of fun to invite friends and meet new people, like-minded people and reconnect with old friends. I’ve created a new group on Facebook for Table rock Fellowship people. If you’d like to join and add me as a friend, head here. If you are an attender of TRF and you’d like to join the Table Rock Fellowship group, head here. If you’d like some great practical info on getting started with Facebook, head here, here and here
Enjoy!

10 Responses to “Table Rock on Facebook”

  1. 1 Tam

    you’re cute

  2. 2 Brent Hodge

    Geez…thanks!

  3. 3 Cheryl

    AH! I have been playing with Facebook for a while now…found some old high school, college/seminary friends and my cousins. I like it b/c it is a lot more secure that MySpy…oh I mean MySpace. I still have a MySpace account but it is locked down to only my friends. I just get my messages and that’s it. THe funny thing about Facebook is that they have these annoying applications that some people insist on using. oh well..

  4. 4 Brent Hodge

    Cheryl – I joined a beta site today called mychurch.org. Their hope is to create an online community for churches that is safe and effective. They will tie it in to facebook. It will be interesting to see where all this goes. In some ways, I see it completely as a hassle and in others a complete necessity. I don’t want to miss out on an community opportunity online that could benefit even a small segment of our fellowship.

  5. 5 Cheryl

    Ooohh! I just took a quick look at mychurch.org. Looks good. I’ll have to give it a thorough look later. It’s interesting though that a lot of the people I have on MySpace are Christians and the people I have on Facebook are mostly non-Christians…not sure if there is a corralation.

  6. 6 Brent Hodge

    I think there are a ton of Christians on myspace, it is just not a place I want to use to advertise the church. That is the main reason I got away from it. I am hoping that services like Facebook and MyChurch will be a comfortable and safe place for churches to have community

  7. 7 Bran

    hmmmm, I just created a facebook account b/c I am looking for someone that I couldn’t find on myspace…. and the whole thing confuses me. I am totally lost. Although I think I found the daughter of the person I am looking for…. just waiting now to see. You’ll have to help me out with it…I totally don’t get it.

  8. 8 Brent Hodge

    Bran – If your comfortable with Myspace, it will take some getting used to on Facebook. All the same things are there, it’s all in different places. I would just play with it. If there is something you like doing on MySpace, try to figure out how to do it on Facebook and just take one thing at a time.

    I have also been playing with a Beta site called mychurch.org. It is based on the Facebook format and is specifically catered to churches.

  9. 9 Cheryl

    I joined the mychurch.org. THanks for the invite…the only beef I have with is that I had to enter the year I was born…shoot! I was trying to keep that a mystery! LOL!

  10. 10 brent hodge

    hahahaha…the truth is out.

    We are going to play with it for a while at the office and see how it works. It seems like a great place to blog, update and bulletin the people at church. It’s kind of like a real time option to our website.

    Thanks for joining.



