Next Book – Week 3

08Jul07

This week for “Reading Rainbow” I will be digging into the book “Simply Christian” by N.T. Wright.

I started this book on Friday PM and have gotten through the first 4 chapters (of about 16). This is going to be an intense book. This book is a deep thinker. I am finding myself reading a little slower to make sure I don’t miss anything and sometimes reading things twice. I don’t want to miss anything. I’ve been using little post-it notes to mark things and I’ve already gone through a stack of them. It may be difficult to fit the whole review in one post, so I may give you a couple. It has been great to hear Wright’s passionate desire to know Jesus and to study Him authentically. he spent time in the first chapter explaining incorrect world views of Christianity that I think were right on.

Anyway, I am looking forward to sharing this one with you on Friday!

2 Responses to “Next Book – Week 3”

  1. 1 mandy

    hey brent!
    thank you for stopping by my blog — thanks to Tam for referring it.
    I’d already discovered yours and had gotten a good laugh out of the pic you’d posted a few days earlier.
    thank you for that thoughtful comment re: the hymn vs. praise song post… my heart is truly to see a united sense of worship in our churches. and i’m thankful for your insights into the need to focus on the content of the song rather than the style of music….
    great response!
    thank you, again, for stopping by.
    mt

  2. 2 Brent Hodge

    Everybody go check Mandy out on “her blog”. She has a personal one as well as one she writes that is dedicated to her Music Ministry. I’ve really appreciated her thoughts.



