Buy an iPhone…Kill a Kid

05Jul07

I’ve been reading an awful lot about the iPhone. Rightly so, it is big news and is a very cool little gadget for us techies. I’ve been reading about people who have one, people who want one and to my dismay…people who think the people I have previously mentioned should rethink there Christianity if they purchase one.

My wife and I were discussing this last night and frankly I wasn’t nice to some people regarding their posts. I wanted to write this great post on whether or not it is right to own a $600 phone. I wanted to sound intelligent while at the same time speaking the truth…aggressively…in love. It started to remind me of the last election…Don’t vote for something you agree with…just vote against everyone you don’t agree with. I don’t like that kind of attitude. I don’t like the finger pointing in the Christian community and I don’t like people telling me what Jesus would do when I try to order a Big Mac and fries. Frankly, the iPhone is not the issue and should not be used to sell, agree with or even disagree with a certain philosophy. It should not be used to guilt people into believing they just killed off 100 kids because they wasted the money elsewhere. And it should not be gloated over like some sort of “Columbus Conquering America” attitude.

I personally would love an iPhone. It will be my choice if and when I purchase one. It will not change the needs that others have or my responsibility to those needs. Yes, I said responsibility. The Bible is very clear to my responsibilities as a Christ Follower to those in need around me and abroad. I am doing my best to make decisions that allow me to be used by God correctly. I have and will make mistakes and I will choose correctly as well.

So, after I cooled down, I read this great post over at the SHLOG. I want to link to it so that you can hear his heart…that I believe is also my heart. It is well written.

14 Responses to “Buy an iPhone…Kill a Kid”

  1. 1 Tam

    Amen! I mean, Way to go! I said earlier the iPhone isn’t spiritual – the intent behind every decision we make is. I looked up the meaning of “spiritual” and found it quite interesting…”of, relating to, or affecting the human spirit or soul as opposed to material or physical things.” The iPhone for some evidently will be prayed over heavily. We all have our own personal convictions. That’s totally fine. The phone is an object not the final means to world peace. You make phone calls on it and check mail – yoo-hoo! Maybe one can even call samaritans purse on theirs and make a donation via internet on it too! Now everyone’s happy…

  2. 2 In a Foreign Land

    LOL! I second that!! Well I didn’t think that there was something spiritual with the iPhone either…but you might want to check this out

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19614050/

    by the time we can scrape up our pennies for the iPhone they should have fixed all the bugs. In the meanwhile I’ll keep enjoying my video iPod and keep talking into my cellphone!

  3. 3 Brent Hodge

    A personal relationship with Christ means you are free to make your own decisions. You don’t have to constantly be guilted into the right or wrong thing to do. Those who would lay the guilt trip on someone because of the iphone should then be willing to have their spending habits openly discussed? Hmmm…How much did you spend this month on mochas? On movies? On clothes? On makeup?

    Come on people! For those in Christ all things are lawful though all things are not profitable. And the difference between what you can and cant do in these gray areas is up to you and the Holy Spirit. To those quick to convict: let the Holy Spirit do the convicting, and focus on your own life!

    …Ahhh I feel better after that…

  4. 4 Brent Hodge

    The above comment is not Brent Hodge it is David Choate trying to leave an anonymous comment but doing so while accidently logged in to google anylitics as Brent Hodge.

  5. 5 Brent Hodge

    Nice Dave!

    This is the real brent hodge…

    You can tell cause I’m taller.

  6. 6 bran

    Oh my word that whole “brent hodge” mix up was hilarious! πŸ™‚

    huh, I don’t know about anyone else but I am confused as to WHY people would associate an iPhone with someones Christianity?? That is just wierd to me. Apples and Oranges people. πŸ™‚

    Wow, I can’t believe someone would assume you weren’t a good Christian b/c of an iPhone, or like you say, mochas, movies, and makeup. Okay the amount I spend on makeup and day spa trips alone would send me to hell in their eyes I guess. heehee

    I find this topic interesting. You make me want to google it… just a little…. but not a lot. ;o)

  7. 7 bran

    Wow I checked out that SHLOG link, and geeze louise that is a lot of debate over a phone.

  8. 8 Brent Hodge

    I think you hit it on the head Bran. It really has nothing to do with the phone…or even money for the matter. It is about our responsibility to do what is right and our relationship with God. We have been in the bummer position of being in debt our whole marriage. It is our own fault we are here, but it has placed us in a position where we are not able to financially help others. It makes me sick to say that, but it is true. We often can’t help ourselves. My life and how I spend my money is different than someone who is well of and how they spend their money. The most important thing is how God is directing our hearts. My life and my money will be handled differently than another. It is not about the money, it is about our hearts.

  9. 9 Tam

    I love Paul’s response in Philippians addressing people who were preaching about Christ with pure motives and to the ones who preached with selfish ambition. It didn’t matter. Phil 1:18 “But that doesn’t matter. Whatever their motives are false or genuine, the message about Christ is being preached either way, so I rejoice”. It just makes me think that all the discussion and hype this silly iPhone has stirred up has only churned in the depth of a lot people SELF evaluation! I don’t really care who gets an iPhone. It’s an object. But if it brings attention to God and causes anyone of us to double check that scripture – then awesome! Bottom line…God, not the iPhone, is on the throne – it’s under control =)

  10. 10 Nevvy

    We had an interesting letter to the editor in the fishwrap yesterday. That this summer we should try to be like Jesus by not eating ice cream. According to this person If I want to be like Christ I should… Replace ice cream with watermelon, potato chips with fresh snap peas, and pop with sun tea made from sun tea made with organic lavender and mint leaves.

    I have to say that this is a nice diet plan, I wonder what people think being like Christ is. If all I have to do is change my diet, where do I sign?? I guess I was out at McDonalds the day there was a sermon on this one?

    Chocolate Chip cookie dough anyone??

    Nev

  11. 11 Brent Hodge

    You rock Nevvy! What is the fishwrap? Is this something ne on Taco Bell’s menu?

    Hey are you joining us this weekend? I sure miss you up there…it’s been a while we have both been on stage together.

  12. 12 Bran

    oooh yeah, debt. We got that. πŸ™‚ Doesn’t it seem like as soon as you get “on top of it” something ELSE comes up?? I hate when you’ve screwed yourself in the finances department and you KNOW IT.
    One mans iPhone is another womans shoe shopping fetish…btw, I got a really cute pair at Target the other day……..
    ;o)
    I am with Tam too…what is that saying “there is no such thing as bad publicity?” Apparently that even applies to God. πŸ™‚

  13. 13 Brent Hodge

    God does use evil for His good. I am not sure he wants us to do evil just so He can use it for His good (not saying that buying an iPhone is evil).

    Here is a fun post to check out over at Ragamuffinsoul.com. Kind of timely in our discussion.

    Check it out here.

  14. 14 Billy Chia

    Brent,
    Fun post. I was a big fan of the Schlog post and was active in that conversation. I thought your post title was intriguing.



