Mixing It Up

17Jul07

So I am on vacation this week (kind of) to do something I love. Many of you know that before I was a Pastor, I worked as an audio engineer. I did mostly studio work, but spent quite a bit of time mixing live bands. I miss it, but my responsibilities at TRF let me keep my hands in it.

So this week I will be mixing the dinner stage for the Jackson County Fair. I am really looking forward to being outside all week (looks like we will have cooler weather) and also meeting people from around our region. It will be a great opportunity to tap into the Southern Oregon music scene and see what’s going on. Even if it is a little “Southern Oregon”…it should be fun.

I’m basically working from 10-10, so I will post up each evening with some pics of what the day looked like. You should have something in your email or reader when you get up each morning.

I am also reading through this weeks book for “Reading Rainbow”. I’ve got a couple chapters down already, and it’s a smaller book, so I’m not stressing about this one, even with my fair schedule.

Wish me luck…and I am sure I will need a little patience dealing with some of the infamous “music” crowd.

6 Responses to “Mixing It Up”

  1. 1 bran

    Your week sounds like fun. I’m thinking of braving the fair alone this week wile Jake takes the boys camping…. just to get out alone (well sort of lol) will be nice! 🙂 Maybe I’ll bring O by to see you if I go! 🙂

  2. 2 Brent Hodge

    I would love that!

  3. 3 mandy

    audio engineer? i’m SO impressed! wow…. can you come work at MY church?
    about my own hosting…. no. i go with WordPress’s setup… honestly, i’m admittedly www illiterate. and wouldn’t know how to find a host if i needed one!
    🙂
    have fun mixing…. when its done right, live music is the best!

  4. 4 Deb

    Wow B, glad to see you’re cutting back the hours for your vacation time….lol We’ll be there some night and swing by to say hi….Have fun I know it’s what you love!

  5. 5 bran

    Sorry….not coming now….. I’m going to meet up w/Jake and the boys camping tomorrow after O’s circ appt….OOOWWWW!

    Maybe when we get back and all 5 of us can go. 🙂

  6. 6 Brent Hodge

    Bummer, well, have fun!



