Mixing It Up – Thoughts

24Jul07

Fair week is insane. It is a high energy, non-stop party. It is not some crazy frat party, but it is a gathering/party that only happens once a year for many people and they take advantage of it. I am not as tired as I thought I’d be, but I am pretty gone. I really enjoyed myself. I love engineering! So, to do what I love 14 hours a day for a week, is pretty awesome. I love the crew I worked with and Garon(owner of the sound company) is an awesome Christian guy that loves what he does as well. So here are some thoughts from the week…

-There are some great country tunes, but I still am not a huge fan of country music.

-Coors Light smells like pee

-Have you ever seen a cow take a shower and then get blow dried with an 18″ comb and an air compressor? I have.

-13 year old girls can dress like sluts(does that sound harsh? Oh well, I am a Dad and I mean it.)

-I have never seen so much crack in one place in my entire life!!!

-If you ever have a chance, you have to try a deep fried candy bar. But don’t say I didn’t warn you.

-I hate “musician attitude”! I refuse to have that in our worship ministry.

-I really missed my wife

-I really missed my kids

-Carnies should have their own country…or should I say planet.

-Why is it okay for cows to crap wherever they want and no one cleans it up?

-What really happened in the 60’s and 70’s, cause everyone that really “lived” in that age, seem to not be able to remember anything.

-Are there no dentists in our valley???

I could go on forever, but maybe I should stop there. It could get even uglier. So I said I’d post a couple of pics, but I have one I want to post right now. Here is my bro running the stage on Saturday night with Joan Jett in the background. He’s a stud!

12 Responses to “Mixing It Up – Thoughts”

  1. 1 Tam

    HA! Funny you mention the dentist cuz I just said on my post comment that i think every dentist in our valley should come on fair week, hand out cards w/discounts! They would make bank!!!

    I missed you too!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Brent Hodge

    Nice tooth!

  3. 3 bran

    13 year old girls CAN dress like sluts. So glad I don’t have a girl actually. šŸ™‚

    Jake drinks Coors Light SOMETIMES. He is not allowed to kiss me then. Smells like he drank out of the toilet. EW.

    Actually, thinking about all you saw during the HUGE amounts of time you were there makes me laugh…..that would be interesting to say the least!!!

  4. 4 Tam

    it’s cute how proud you are of your little bro…

  5. 5 Brent Hodge

    Bran – There is so much more I could talk about. I experienced a lifetime of “Fair” culture in one week.

    Tam – I like my bro…what can I say.

  6. 6 amy

    “Musician attitude” sucks. Please someone smack me up the side of my head if I ever display it. Something tells me Tam wouldn’t if she saw it.

    Deep fried candy bars? Please someone smack me up the side of my head if I ever try to eat one. That would hurt worse than the gut ache I would get from the candy bar!

    I’m envious of your carnie week. It takes me back to my childhood at the Timber Carnival.

  7. 7 Deb

    Being a former sluttly dressed beer drinker I am so thankful that God got ahold of me and did His thing. Sounds like a great mission field…we’ll have to spend more time there next year.

  8. 8 Tam

    Amy, I would SOOOO slap you upside the head if you displayed musician attitude – and I’d enjoy all 10 slaps too! HEE!!!! I don’t anticipate having to though…

    Deb – you gave me an image I NEVER want to see again! How’s Cali???

  9. 9 Brent Hodge

    Deb – AHHHHHHHH. Don’t make me see that again! It definitely was a mission field. I got to hang with a cool guy all week. His name was Lees. He was my stage manager. That’s where the ministry took place. We hung out all week and talked about everything, church included. The bands and crowd go through so quick, all you can hope is that they saw something different in who I am. Lees is the one God laid in my lap this week.

    Amy – There is no way you’d be that kind of person! And, I would not recommend the deep fried candy. bars.

  10. 10 Deb

    B & T – You can rest assured you will NEVER see that again…lol Cali. is great!!! Nothing like singing to a couple hundred, on fire for the Lord, cowboys!!! My vision is becoming reality Tam, just never saw the cowboy hats..lol It’s only the beginning…please pray for me tonight..it’s the “big one”, I want to really hear the Lord in picking the set..love you guys, cya next week. šŸ˜‰ Oh, B, seriously, I am so thankful that you are our leader. The Lord oozes out of you and my life IS changed because of your faithfulness to Him. That’s in no way meant to puff you up, just the way it is…Love ya and thank you!

  11. 11 Brent Hodge

    Keep it up Deb. He will keep using you in your faithfulness…cowboy hats and all.

    Thanks for the kind words!

  12. 12 Cheryl

    You know, I thought it was just me who noticed the huge number of people in this valley missing teeth…People, toothbrushes are cheap!



