Deep Thoughts From My Son

27Jul07

I am so tired. I can’t get into a normal schedule this week. All the late nights last week have screwed up my sleep patterns. We have been at my parents house the last 4 nights painting. That’s exhausting. I am so sick of paint. I have paint all over me and I am too tired to pick it off.

We are going to bed and my son just walks in. He is really good at whining at night. Remember, this kid is 10 and he still whines, but only at night. For some reason, when the clock hits 9 PM he comes down with all sorts of ailments, every muscle in his body starts to hurt and he can’t stop coughing. So he is standing here by the bed talking to his Mom and he is whining, cause the movie we just watched made him a little scared. We just watched “The Last Mimzy”. Cute kids movie…not at all scary, seriously. His mom is trying to offer suggestions to help him sleep. Maybe a light on? He then replies with “I can’t sleep with the light on, because at night, the light is too stimulating and it makes me pee”.

I don’t know what else to say…

16 Responses to “Deep Thoughts From My Son”

  1. 1 Tam

    Mommy coming to her sons defense…he wasn’t “whining” he was complaining. It’s not like he stands there moaning and fussing and crying. He was complaining dear! Don’t make him sound more wimpy than necessary – he wears enough pink for that!

  2. 2 Deb

    Finally, someone who can relate to my nighttime light issues!!!! Awesome!

  3. 3 smeeD

    Profound. I tried to think of some sort of tie-in with a biblical truth but the risk of irreverence is too high.

    Love the carnie stories. Reminds me of a time long ago when some friends and I used to enjoy messing with them. (Late 70’s, Tazewell County Fair, Pekin, Illinois) We learned you can push it too far. Fuzzy memories of dentally challenged men with big sticks and a long drive in the country with the headlights turned off.

    See ya.

  4. 4 bran

    ah ha ha!!! I am cracking up!!! The light is so stimulating it makes him pee! AH HA HA!!!

    For a second there I thought you were talking about Dylan…. EVERY night at bedtime SOMETHING hurts, his legs, his tummy, his “froat”, his eyes….the list goes on and on….
    Kids are funny. πŸ™‚

    This is so funny!!!

  5. 5 Brent Hodge

    smeed – I am cracking up at your last sentence.! I am sure that was interesting.

    bran – Now that your not pregnant anymore…how’s your bladder.

  6. 6 Cheryl

    “I can’t sleep with the light on, because at night, the light is too stimulating and it makes me pee”.

    Priceless…I’ll have to store that one away as a reference. Does Dakota know you are tattling on him?

  7. 7 Brent Hodge

    cheryl – He made sure I was tattling on him. I think he likes the spotlight more than he thinks. He is such a ham

  8. 8 lazrus2

    ‘Sounds to me like someone else (much older than 10) might have been ‘complaining’ (whining?) late at night too =)??

  9. 9 Tam

    right on!!!!

  10. 10 Brent Hodge

    lazrus2 – The secret is out. We now know where he gets his whining from. I can say I was definitely a whiner/complainer yesterday. πŸ™‚

  11. 11 bran

    Brent, my bladder…. is useless. LOL ah ha ha!!!

    Three kids beat the crap out of it and have left lasting marks. heehee
    As long as I’m not sneezing and coughing at the same time I’m good. HA HA HA!!!

    BTW, I love that phrase “now that you’re not pregnant anymore” aaahhhhh!!! ;o)

  12. 12 Brent Hodge

    bran – I’m dying to see your little boy! You going to be at church this weekend?

  13. 13 bran

    Okay Jake rented The Last Mimzy tonight and I have to side with Kota here…this movie is FREAKY!!! Seriously, this WOULD scare a ten year old!! This is scaring me… seriously creepy.

  14. 14 bran

    oh ha ha! I didn’t read your comments before I left that last one. heehee
    I think we are going to try for this weekend…. if not maybe I’ll have to come by sometime. πŸ™‚
    I miss church though… I hate missing it so much. Dang kids. LOL ;o)

  15. 15 Brent Hodge

    Definitely try to come by if you can’t make it.

    What is scary about a little stuffed bunny that wants to help save the future?

  16. 16 Tam

    Dang Kids! That’s funny Bran! Yah, I’m with B – we’d like to see your new one! Any more new ones in the future???



