Even The Rocks Cry Out…Revisited

17Apr08

A year ago…almost to the day, I wrote a couple posts regarding a news article I had read. You can read the posts Here and Here.

Today Tammy sent me an email link to an article she read speaking to the same thing. Scientists believe the earth is ‘Humming”. The article I read last year spoke to the sounds the Sun makes. I am just totally fascinated by this. The article I read today says, “Investigators suspect this murmur could originate from the churning ocean, or perhaps the roiling atmosphere.”

Check out what some of these verses say,

Psalm 96:11-12 says “Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice; let the sea roar, and all that fills it; let the field exult, and everything in it! Then shall all the trees of the forest sing for joy”

Psalm 145:10 says, “All your works shall give thanks to you, O LORD, and all your saints shall bless you!”

And in Luke 19, many of Jesus’ disciples were praising Him and the pharisees there told Jesus to rebuke them, and Jesus said, “I tell you, if these were silent, the very stones would cry out.”

We’ve had some great “science” discussion on this blog, but I am not a scientist and this is not a scientific post. This is a post to remind me of a couple of things.

#1 Our God is to be praised. We can personally choose to praise Him from our own mouths, but whether we make the personal decision praise Him or not, He is still worthy and He will still be praised.

#2 God created us to Praise Him. He created everything to praise Him. If we, His children are not going to do it, the “rocks” and “trees” will take over for us. God created them to praise and they are always “humming” in praise.

#3 If scientists are noticing the ocean’s “praise” over ours…we are not doing our job.

22 Responses to “Even The Rocks Cry Out…Revisited”

  1. Ooooooohhh “#3 If scientists are noticing the ocean’s “praise” over ours…we are not doing our job.
    Doesn’t that just reach out and slap ya around a bit? Oh my, I don’t want that to be me.

  2. We are walking instruments. We were built for praise and worship.

    Our hands clap for percussion.
    Our lungs, throat, lips and teeth are like wind instruments.

    We were built for it. I don’t see how we cannot do it.

  3. Theressa, ya…it really challenges me.

    Hey Joe, I know there are some that choose not to acknowledge or praise. But, I am with you. I truly believe that he created us just as we are to do just as you’ve said!

  4. 1 If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am become sounding brass, or a clanging cymbal.
    2 And if I have [the gift of] prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.
    3 And if I bestow all my goods to feed [the poor], and if I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profiteth me nothing.
    (1 Cor 13:1-3)

    Let your Love be your Praise!

    Let’s not be cymbals or rocks that can only do what their Creator made them do – God did not give them ‘free-will’ as he did us.

    Let’s decide to live freely – with Him inside of us and let His Love flow all around and about.

    Let’s not be selfish and loving more of our own ‘wisdom’ than His. As for What scientists are now ‘noticing’…

    EVERYTHING we see, touch and feel – everything of ‘matter’ is illusion. It is not in the slightest ‘solid’, fixed or ‘silent’.

    All matter vibrates – has a ‘Fundamental Frequency’ (see Planck’s Constant – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plank%27s_constant) – and that is all that sound is – vibrations being transmitted through a gas (atmoshpere) or liquid or ‘solid’. Basicaly anything that has energy can be expressed as it’s frequency multipled by Planck’s Constant.

    Sorry – this was not supposed to be a science post – right Brent ? ;-)

    Vibrations that ‘resonate’ with the audible frequencies (20 – 20,000 hz or cycles per second for humans) become ‘sound’ – if you want to define that as ‘praise’ so be it. It is simply a thing revealing it’s own nature to ‘science’ – God made it (matter) to do no less.

    We most often reveal our own ‘nature’ – not God’s.

    Jesus came to show us all the way to correct this – kind of a ‘recall’ notice for ‘defective product’. A Re-Boot if you will :-) I believe he first resolved the ‘defects’ of his own ‘free-will’ before attempting to ‘convert’ the rest of us.

    He may just have understood to whom all ‘praise’ was due before then though ;-) I think He did not start to ‘preach’ or collect disciples before he turned 30 or so, but i don’t for one second believe he did not start his own conversion MUCH earlier than that!

    <B

  5. “It is simply a thing revealing it’s own nature to ’science’ – God made it (matter) to do no less.”

    Yes! I think it is doing exactly as it has been created to do. He created us to love Him and to love people, so that goes nicely along with…

    “Let your Love be your Praise!”

    Yes :) I really do believe this is what we are created to do. As we love Him and love others, we are praising Him and doing what we’ve been created to do. And you are correct. With our free will and ability to choose, there is no greater praise or evidence of love than when God’s created people choose to love Him back…first and foremost!

    Jesus is such an amazing example for us. And He is our God!

  6. I remember your first post on this and it gave me CHILLS as does this. :D Completely makes me tear up and my heart swell with such reassuring joy. :D I love it. I have never forgotten that first post either. I think of it all the time b/c it just makes so much sense and reminds you that every time you look at nature, you HAVE TO KNOW that it is all God given…. even “they” know they are God given. ;-) It’s like looking at a newborn baby….where else could such perfection come from, but from God Himself? I love to sit and listen to nature, b/c I always feel like I am sitting in the presence of God when I do. Makes me smile. :D

    That’s all I have to say about that. ;-)

  7. A few weeks ago we ended a Louie Giglio series called “Indescribable”. Amazing stuff. In one of the sermons he played an audio recording of something (I don’t remember exactly what it was) in space that is constantly making a noise. “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” Psalm 19:1! Most often we think of nature as something to look at. Too bad we haven’t been listening to it. How amazing to think nature is audibly worshipping God.

  8. Brandy, I can’t believe you remember the first post on this. You truly have been my long time reader :) I have written these posts exactly for the reasons you have mentioned. it makes my heart swell to think that everything in creation is for His purpose.

    Casey, We watched Giglio’s sermon on last year on “the Otherness of God” with our worship ministry. It absolutely blew me away. First of all, his knowledge of space was incredible and his ability to take a look at it and then make it seem so tiny next to the greatness of God. It was awesome. Is Louie’s message gonna be up on the podcast?

  9. Brent, go here http://www.catalystchurchonline.com/listen-online. Both Indescribable sermons are amazing.

  10. Sweet! Thanks Casey!

  11. wow excellent ending to the post! definitely puts things in perspective. and the whole humming thing is fascinating as well

  12. Yes B I have been your long time reader, but I am also a woman which means I remember EVERYTHING. :lol: :lol: :lol: hahahahahahaaaa! ;-) heehee

  13. Evan, it’s a great challenge to all of us. I’ll do my part and I know you are doing yours. Thanks!

    Brandy, that’s funny!

  14. I’m here to entertain. ;-) :lol:

  15. 15 lindasman

    Fascinating…very humbling to think inanimate objects were included in God’s desire to be praised; really makes me feel ashamed for considering such displays in church as fanatical-Can you tell me how to access the site referenced (by a link) in the 2nd paragraph of this page? The link is not opened when I try it “:Tammy” is the poster, and she is referring to a scientific article revealing sounds emitting from the sun.
    Ches Smith…Lindasman

  16. lindasman, can’t really determine if you are being sarcastic or not…oh well.

    Sorry the link is dead. It was through Yahoo news, maybe you could search for it?

    “very humbling to think inanimate objects were included in God’s desire to be praised”

    Are you saying that objects should be praised? Where did you come up with that?

  17. 17 Jaime

    I want to respond on that #3 comment…
    Although you may be right in saying we are not doing our job, which is true… who among us IS living up to his God given potential… but I say it is so encouraging that it is God who gets ALL the credit here. Too often, when we get our chance to minister to people, we go away feeling better about ourselves, and even to the point of letting pride creep it’s ugly head in. This is God in His wisdom showing us that He doesn’t even need us, and will reveal His beauty to ALL humanity just by what is His to begin with!
    Glory, glory hallelujah! God, let those stones sing Your praise!!

  18. 18 lana

    Several years ago my daughter and friend returned home from a trip to the Grand Canyon. Her friend stood in a small laundry area showing me a rock they had found on their trip. As I was looking at him holding the rock, a light formed around him. And for several minutes I saw many colors surrounding him. It looked like someone had thrown multi colored glitter in the air and it was falling to the ground. I said, “Where did you get that rock?”

    After this experience the Lord reminded me of the worship song I had been listening to…”not gonna let no rock out praise me!” And the Lord gave me the scripture about the rocks crying out if we do not worship Him. It really is very humbling to think that if a living, breathing child does not surrender pride, lift up holy hands and worship the Creator God that a rock will do it for us. Since then, I have more respect for all of God’s creation. And realize that as His children created in His image, we have a resonsibility to participate activley in the worship of our Creator.

  19. I am richly blessed in my soul after reading this powerful article.I was actually searching for the scripture about the rocks praising GOD! OMG! I COULDN’T stand before Jesus Christ if ever the rocks had to do my job.I AM a worshipper, but i feel so humbled, i have to PRAISE my savior every time i get the chance.CONSTANTLY,WITHOUT CEASING!! I am more knowledgable on the topic.May the good Lord continue to bless your ministry, in JESUS NAME.

  20. 20 Shirley Crook

    April 19, 2012 – I was looking for the scripture Luke 19 and ran across these wonderful comments from God’s people and I am truly blessed tonight just knowing there are so many other Christians out there like myself who just are humbled about the rocks praising His Holy Name. I am high in the Spirit right now just talking about it!! Thank you, all of the above and may God continue to pour His
    Blessings on you.

  21. 21 Tiffany Jackson

    Thank you God for seeing me through the good and bad times..Thank you Lord for teaching me to praise you for through rough times as well as the good times..You are my God, My Lord, My Savior, My Everything then and NOW!! You are worthy of the Praises and Glory..Praise the Lord!! Thank you Lord……I love you always

    • 22 Tiffany Jackson

      *** Thank you Lord for teaching me how to praise you through the rough times as well as the good times…****



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

