Busy

20Mar08

jesusoncross.jpgBusy…

This should never be a definition of Easter week, but it is. Somewhat self imposed, but the reality is that this week represents one of the greatest opportunities for Christians to share their story with the world. So, we gear up and think…what can we do…

In the midst of all of it, we can get too busy. I am reading of fellow Pastors and worship leaders all over the country running crazy to prep for the weekend. Part of me understands the chaos, but part of me also wonders why. Then I realize that there is passion behind this week. Not only the passion represented by our Savior, but the passion in each of us wanting to share His story with the world and do this in amazing ways.

I am reading about so many that are fighting illness. I have been fighting my own. I am praying for you today and this week. I have no doubt that this is going to be an amazing weekend, because “in our weakness He is strong” and there are so many of you that are going to be depending solely on His strength to get you through. Count it joy. When He’s in charge, He will be seen.

I have to admit, that here at TRF, we are going somewhat simple this year. We have some elements and newer songs, which require prep and practice, but in general, we wanted people who were going to visit this weekend to see us as we always are. This does take alot of stress off, but in it still lies schedules and technical needs. So, I am depending completely on God’s plan for this weekend.

We have planned a few things this weekend and if you read this and are in the area, here’s how you can be a part of what we are doing.

Today is “Mundy Thursday”. Today represents the day that Jesus led the disciples in the Lord’s Supper. Tonight at TRF we will be holding a time of communion and worship @7PM.

Tomorrow(Friday) is “Good Friday”. The day we remember the sacrifice of Jesus. It is a heavy day, but one with hope. At TRF we will be holding a special veiwing of Mel Gibson’s “The Passion of the Christ” @7PM.

For the weekend, we begin a new series of sermons entitled “Come Alive”. What greater hope do we have, than that of our Savior conquering death and the grave! He came alive for us, and He desires to come alive in us. Again, if your in the area and you do not already have a place to visit this weekend, join us Saturday at 4:30 or 6PM. Or join us Sunday at 8:30, 9:45 or 11:30AM.

I encourage you wherever you are to stop in the midst of all of it and remember what is most important in all of this. “Our Savior Lives”. He died and rose for you. Experience Him today. Remember Him today. Celebrate him today.

Happy Easter!

14 Responses to “Busy”

  1. ooooh sounds good! I kinda want to make it tomorrow night and watch that again, b/c the first time I watched it I was pg with Dylan and I had a very odd reaction to it. I’d like to watch it again w/o the weird hormones. ;-) And no, my reaction wasn’t hysterical crying like you’d imagine from a pg lady. ;-)

    I like that Table Rock keeps it simple on Easter. Like you say, you want people to get a look at who you really are on any given Sunday. Otherwise they could be coming the next week with extravagant expectations and you don’t want to let them down. ;-) Besides, I LOVED last year how it was all “normal” and there was just more oomph at the service. I think we have to remember to look for that oomph all year long. ;-)

    I wish Easter got more attention than it does…. while the Christmas message is nice and warm and fuzzy and has a cute little baby in it, Easter is quite opposite, but just as important (if not moreso) and people don’t realize that I think. They think of eggs, and bunnies. Why do we use eggs and bunnies for Easter btw??

    Okay does this count as my guest post? hahaha! KIDDING!!! :lol: It’s just an unusually long comment from moi. ;-)

  2. ya know, in an ironic kind of way, this is about the most relaxed, light week I’ve had this year!

    Fred

  3. Brandy, I completely agree with you that Easter does not get the same attention. I think Christmas has a lot more fanfare to it from a worldly perspective, so it will always be the big holiday. But in importance, I will always see Easter as an amazing time of year.

    Fred, I bet! You’ve been through it lately with family and illness. Glad to see you’ve been able to enjoy the season.

  4. Brent, I hope you and your family will share to the fullest the celebration of your holy day, Easter Sunday.

  5. Hey,
    Yeah – well Rebekah is home w/ flu-like symptoms and 103+ temp for the last two days … so we aren’t out of the woods yet, but PRAYING!

    Fred

  6. Praying for you and your family, and for your services. You are right that this is a week of heavy reflections. Last weekend we watched the Passion for the second time, first time with the kids. For the record, the first time I squeezed hubs arm so hard through it and was extremely emotional through it (not pregnant) and this time I still cried. Just overwhelmed in how much he took for me and for all of humanity, and could have called it off at any time. Easter is my favorite holiday, its all about HIM to me, and unless we need something bigger than raising the dead, HE is it! This second time, when looking at Jesus bloody and ripped up, HE was incredible beautiful to me.
    We are doing a service at the homeless shelter tonight , service tomorrow night, and then Sunday. Not as much as you have going on, but plenty! Can’t wait to hear what God has done for you and with you and through you! I know HE will, everything hard to come through always has a reward at the end!! :)

  7. Ed, that really means a lot to me. Thank you!

    Fred, Wow…we will be praying for health in your family!

    Darla, sounds like your just as busy. I am anxious to hear about your adventures over the weekend. You guys are in our prayers as well.

  8. He is Risen – He has Risen Indeed! Have a wonderful Easter weekend and remember – He was crucified, died and rose – for you!

  9. B, Sorry if this sounds overly ‘picky’ and ‘off-spirit’ of what is otherwise a great and timely post…BUT (giggle)

    I always thought it was M-A-undy Thursday? otherwise it sounds like two distinct and non-consecutive days we’re talking of – or maybe all four consecutive ones?

    I know Americans are atrocious spellers at the best of times but Special Days call for extra care – does one not think? (if only i could type a ‘flutter’ emoticon! :-) )

    Easter may not seem to get quite the hype that Christmas does (sometimes that is not a bad thing, imho) but over here we had Hot Cross Buns on sale in our grocery chain in January! Egg and bunny sales followed very soon after – at least enterprise does what it can to remind us of the true ‘Profit’ – way in advance of the actual event lol :-)

    love <3

  10. It is Maundy – and I’ve always wondered what that meant. Fortunately all the answers in the world are on the Internet!

    “maund·y /ˈmɔndi/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[mawn-dee]

    1. the ceremony of washing the feet of the poor, esp. commemorating Jesus’ washing of His disciples’ feet on Maundy Thursday.

    Still what the word means, and its origins are two different things, I suppose.

    A blessed day to all!

  11. Sorry for the mispelling guys. Spell check doesn’t know that word :)

    But the link takes you to the right spot.

    Good Friday to all of you!

  12. Beautifully written. How sad is it that I didn’t even remember it was Good Friday until this afternoon? It has snuck up on me this year. I think your idea of keeping it simple is awesome. I pray God blesses your ministry this weekend to those that make the annual trek to church. I pray that you reach some and entice them to come back for more. Although I’m glad that people come on Easter, and Easter only…it makes me sad that Christ isn’t more important to them than just to pay homage once or twice a year. So yes, I pray you reach some in His name to return again and again.

  13. 13 Jason

    mandatum, latin for commandment, as with mandate

  14. Thanks Blessed1! I pray your weekend was awesome as well!

    Jason…good to see ya :)



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

